People often don’t think that a simple mineral or vitamin supplement will contain other ingredients (like soy, wheat, colorants, yeast, fish, or lactose) to which they are sensitive or allergic. However, these ingredients may show up in surprising places. Soy and soybean oil, for instance, can be found in some iron and calcium supplements, and even in supplements like fish oil and resveratrol.
That’s why it’s important to carefully check labels and why we include the full list of ingredients for every product reviewed on ConsumerLab.com -- just click the “Ingredients” link beneath the product name in the results table. At the end of the list of ingredients, many products also explicitly identify the common allergens they don’t contain.
Before you buy a supplement, check our reports to find one which is not only Approved in our testing, but which doesn’t contain potential allergens or other ingredients of concern to you.