SEARCH RESULTS for "Multivitamins/Multiminerals"

Multivitamin/Multimineral Supplements Reviewed by ConsumerLab.com

Multivitamin and Multimineral Supplements Review

See the top-rated multivitamins from ConsumerLab's independent testing. Comparison of popular multivitamin/multimineral supplements for women, men, children, seniors, and pets - including prenatal, diabetic, and bariatric supplements.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Magnesium and Calcium-Magnesium Supplements Review  *
2.B Vitamin Supplements Review (B Complexes, B6, B12, Biotin, Folate, Niacin, Riboflavin & More)  *
3.Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review  *
4.Black Currant Oil, Borage Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Flaxseed Oil, and Hemp Oil Supplements Review: Sources of ALA and GLA (Omega-3 and -6 Fatty Acids)  *
5.Kelp Supplements Review  *
6.Fish Oil and Omega-3 and -7 Supplements Review (Including Krill, Algae, Calamari, and Sea Buckthorn)  *
7.Nutrition Bars Review (Energy Bars, Fiber Bars, Protein Bars, Meal Replacement Bars, and Whole Food Bars)  *
8.Vitamin K Supplements Review (Including Calcium and Vitamin D)  *
9.Ashwagandha Supplements Review  *
10.Meal Replacement & Weight Management Powders and Shakes Review  *
11.Protein Powders, Shakes, and Drinks Review  *
12.Vision Supplements Review (with Lutein and Zeaxanthin)  *
13.Vitamin A Supplements Review, Including Beta-Carotene and Cod Liver Oil  *
14.Vitamin C Supplements Review  *
15.Vitamin E Supplements Review  *
16.Green Tea Review: Supplements, Brewable, Matcha, and Bottled  *
17.Vitamin D Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Vitamin K, Magnesium)  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Nutritional Support (General)
2.General Wellness
3.Adolescent Health
4.Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease
5.Mitral Valve Prolapse
6.Immune Support
7.Pancreatitis
8.Enhancing Memory and Mental Function
9.Iron
10.Rhodiola rosea
... More Results


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.When is the best time of day to take a multivitamin?
2.I'm trying to pick a good multivitamin for my children and husband, and for myself. Any suggestions based on your research?
3.Which "whole food" multivitamins are only from foods and don't include synthetic vitamins? What can you tell from the labels of these products: Complete Foods Nutrition-OctoMega MultiVitamin; Sunwarrior Raw Vitamins; Garden of LIfe-MyKind Organics; Nature's Brands-PhytoVitamins; Doctors' Research MultiVitamin?
4.I've read of dangers from taking calcium supplements -- such as the risk of developing arterial calcifications. I can't seem to find a multivitamin without calcium. Can you help me?
5.Which supplements are important after bariatric surgery (i.e., weight loss or stomach-reducing surgery)? Are there any I should avoid?
6.Why does my multivitamin make me nauseous? Is there anything that can help?
7.I noticed that some ingredients in my multivitamin have no daily value established. A few concern me, specifically Boron (150 mcg per tablet), Nickel (5 mcg per tablet), and Tin (10 mcg per tablet). Should I be concerned about these ingredients?
8.Is there a multivitamin that contains only the recommended daily vitamins and minerals? Most that I have looked at contain more.
9.Have you evaluated a multivitamin by Vita Logic called Daily Extra?
10.I'm thinking of changing my multivitamin, but the one I'm considering doesn't contain molybdenum. Most others have it. How important is molybdenum?
11.The maker of my multivitamin says it doesn't include folic acid because too much from supplements can be harmful. Is that true?
12.Why aren't there children's multivitamins specifically for girls vs. boys?
13.How much calcium from supplements is too much?  (in Comments)
14.I am having trouble sleeping. I regularly take a multivitamin, fish oil, magnesium, calcium, vitamins D and K, and a protein supplement. I also take a low-dose blood pressure medication. Could any of these supplements be causing my insomnia?
