On February 11, 2015, the FDA announced its study of dark chocolate bars found many - including some which did not list milk as an ingredient or were labeled as "dairy-free" or "allergen-free," to contain milk. This poses a danger for people who have a milk allergy and can suffer a severe or life-threatening reaction to even small amounts of milk.
The FDA tested 100 dark chocolate bars, each from a unique manufacturer and/or product line and sold in various regions of the U.S., for the presence of undeclared milk. The names of the bars and brands were not given.
They found that 2 of 17 bars labeled "dairy-free" or "allergen-free" contained milk, and that 6 of 11 bars labeled as containing only "traces of milk" contained enough milk to potentially cause severe reactions in some people. Additionally, 55 of 93 dark chocolate bars with no indication of the presence of milk on the label were found to contain milk.
One researcher advised that consumers with milk allergies contact manufacturers to find out how they control for allergens like milk, even if a dark chocolate bar is labeled as dairy or allergen free.
See ConsumerLab.com's Review of Cocoa Powders, Supplements and Dark Chocolate Bars for tests of related products.
See Related Warnings:
Nutrition Bars Recalled Due to Allergen Risk
Nutrition Bar Recalled Due To Undeclared Allergen
Nutrition Shake Recalled Due To Undeclared Allergen
Protein Supplement Recalled Due To Undeclared Soy and Milk
Whey Protein Supplements Recalled Due To Undeclared Allergens
Protein Drinks Recalled For Undeclared Milk Source
Recall of Whey Protein Powders Due to Allergens
To read the FDA's Consumer Update about this study, use the red link below.