SEARCH RESULTS for "Ubiquinol"

CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Reviewed by ConsumerLab.com

CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review

Trying to find the best CoQ10 or ubiquinol supplement? ConsumerLab tested 24 CoQ10 and ubiquinol products. Find out which ones passed or failed tests and which we consider Top Picks.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Red Yeast Rice Supplements Review  *
2.Taurine Supplements Review for People, Dogs, and Cats  *
3.CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements, Lotions, and Balms Review  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Male Infertility
2.Coenzyme Q10


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.I have been hearing a lot about the ingredient kaneka QH and that it must be in CoQ10, in order to work better. What is kaneka?
2.When taking a water-soluble version of CoQ10, do I still need to take it with food?
3.What is the difference between CoQ10 and ubiquinol?
4.Are CoQ10 and ubiquinol safe to take for a long period of time? Should I give it a rest period?
5.Do CoQ10 levels really decrease with age?
6.How do I choose the best CoQ10 supplement?
7.Can CoQ10 or ubiquinol be ruined by heat? I recently purchased several bottles of Qunol Plus from Costco.com and they arrived hot. The soft gels are not melted, but I am concerned.
8.Does taking natural versus synthetic CoQ10 make a difference? How do you know which product is natural or synthetic?
9.I take ubiquinol to replenish CoQ10 depleted by my statin. I also take curcumin (from turmeric). Since they both manage free radicals, do I need to take the curcumin?
10.Could my CoQ10 supplement be making me nauseous?
11.Is MitoQ a better form of CoQ10?
12.What are CoQ10 side effects?
13.What is "nano" CoQ10? Is it better than other CoQ10 formulations?
14.Do I need to divide my daily 300 mg dose of CoQ10 into smaller doses, or can I take it all at once?
15.I recently bought a CoQ10 supplement on Amazon. The manufacture date was hidden under a sticker, but was 13 months ago. No "Best By" date is listed. Is this product still good to use?
16.Which supplements have been shown to be helpful for autism?
17.Can I take CoQ10 at the same time as my statin, or should I take them separately?
18.Is there a lab test that can measure CoQ10 in the blood? Can it help to determine the dosage I should take for a certain condition, like heart failure?
19.Could my CoQ10 supplement be causing my insomnia?
20.I started taking red yeast rice and soon after developed insomnia. Could my red yeast rice supplement be the problem?
21.Can CoQ10 help lower homocysteine levels?
22.Is it safe to take CoQ10 while taking blood thinners like warfarin or Plavix (clopidogrel)?
23.Are supplements which claim increased absorption or improved bioavailability telling the truth? Is it worth paying more for these? Are there concerns?
24.What supplements should I stop taking before surgery?
25.Can taking CoQ10 affect my thyroid levels or interact with my thyroid medication?
26.Which vitamins and minerals should be taken together or separately?  (in Comments)
27.What is PQQ? Does it help with aging and memory? Is it similar to CoQ10?
28.How are you staying healthy during the coronavirus pandemic?  (in Comments)
29.Which supplements should be taken with food?
30.Can I take cholesterol-lowering statin medication with green tea?
31.Is there evidence that d-limonene can help fight cancer?
32.I take warfarin (Coumadin), an anticoagulant drug. Are there supplements I should avoid, or be taking, due to this drug?
33.Is it worth paying more for "pharmaceutical grade" CoQ10? What about "natural" or "live source" CoQ10?
34.Which supplements can help lower cholesterol and keep my heart healthy? Are there any to avoid?
35.What is shilajit? Does it have any proven health benefits, and is heavy metal contamination a concern?
36.I've heard it's best to take fat-soluble supplements, like CoQ10, curcumin, and vitamin D, with fats or oils to increase absorption. Would taking them with a fish oil capsule be enough?
37.I take a supplement containing a "proprietary formula" which lists many ingredients. Can ConsumerLab test the contents so I'll know the amounts of each ingredient?
38.How does regular black pepper compare with black pepper extract used in supplements? Will sprinkling it on food with turmeric help increase the bioavailability of curcumin compounds from turmeric?
39.I find labels of some supplement bottles misleading. For example, an L-theanine label says 200 mg on the front but the back says each pill contains just 100 mg, noting that a serving is 2 capsules. Is this legal?
40.I'm considering taking vitamin K for my bones, but I take blood thinner (anti-coagulant) medication. Is there a problem taking both?
41.Are there negative interactions between the following supplements I take twice each day, as well as 60 mg of beta-sitosterol with dinner: Vitamin C (500 mg), CoQ10 (100 mg), grape seed extract (100 mg), fish oil (500 mg), vitamin D3/calcium/magnesium/zinc (200 IU/333 mg/113 mg/5mg)?
42.Do any supplements help with migraines?
43.Do magnesium creams, sprays and oils help with muscle pain and cramps? How about supplements?
44.I take VitaPulse dietary supplements from the Princeton Nutrients. Once the bottle is open for a week or so, the contents begin to smell. Should I be concerned?
45.Do any supplements help with gum disease or periodontitis?
46.Do any supplements really help with brain function, like memory and cognition?
47.Does CoQ10 reduce wrinkles, increase skin elasticity, or tighten the skin? Are there any other supplements that can help?
48.I take a number of supplements and I think they are making my acid reflux worse. Which supplements could be causing my stomach irritation, and what can I do about it?
49.I've heard that grapefruit juice can interact with medications because it inhibits an enzyme that breaks down drugs in the body. Do any supplements interact the same way with drugs?
50.Which supplements can help with indigestion and/or heartburn?
51.Which supplements can help lower my triglycerides?
52.Which supplements can help me sleep?
53.Which supplements help to improve energy and decrease fatigue?
54.How much should I expect to pay for supplements? Are higher-priced supplements any better than low-priced brands?