15.Why is iron not in many multivitamins? How can I find one that does contain iron?
16.Can supplements with antioxidants like beta-carotene and vitamins A and E cause you to die sooner?  (in Comments)
17.I am very concerned about getting too much vitamin A. Is there danger in getting too much vitamin A if I take fish oil, which I've heard contains a lot of vitamin A, in addition to my multivitamin?
18.I've been taking a Daily Advantage multi but am now concerned by the very high % DV for vitamin C (833% DV), niacin (325% DV), and B vitamins (over 1,000% DV for several). The company tells me this formula is based on clinical experience and the scientific literature. What do you think?
19.Is it safer to get calcium from foods than from supplements? How about from calcium-fortified orange juice and non-dairy milks?  (in Comments)
20.Do Sugar Bear Hair Vitamins make hair shine, nails stronger, and help both to grow? They taste good but are super expensive.
21.I have been having neurological symptoms, and a blood test showed I have toxic levels of vitamin B-6. My multivitamin contains 75 mg of B-6, but this is below the upper limit of 100 mg per day. Could my vitamin contain more than it lists?
22.I have heard that nascent iodine may be better than regular iodine or potassium iodide for thyroid support. Is this true, and what exactly is nascent iodine?
23.Is it true that calcium citrate increases the absorption of aluminum?
24.Is it true that calcium interferes with iron absorption? Is it a problem to take a multivitamin containing both minerals?
25.Do any supplements help prevent or improve cataracts?
26.Which vitamins and minerals should be taken together or separately?
27.How can I find out if my supplement has been tested by ConsumerLab.com?
28.Is it true that some vitamins or supplements can cause cancer?
29.What is Metafolin (5-methylfolate)? I see it in some supplements instead of folic acid. Is it better than folic acid?
30.Which supplements have been shown to be helpful for autism?
31.I have milk allergy and can't eat dairy. What's the best way for me to get calcium?
32.Being over 50 years old, I'm looking to take a vitamin B-12 supplement. I see that many contain a form of vitamin B-12 called cyanocobalamin, yet I read on the Internet that this form is toxic. Should I be concerned?
33.Does the FDA approve laboratories that test supplements?
34.Are supplements with amino acid chelated minerals better than those with other forms of minerals?
35.I read an article stating that some of the ingredients in Centrum multivitamins may be dangerous or toxic. Is that true?
36.Are enteric coated supplements better than non-enteric coated ones?
37.Can taking too much vitamin B-6 be dangerous? The label on my multivitamin states it contains 2000% of the Daily Value!
38.Do any supplements help relieve stress?
39.Do vitamin C supplements help prevent cataracts?
40.I take a number of supplements and I think they are making my acid reflux worse. Which supplements could be causing my stomach irritation, and what can I do about it?
41.Sometimes my powdered supplements get clumpy. Should I be concerned?
42.Can prenatal vitamins have too much folic acid? Mine has 800 mcg, but isn't that more than what's recommended? Is this dangerous to me or my baby?
43.Are there vitamins or supplements that can reduce my risk of breast cancer?
44.Do any supplements help prevent or treat osteoporosis?
45.Do vitamin B12 patches, like those from PatchMD, really work?
46.Which supplements help with depression and anxiety?
47.Which supplements reduce the risk of stroke? Which increase the risk of stroke?
48.How much should I expect to pay for supplements? Are higher-priced supplements any better than low-priced brands?


