SEARCH RESULTS for "EPA"

Fish Oil and Other Marine Oil Supplements Reviewed by ConsumerLab.com

Fish Oil and Omega-3 and -7 Supplements Review (Including Krill, Algae, Calamari, and Sea Buckthorn)

Find the best fish oil and omega-3 supplements (including krill oil, algal oil and others) from independent tests and reviews by ConsumerLab.com. Includes tests of EPA and DHA levels, freshness, purity, and contamination, as well as comparisons of forms (triglyceride vs ethyl ester) and price. Plus, get information about clinical evidence for fish oil, safety, side effects, drug interactions, comparisons to prescription fish oils and more.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Black Currant Oil, Borage Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Flaxseed Oil, and Hemp Oil Supplements Review: Sources of ALA and GLA (Omega-3 and -6 Fatty Acids)  *
2.Canned Tuna and Salmon
3.Vitamin A Supplements Review, Including Beta-Carotene and Cod Liver Oil  *
4.Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplements Review  *
5.Cholesterol-Lowering Supplements Review (Sterols/Stanols and Policosanol)  *
6.Potassium Supplements Review  *
7.Kelp Supplements Review  *
8.Vision Supplements Review (with Lutein and Zeaxanthin)  *
9.Prostate Supplements Review (Saw Palmetto and Beta-Sitosterol)  *
10.Dark Chocolate, Cocoa Powder, Nibs, Extracts & Supplements Review -- Sources of Flavanols  *
11.About Us | ConsumerLab.com
12.Joint Health Supplements for Pets Review (Glucosamine, Chondroitin, MSM & Boswellia)  *
13.Taurine Supplements Review for People, Dogs, and Cats  *
14.Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review  *
15.Multivitamin and Multimineral Supplements Review  *
16.Vitamin D Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Vitamin K, Magnesium)  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Functional Foods Index
2.Krill Oil
3.Unintended Weight Loss
4.Fish Oil
5.Epilepsy
6.SSRIs
7.Raynaud's Phenomenon
8.High Triglycerides
9.Phenothiazines
10.Flaxseed Oil
... More Results