Clinical Updates Found:
2020 Ubiquinol & Heart Surgery (08/04/2020)
Ubiquinol & Heart Surgery
Ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) can have a beneficial effect on ailing hearts, but can taking it protect the heart around the time of aortic valve replacement? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for Ubiquinol and CoQ10.
 Ubiquinol for Fatigue? (06/02/2020)
Ubiquinol for Fatigue?
Does taking ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) help men and women who are experiencing fatigue in daily life? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.
 CoQ10 Bioavailability (03/21/2020)
CoQ10 Bioavailability
CoQ10 is not well absorbed unless taken with fats or oils, such as with a meal. Bioavailability-enhanced formulations allow CoQ10 to be taken without a meal, but how good are they? We’ve added new information about one such formula and how it compares to taking regular CoQ10 in the Absorption and Bioavailability Enhancers section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.
 Does CoQ10 Help With Statins? (03/10/2020)
Does CoQ10 Help With Statins?
Many studies have looked at whether or not CoQ10 helps people with statin-associated muscle pain. Read the latest in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.
2019 CoQ10 for Statin-Intolerance (11/09/2019)
CoQ10 for Statin-Intolerance
Many people experience muscle pain from taking cholesterol-lowering statin drugs. CoQ10 can help reduce this pain, according to a new study. Get the details in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 supplements.
 CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia? (08/10/2019)
CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia?
A recent study evaluated whether CoQ10 improved symptoms in patients with fibromyalgia when added to standard prescription treatment with pregabalin (Lyrica). See the results, and learn more about what CoQ10 can and cannot do in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.
 Reaction to CoQ10 and Alpha-Lipoic Acid (06/12/2019)
Reaction to CoQ10 and Alpha-Lipoic Acid
An autoimmune syndrome possibly caused by CoQ10 was recently reported. It is similar to rare cases caused by alpha-lipoic acid. For details see the updates to the Concerns and Cautions sections of the CoQ10 and Alpha Lipoic Acid Reviews.
2018 Can CoQ10 Boost Cholesterol-Lowering of Statins? (11/06/2018)
Can CoQ10 Boost Cholesterol-Lowering of Statins?
Can taking CoQ10 further lower cholesterol levels in people already taking a statin drug? See what a new study found in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)
 CoQ10 & Statin Muscle Symptoms (10/30/2018)
CoQ10 & Statin Muscle Symptoms
Can taking CoQ10 reduce muscle symptoms that can occur when taking cholesterol-lowering statin drugs? Find out in the recent update to the What It Does section of the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and Ubiquinol.)
 CoQ10 vs. Ubiquinol (10/16/2018)
CoQ10 vs. Ubiquinol
Which form of CoQ10 raises total blood levels of CoQ10 more? Find out in the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)
 CoQ10 for Migraine (07/10/2018)
CoQ10 for Migraine
CoQ10 and its active form, ubiquinol, have been studied in several clinical trials to treat migraine headache. Find out what the research is showing in the Migraine section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)
 Ubiquinol for Blood Sugar Control? (06/26/2018)
Ubiquinol for Blood Sugar Control?
Does giving ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) to people with type 2 diabetes help with blood sugar control? Find out in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)
 MitoQ Trial (04/21/2018)
MitoQ Trial
A recent study assessed the effect of MitoQ, a compound related to CoQ10, on the functioning of arteries in older adults. Get the results and learn more about MitoQ in the ConsumerTips section of the CoQ10 Supplements Review.
 CoQ10 for Nerve Pain (02/17/2018)
CoQ10 for Nerve Pain
Taking CoQ10 along with standard medication may decrease trigeminal (facial) nerve pain more than medication alone, according to a new study. For details, including dosage, see the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among products).
 Can CoQ10 Lower Cholesterol? (01/06/2018)
Can CoQ10 Lower Cholesterol?
A recent study looked at whether CoQ10 can lower cholesterol in people with elevated levels. Find out what the study found and details about dosage in the "What it Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> (Also see our Top Picks among products.)
2017 CoQ10 for Orthostatic Hypotension (10/31/2017)
CoQ10 for Orthostatic Hypotension
CoQ10 may help reduce the fall in blood pressure that occurs in orthostatic hypotension (low blood pressure upon standing) according to a recent report. See the details in the "What It Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> [Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 supplements in the Review.]
 CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia (01/10/2017)
CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia
CoQ10 reduced symptoms of anxiety and depression in people with fibromyalgia, according to a preliminary study. Get the details, including dosage, in the "What It Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>
2014 CoQ10 Reduces Statin-Related Muscle Pain (11/26/2014)
CoQ10 Reduces Statin-Related Muscle Pain
Taking a moderate dose of CoQ10 reduced statin-related muscle symptoms in 75% of patients in a recent study. More details, as well as our tests of CoQ10 and ubiquinol products, are found in the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 
 CoQ10 Improves Symptoms in War Veterans (11/12/2014)
CoQ10 Improves Symptoms in War Veterans
A new study found that a moderate dose of CoQ10 improved symptoms of Gulf War illness (such as word recall, fatigue, and irritability) in veterans. A larger dose did not show this effect. Details, as well as results of our product tests, are found in the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 
 CoQ10 Benefit Takes Time (10/10/2014)
CoQ10 Benefit Takes Time
A large study found that a daily dose of CoQ10 reduced the chances of hospitalization or death by almost 50% in people with moderate to severe heart failure -- but only after being taken for an extended period of time. Find out how much CoQ10 was taken and for how long, and get our quality ratings and comparisons of CoQ10 supplements, in the updated CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>
 CoQ10 Not Helpful in Parkinson Disease (03/27/2014)
CoQ10 Not Helpful in Parkinson Disease
A study among people with early Parkinson Disease found that high-dose CoQ10 was not effective in slowing progression of the disease. For details about the study, information about other uses of CoQ10, as well as our tests of supplements, see the updated CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 
2013 Does CoQ10 Help the Heart? (06/02/2013)
Does CoQ10 Help the Heart?
It can for people with congestive heart failure, says a new study. Find out more about CoQ10, plus get ratings for 48 supplements in the updated Coenzyme Q10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>