Clinical Updates Found:
2018 Multivitamins & Cardiovascular Disease (07/10/2018)
 Folic Acid, Multis & Autism Risk (02/25/2018)
2017 Folic Acid & Risk of Autism (12/26/2017)
 Paleo Diet and Iodine (10/01/2017)
 Choline Missing From Prenatals (06/29/2017)
2015 Fewer Heart Disease Deaths Among Multivitamin Users (02/07/2015)
2014 Not Enough Iodine in Prenatal Supplements (05/30/2014)
 Multivitamin Lowers Cataract Risk (01/19/2014)
2013 More Evidence of What Multivitamins Don't Do (12/22/2013)
 Multivitamins May Improve Breast Cancer Survival (10/13/2013)
2012 Multivitamin and the Heart (11/11/2012)
 Multivitamin Reduces Cancer Risk in Some (10/21/2012)
 Be Careful with Iodine -- Especially If You're Pregnant (08/05/2012)
2011 Do Multivitamins Help You Live Longer? (04/10/2011)


Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Metal Flakes Reported in Zarbee's Naturals Gummy Multivitamin (12/18/2018)
2.Seller of B Vitamins, Multis, Glucosamine & More Warned for Manufacturing Violations (09/25/2018)
3.Maker of Vitamin B12 and Multimineral Supplements Warned by FDA (07/18/2018)
4.Supplement Manufacturer Shut Down for Manufacturing Violations (03/31/2018)
5.Dog Treats, Food Recalled Due to Salmonella, Listeria Risk (02/27/2018)
6.Bones and Packaged "Bone Treats" Dangerous for Dogs (11/21/2017)
7.Total Body Nutrition Warned for Banned Stimulant in Supplements (10/18/2017)
8.FDA Warns Consumers Not to Use Certain Liquid Multis, Vitamin D, and Other Supplements Due to Potential Bacterial Contamination (08/18/2017)
9.FDA Warns Seller of Probiotic and Omega-3 Supplements for Manufacturing Violations (06/07/2017)
10.Multivitamin Recalled Due to Allergen Risk (02/28/2017)
11.GNC Women's Multi Recalled Due to Undeclared Allergen (11/19/2016)
12.Nature Made Multis and B Complex Recalled Due to Salmonella, Staph Risk (06/09/2016)
13.Multis and Energy Mixes Recalled (05/10/2016)
14.Liquid Multi Recalled Due to Allergen Risk (05/02/2016)
15.Multivitamin Recalled Due to Undeclared Allergens (04/27/2016)
16.More Multis Recalled Due to Allergen Risk (04/23/2016)
17.Multivitamin Recalled Due To Allergen Risk (04/23/2016)
18.Multivitamins Recalled Due to Risk of Vitamin D Toxicity (12/01/2015)
19.23,000 ER Visits Linked to Supplements: Palpitations, Swallowing Problems, Allergies Common (10/17/2015)
20.Maker of Multivitamin and Fish Oil Warned for Manufacturing Violations (09/05/2015)
21.Gluten Found in More Than Half of Popular Probiotic Supplements Tested (05/20/2015)
22.Seller of Energy & Joint Supplements, Aloe, Silver and More Warned for Drug Claims (12/02/2014)
23.Seller of Diabetes, Prostate Supplements and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (11/21/2014)
24.Maker of Children's Vitamins, Weight Loss Supplements and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations (11/11/2014)
25.Seller of Cholesterol, Arthritis Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
26.Seller of Prostate, Heart Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
27.Supplements Recalled Years Ago Remain on the Market, Still Contain Hidden Drugs (10/22/2014)
28.Seller of Weight Loss, Saw Palmetto Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (10/21/2014)
29.Seller of Multivitamin Warned for Drug Claims (10/10/2014)
30.Maker of Joint and Weight Products Warned for Hidden Drugs, Manufacturing Violations (09/23/2014)
31.Seller of Mineral and Joint Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (08/06/2014)
32.Muscle Growth Supplement Linked with Liver Failure (12/24/2013)
33.Metagenics Warned For Misbranding of Medical Foods and Drug Claims (09/13/2013)
34.FTC Refunds Consumers of Children's Vitamins as Part of Deceptive Advertising Settlement (08/27/2013)
35.Vitamin B, Vitamin C and Multimineral Supplements Recalled Due To Anabolic Steroid Risk (08/02/2013)
36.Herbal Supplement Company Warned For Drug Claims, Manufacturing Violations (07/12/2013)
37.Warning Over Excessive Iodine Intake From Supplements, Including Kelp (06/30/2013)
38.Seller of Colloidal Silver, Noni Juice and Noni Supplements Warned For Drug Claims (05/29/2013)
