SEARCH RESULTS for "Red Yeast Rice"

Red Yeast Rice Supplements Reviewed by ConsumerLab.com

Red Yeast Rice Supplements Review

Trying to find the best red yeast rice supplement? ConsumerLab tested popular red yeast rice products on the market. Find out which are the best for your money.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Berberine and Goldenseal Supplements Review  *
2.Cholesterol-Lowering Supplements Review (Sterols/Stanols and Policosanol)
3.B Vitamin Supplements Review (B Complexes, B6, B12, Biotin, Folate, Niacin, Riboflavin & More)  *
4.Canned Tuna and Salmon  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Red Yeast Rice
2.Cholesterol Absorption Inhibitors
3.High Cholesterol
4.Heart Attack
5.Statin Drugs
6.Herbs & Supplements
7.Coronary Artery Disease
8.Coenzyme Q10
9.St. John's Wort


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.What are the side effects of red yeast rice?
2.My doctor warned me that red yeast rice can cause liver damage - is that true?
3.I read that statins can cause diabetes. Is this true also with red yeast rice?
4.I started taking red yeast rice and soon after developed insomnia. Could my red yeast rice supplement be the problem?
5.Are red yeast rice supplements legally permitted to contain statins, like lovastatin, since these are drugs?
6.For two years, I used a red yeast rice brand which ConsumerLab.com's report showed to contain the highest amount of lovastatin. With just one pill per day, it kept my cholesterol lower (down to 205 from 260 before starting). I switched to a supermarket store brand because it was cheaper and my cholesterol jumped to 278 (taking 2 pills per day)! I don't think the store brand had anything in it -- is that possible? Can you test it?
7.When is the best time of day to take red yeast rice?
8.If I already take red yeast rice, would adding high-dose niacin help further reduce my cholesterol levels, and would this be safe?
9.To lower my cholesterol, I am taking a phytosterol supplement. Will taking other supplements, like red yeast rice or fish oil, help lower my cholesterol even further?
10.Which supplements can help lower cholesterol and keep my heart healthy? Are there any to avoid?
11.I have been having dizziness for the past few months and am wondering if it could be a side effect of supplements I take. Which supplements cause dizziness?
12.Is it okay to crush a tablet and consume the powder or add the powder to food, rather than swallowing the tablet whole?
13.I read that sterol supplements to lower cholesterol like CholestOff can block the absorption of vitamins. Is that true?
14.Are there any supplements I should avoid when taking acetaminophen?
15.Which oils can help lower my cholesterol and risk of heart attack? How are coconut oil, olive oil, and fish oil for example?
16.Which supplements can help me sleep?
17.Is there a risk of liver toxicity with certain supplements?
18.When taking a statin drug like Lipitor or Crestor, are there supplements I should avoid or take?
19.What is lunasin and does it really reduce cholesterol?
20.How much should I expect to pay for supplements? Are higher-priced supplements any better than low-priced brands?


Clinical Updates Found:
2019 Red Yeast Rice & Liver Injury (03/26/2019)
2018 Extra Help From Red Yeast Rice? (10/26/2018)
 Red Yeast Rice and Diet (08/14/2018)
2017 Lowering Cholesterol with Red Yeast Rice and Phytosterols (09/27/2017)
 Red Yeast Rice Variability (06/24/2017)
 Red Yeast Rice Better Than Statin? (05/26/2017)
 Red Yeast Rice Concerns (01/17/2017)
2013 Red Yeast Rice with Sterols? (05/27/2013)
 Red Yeast Rice Supplements Unchecked (02/24/2013)


Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Maker of Red Yeast Rice, St. John's Wort, Valerian and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (12/16/2015)
2.Seller of Cholesterol, Arthritis Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
3.Seller of Weight Loss, Saw Palmetto Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (10/21/2014)
4.Red Yeast Rice Product Recalled (06/25/2014)
5.Seller of Cardio, Immune, Greens Supplements and More Warned For Drug Claims (06/13/2013)
6.Seller of Red Rice Yeast With CoQ10, Respiratory Supplement And More Warned For Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (06/07/2013)
7.Maker of Blood Pressure, Probiotic, Resveratrol and Hormonal Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (11/21/2012)
8.FDA Warning on Red Yeast Rice Products (08/09/2007)


News Releases Found:
2019 Best Cholesterol-Lowering Supplements (Sterols, Stanols & Policosanol) Identified by ConsumerLab (04/26/2019)
2018 Few Red Yeast Rice Supplements Provide Enough Cholesterol-Lowering Compounds to Likely Be Effective, ConsumerLab Tests Reveal (08/24/2018)
2014 Some Red Yeast Rice Supplements Up to 500X Stronger Than Others -- Popular Cholesterol-Lowering Supplements Tested and Compared (08/20/2014)
 Which Supplements Help Lower Cholesterol? ConsumerLab.com Identifies Best Products by Reviewing Evidence and Testing Quality (07/22/2014)
2012 Fish oil and multivitamins most popular supplements in ConsumerLab.com survey -- Internet most popular place to shop (02/05/2012)
2011 Red yeast rice supplements weaker now than in 2008; Wide variation among brands and contamination discovered by ConsumerLab.com -- Popular cholesterol-lowering supplements tested and compared (05/23/2011)
 Vitamin D use increased 52% in past two years according to ConsumerLab.com survey of supplement users -- Fish oil continued to surpass multivitamins as most popular supplement and Internet was most common place to buy supplements (01/31/2011)
2010 Cholesterol-lowering supplements reviewed by ConsumerLab.com: Many pass quality testing, one fails. Sterol and policosanol products analyzed.  Evidence for other cholesterol-lowering ingredients evaluated (03/25/2010)
2008 Tests of ten red yeast rice supplements by ConsumerLab.com reveal significant statin levels, but some pills contaminated -- Popular cholesterol-lowering supplements compared in new report (07/01/2008)
 Some iron supplements short on iron or contaminated according to ConsumerLab.com (05/05/2008)
 As problems surface, Consumerlab.com and the people's pharmacy ask FDA to disclose differences between generic and original drugs (03/17/2008)
 ConsumerLab.com finds most vitamin C supplements pass quality tests but one short on ingredient and some exceed tolerable levels (03/07/2008)
2006 ConsumerLab.com evaluates cholesterol-lowering supplements — Test results available for over 90 products; Review of nine popular ingredients (08/01/2006)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Tests
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
RDAs
Where to Buy Products
Raw Materials Tests
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2019 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.