Recent Recalls and Warnings Found:
1.Seller of CoQ10, Resveratrol and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations (02/18/2020)
2.Supplements Promoted for Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia Sell "False Hope," Warns FDA (02/13/2019)

Archived Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Life Extension Warned for Drug Claims (02/14/2017)
2.Seller of CoQ10, Anxiety Supplements and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (06/26/2015)
3.Seller of Prostate, Heart Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
4.Seller of Cholesterol, Arthritis Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
5.Seller of B Vitamins, CoQ10, Amino Acids and Other Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (04/29/2014)
6.Metagenics Warned For Misbranding of Medical Foods and Drug Claims (09/13/2013)
7.Probiotic Recalled Due To Undeclared Soy (03/21/2013)
8.Warning Issued to Memory Supplement Maker For Unapproved Drug Ingredient, Drug Claims and Unreported Adverse Events (10/24/2012)
9.Manufacturer of Green Tea, Vitamin E, Omega-3 and Cranberry Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations, Misbranding and Drug Claims (10/24/2012)


News Releases Found:
2020 Collagen and Magnesium Rise in Popularity, as Fish Oil and Curcumin Dip in Latest ConsumerLab Survey of Supplement Users (02/29/2020)
2019 ConsumerLab Tests Reveal Best CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements (07/31/2019)
 CBD and Collagen Rise in Popularity, as Probiotics and Coconut Oil Dip in Latest ConsumerLab Survey of Supplement Users (02/24/2019)
2018 Magnesium, Curcumin, and Apple Cider Vinegar Rise in Popularity, While Probiotics Dip and Calcium Continues to Decline in Latest ConsumerLab.com Survey of Supplement Users (02/24/2018)
2017 Vitamin D Supplements Maintain Top Spot in Popularity, as Probiotics Surpass Multivitamins to #4 Behind Fish Oil and CoQ10 in Latest ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/24/2017)
2016 Best CoQ10? ConsumerLab.com Tests Popular CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements and Reveals Its Top Picks (12/21/2016)
 Vitamin D Supplements Jump to Top Spot in Popularity, Surpassing Fish Oil, as Probiotics Rise to #5 Spot Behind CoQ10 and Multivitamins in ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/24/2016)
2015 CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Vary in Quality, as Well as Dose, Absorption, and Price According to ConsumerLab.com (03/17/2015)
 Use of Magnesium and Probiotics Rise, Multivitamins and Weight Loss Supplements Fall, According to ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/28/2015)
2014 Calcium, Vitamin C, and Fish Oil Supplements Drop in Use, Probiotics Rise According to ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/13/2014)
2013 CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Should Be Chosen Carefully, Cautions ConsumerLab.com -- Less Than 4% of Listed Ingredient Found in Widely-Sold Product (03/05/2013)
2011 ConsumerLab.com reviews CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements -- Tests show quality to be high, but large differences found in dosage, formulation, and cost (03/08/2011)
2009 ConsumerLab.com reports largest test of CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements -- Most supplements provide claimed ingredient, but large variation in dosage and forms may confuse consumers.  ConsumerLab.com provides guidance. (01/13/2009)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW

SPECIAL
Coronavirus Information Center
Coronavirus Information Center
Answers to Critical Questions About COVID-19.



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS

VISIT OUR PARTNERS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Reviews
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
Recommended Intakes
Where to Buy Products
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Quality Certification Program
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2020 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.