39.Seller of Liquid Minerals, Joint Care and Herbal Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (05/24/2013)
40.Protein Extract Recalled for Undeclared Allergens (05/10/2013)
41.Recall: Multivitamin Containing Undeclared Milk (04/29/2013)
42.Maker of Liquid Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (03/15/2013)
43.Liquid Supplements Not Properly Manufactured Despite Certification (03/13/2013)
44.Manufacturer of Joint, Weight Loss, Muscle Supplements and More Warned for Adulteration, Misbranding and Drug Claims (03/01/2013)
45.Pet Supplement Company Issues Recall Due To Potential Bacterial Contamination (02/21/2013)
46.FDA Warns Maker of Weight Loss and Whey Protein Supplements For Manufacturing Violations and Misbranding (02/13/2013)
47.Food for Health Warned for Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims on Supplements (01/24/2013)
48.Makers of Mineral Water Containing Lithium Warned (08/09/2012)
49.FDA Warns Company Selling Mineral Supplements as Treatments (07/19/2012)
50.Centrum Multivitamins: Breast and Colon Health Claims Pulled (07/06/2012)
51.FDA Warns NatureMost of Failing to Follow Good Manufacturing Practices (06/13/2012)
52.Baby Vitamin Recalled for Excessive Iodine (02/22/2012)
53.Manufacturing Violations for Multivitamin, Vitamin K and Other Supplements (01/02/2012)
54.FDA Warns Manufacturer of Soy Products of Violations (04/07/2011)
55.FDA Cracks Down on Violators of Supplement Manufacturing Rules (03/28/2011)
56.Misleading Claims by "One a Day Men's" Products Result in $3.3 Million Settlement (11/09/2010)
57.Airborne Settles Lawsuit Over False Advertising of its "Miracle Cold Buster" (03/04/2008)
58."Greatest Vitamin in the World" Promoter Investigated (09/07/2007)
59.Sellers of Popular Weight Loss Supplements Pay $25 Million Over FTC Allegations of Deceptive Advertising (01/04/2007)
60.Recall of Multivitamins with Iron Lacking Child-Resistant Caps (07/13/2005)
61.Athlete Wins Case Involving Contaminated Vitamin (05/16/2005)
62.Recall of Multivitamin Due to Unsafe Bottling For Children (03/12/2002)


News Releases Found:
2019 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2019 Based on Consumer Satisfaction -- Results of the ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/25/2019)
2018 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2018 Based on Consumer Satisfaction (02/25/2018)
2017 Gummies Are Most Likely to Fail Testing in Review of Multivitamins -- Best and Worst Multivitamins Identified by ConsumerLab Testing (11/01/2017)
 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2017 Based on Consumer Satisfaction (02/25/2017)
2016 ConsumerLab.com Discovers Problems with Most Multivitamins for Dogs and Cats (07/29/2016)
 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2016 Based on Consumer Satisfaction (02/25/2016)
 Problems Found with 32% of Multivitamin/Multimineral Supplements -- ConsumerLab.com Identifies Good Choices for Men, Women, and Children (01/12/2016)
2015 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2015 Based on Consumer Satisfaction -- Results of the ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/25/2015)
2014 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2014 Based on Consumer Satisfaction -- Results of the ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/12/2014)
2013 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2013 Based on Consumer Satisfaction
(02/01/2013)
2012 Top-rated vitamin and supplement brands and merchants on consumer satisfaction for 2012 -- Based on ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/01/2012)
2011 ConsumerLab.com puts multivitamins to the test (06/16/2011)
 Vitamin D use increased 52% in past two years according to ConsumerLab.com survey of supplement users -- Fish oil continued to surpass multivitamins as most popular supplement and Internet was most common place to buy supplements (01/31/2011)
2009 ConsumerLab.com Warns of Problems with Multivitamins and Vitamin Water -- Defects Found in Over 30% of Supplements Selected for Testing; Several Popular Children's Multis Exceed Tolerable Limits (03/31/2009)
2007 Consumers warned of problems with multivitamins — ConsumerLab.com uncovers defects in over half of products tested (01/19/2007)
2004 ConsumerLab.com warns of deceptive campaign by manufacturer of children's vitamin (05/28/2004)
 Consumers warned of pitfalls with some multivitamins and vitamin waters — Testing by ConsumerLab.com uncovers problems with many brands (05/21/2004)
 New ConsumerLab.com report on St. John's wort highlights benefits and risks of herbal product for depression (04/27/2004)
 ConsumerLab.com shares insights from 2 years of testing supplements for athletic banned substances — Athletes and manufacturers urged to learn how to avoid problems (04/22/2004)
 ConsumerLab.com finds some zinc supplements low in ingredient and many don't instruct on proper use — Consumers urged to learn more about zinc when using supplements (04/07/2004)
 Many echinacea supplements don't meet quality standards according to ConsumerLab.com — Test results of cold-reducing herbal supplements released (03/18/2004)
 ConsumerLab.com finds lutein supplements vary widely in strength but most meet ingredient claims — Right amount of antioxidant compound may reduce risk of blindness (01/29/2004)
 ConsumerLab.com finds discrepancies in strength of CoQ10 supplements — Increasingly popular supplement, but health professionals and consumers cautioned to check brands (01/13/2004)
2003 ConsumerLab.com dispels myths about HGH human growth hormone supplements sold widely on Internet (12/08/2003)
 ConsumerLab.com reports improvement in quality of SAM-e supplements used for osteoarthritis and depression — But a high priced product found to contain only 30% of label claim (11/18/2003)
2002 Pharmavite dietary supplements receive ConsumerLab.com approval — Vitamin E, SAM-e, St. John's Wort, Ginkgo and others merit approved quality products ranking (07/10/2002)
 Athletic Banned Substances Screening and Certification Program announced by ConsumerLab.com — Tester of supplements to screen for substances banned in Olympics (02/08/2002)
 ConsumerLab.com finds most B vitamin supplements contain what they claim, but often exceed safe levels — Consumers cautioned to be aware of side effects with high dose products (01/08/2002)
2001 ConsumerLab.com finds fish oil supplements free of mercury, but 30% lacking in key ingredient — Test results of omega-3 fatty acid (EPA and DHA) products released today (11/20/2001)
 Sixty percent of nutrition bars fail to meet claims in ConsumerLab.com tests — "Low Carb" bars often loaded with carbohydrates; excess sodium and saturated fat also found (10/30/2001)
 Most iron supplements pass ConsumerLab.com testing — Lead contamination and insufficient iron found in some (10/03/2001)
 Problems and ambiguity among alternative estrogen products reported by ConsumerLab.com — Results of soy and red clover isoflavone product testing released online today (08/15/2001)
 Many herbal sleep products lack key claimed ingredient — Results of ConsumerLab.com's testing of valerian products released on web today (07/09/2001)
 ConsumerLab.com reports test results of arthritis supplement — MSM; Quality found higher than for most supplements, but room for improvement remains (06/04/2001)
 Over forty percent of Echinacea products fail ConsumerLab.com review; Inadequate labeling and missing ingredients found common for popular herbal cold remedy (05/07/2001)
 Quality of popular herbal anti-depressant found to vary; certain types of St. John's Wort supplements more likely to pass testing (04/10/2001)
 ConsumerLab.com review of vitamin E supplements finds some insufficiencies and need for clearer labeling; test results released online today (03/13/2001)
 Problems found with multivitamins and multiminerals by ConsumerLab.com (02/14/2001)
 Some supplements for arthritis may exceed newly released safe intake levels for manganese (01/29/2001)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Tests
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
RDAs
Where to Buy Products
Raw Materials Tests
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2019 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.