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.Is it better for a fish oil (or krill oil) supplement to have more DHA than EPA?
2.Do any supplements help with migraines?  (in Comments)
3.I'm a vegan but my doctor wants me to take fish oil with EPA and DHA. Is there something I can take that would be as good as fish oil capsules but would satisfy the needs of a vegan?
4.Lovaza, a prescription omega-3 fish oil, is very expensive. Can I get the same omega-3 oils from a supplement that costs less?
5.I've tried a number of fish oil supplements, all of which make me nauseous. What is the best non-fish alternative? I am primarily interested in getting EPA.
6.What is the difference between fish oil and krill oil? Is one better than the other?
7.How do fish oil supplements compare to EPA prescription fish oil like Vascepa?
8.What is the difference between fish oil and cod liver oil? Is one better than the other?
9.How concerned should I be about glyphosate in foods and supplements?  (in Comments)
10.What is fermented cod liver oil, such as Blue Ice? Is it better than regular cod liver oil?
11.Is it better to eat farmed salmon or wild salmon? Which one has more omega-3s and less contamination with PCBs, mercury, etc.?
12.Is it better to take fish oil, flaxseed oil -- or both?
13.Is echium oil a good alternative to fish oil? I am allergic to fish.
14.Is DPA an important omega-3 fatty acid? It's been promoted as more "powerful" than EPA and DHA.
15.The suggested daily serving for my fish oil supplement, three 1,000 mg softgels, seems like a lot. Do I really need to take this much?
16.What is acrylamide? Is it true that coffee and cocoa contain this toxin?
17.Are there any red flags to look for on the label when choosing a fish oil supplement?
18.Are there any serious side effects with Lovaza or Epanova (prescription fish oil)? If so, would these also apply to generic versions of these drugs and to fish oil supplements?
19.I'm at risk for both macular degeneration and Alzheimer's disease, according to my doctors. I've read articles about omega-3 oils saying that more EPA than DHA is good for macular degeneration, and the reverse is true for Alzheimer's. What do you recommend?
20.Is it true that there is no point in taking fish oil supplements for heart health?
21.What Is Marine-D3 and does it live up to anti-aging claims?
22.Which vitamins and minerals should be taken together or separately?  (in Comments)
23.Which supplements help with depression and anxiety?
24.Can I use a home test for mercury to check for mercury in fish, like canned tuna, fresh fish, and sushi?
25.I drink organic milk with added DHA Omega-3, but it is expensive. Is it worth paying extra for the added DHA?
26.I've heard fish oil may be helpful for dry eye. Is this true? How much should I take?
27.Is it true that fish oil supplements may contain soy? I'm allergic!
28.What is Omega XL and does it work?
29.Which supplements are helpful for age-related macular degeneration (AMD)?
30.Which is better for lowering triglyceride levels -- fish oil or plant-based oils like flaxseed or echium oil?
31.Is fish oil safe? Is it contaminated with mercury and PCBs?
32.Which oils can help lower my cholesterol and risk of heart attack? How are coconut oil, olive oil, and fish oil for example?
33.Being over 50 years old, I'm looking to take a vitamin B-12 supplement. I see that many contain a form of vitamin B-12 called cyanocobalamin, yet I read on the Internet that this form is toxic. Should I be concerned?  (in Comments)
34.Coromega Max claims it is uniquely emulsified to provide 300% better absorption than standard fish oil softgels. Is this true? It's more expensive than many fish oils but could potentially provide better overall value.
35.Is it safe to consume fish oil as a long-term food supplement?
36.Which supplements can help with arthritis?
37.Can taking fish oil or calcium supplements increase my risk of prostate cancer? My doctor recommended that I stop taking them since I have an enlarged prostate.
38.Does vitamin B12 improve memory?
39.How can I easily compare the ingredients in supplements?
40.Is it better to get vitamins from foods or supplements, and are natural vitamins better than synthetic vitamins?  (in Comments)
41.Can taking too much fish oil be dangerous?
42.To avoid mercury, I tried skipjack tuna instead of albacore, but I didn't like the taste. Is it safe to continue to eat albacore if just once a week?
43.Are enteric coated supplements better than non-enteric coated ones?
44.Are there vitamins or supplements that can reduce my risk of breast cancer?
45.Do any supplements help with nerve pain, like sciatica or diabetic neuropathy?
46.Is it true that some vitamins or supplements can cause cancer?
47.Which supplements have been shown to be helpful for autism?
48.Which supplements help for osteoarthritis of the hip?
49.Which supplements help reduce the risk of colorectal cancer?
50.How much should I expect to pay for supplements? Are higher-priced supplements any better than low-priced brands?


Clinical Updates Found:
2019 Fish Oil Heart Claim (06/29/2019)
 Bioengineered Salmon Approved (03/12/2019)
2018 Mixed Results for EPA/DHA Fish Oil (11/11/2018)
 High EPA Fish Oil Lowers Cardiovascular Risk for Some (11/11/2018)
 Fish Oil Drug May Help (09/25/2018)
 Fish Oil for Dry Eye? (04/14/2018)
2017 Can Fish Oil Help Statins? (12/20/2017)
 Fish Oil for Stress? (12/05/2017)
 Omega-3s for Age-Related Cognitive Decline? (04/08/2017)
 Omega-3s for Arthritis (01/31/2017)
 Omega-3s for Cognitive Decline (01/28/2017)
2016 Omega-3s Drop in Farmed Salmon (10/08/2016)
 Omega-3 and -6 Improves Reading Skills in Children (09/20/2016)
 Omega-3s and Diabetic Eye Disease (08/23/2016)
 Omega-3's and Cognition (01/17/2016)
2015 Fish Oil for Depression (10/03/2015)
 Treating ADHD with Omega-3s? (05/13/2015)
 Green Lipped Mussel Oil Reduces Pain and Inflammation After Exercise (03/06/2015)
2014 Taking Fish Oil with Sterols (08/31/2014)
2013 Too Much Fish Oil May Cause Adverse Effects (11/03/2013)
 Fish Oil and Arthritis (09/21/2013)
 Omega-3s Linked to Less Heart Disease and Longer Life (04/07/2013)
2012 What's the Best Omega-3 for Depression? (10/14/2012)
 Fish Oil Benefit Questioned (09/16/2012)
 Additional Nutrients For the Brain (01/08/2012)
2011 Fish Oil's Impact on Cognitive Decline (10/04/2011)
 Fish Oil Helps Treat Depression (05/22/2011)
 Fish Oil and the Eye (04/10/2011)


Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Seller of Vitamin D, Omega-3's, Whey Protein & More Warned for Drug Claims (02/02/2018)
2.Seller of B Vitamins, Omega-3s and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (09/27/2016)
3.Seller of Joint Health, Omega-3 Supplements & More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (05/24/2016)
4.FDA Warns Seller of Omega-3 "Concussion" Supplement for Drug Claims (10/08/2015)
5.Problems Found with New Zealand Fish Oil Supplements, Concerns Raised About Testing Methods (03/13/2015)
6.Seller of Vision Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (03/10/2015)
7.Seller of Cholesterol, Arthritis Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
8.Seller of Prostate, Heart Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
9.Seller of Weight Loss, Saw Palmetto Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (10/21/2014)
10.Maker of Cholesterol and Workout Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims and Unapproved Ingredient (02/13/2014)
11.Seller of Omega-3 and Joint Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (09/17/2013)
12.Vision Supplement Company Warned For Drug Claims (04/25/2013)
13.Manufacturer of Green Tea, Vitamin E, Omega-3 and Cranberry Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations, Misbranding and Drug Claims (10/24/2012)
14.Maker of Omega-3, Bone and Brain and Supplements Warned For Drug Claims (09/10/2012)
15.Supplement Company Warned For Medical Claims and Misbranding Of Omega-3, CoQ10, Noni Juice And More (08/30/2012)


News Releases Found:
2018 Tests Reveal Best Fish Oil Supplements and How They Compare to Prescription Fish Oil (11/19/2018)
 Little Omega-3 and High Mercury Found In Some Canned Tuna -- Better Choices Selected for Tuna and Salmon (09/12/2018)
2016 ConsumerLab.com Finds Arsenic in Testing of Potassium Supplements -- Safer Choices Identified. Many Americans May Need More Potassium (11/15/2016)
 Best Fish Oil? ConsumerLab.com Tests 44 Popular Omega-3 Supplements and Identifies Its Top Picks (09/13/2016)
2014 Best Fish Oil? ConsumerLab.com Testing Finds Many High Quality Supplements, But Pitfalls Exist (04/09/2014)
2013 Contamination a Common Problem in "Greens" and "Whole Foods" Products According to ConsumerLab.com (07/08/2013)
2012 Contamination and Other Problems Found in Fish Oil Supplements -- Large Review by ConsumerLab.com Reveals Excessive PCBs or Mislabeling in Over 30% of Omega-3 Supplements (08/22/2012)
2011 Spoilage and labeling errors found with some omega-3 and -6 supplements; Review of evening primrose, flaxseed, borage, and black currant oil supplements (01/11/2011)
2010 ConsumerLab.com finds quality problems with nearly 30% of fish oil supplements reviewed; "Fishy" claims identified -- Softgels and liquids for adults, children and pets tested, including krill oil and algal oil supplements  (09/28/2010)
2008 ConsumerLab.com Find Fifty Fish Oil Supplements Pass Quality Testing -- New Report Helps Consumers Choose Among Pills, Liquids, Foods and Beverages with Omega-3 Fatty Acids (EPA and DHA) (08/05/2008)
 As problems surface, Consumerlab.com and the people's pharmacy ask FDA to disclose differences between generic and original drugs (03/17/2008)
 Consumers warned of lead in some turmeric supplements — Highest lead level ever reported by ConsumerLab.com; Lack of active compound also a problem (02/06/2008)
 ConsumerLab.com finds most potassium supplements meet quality standards, but one with only 18% of ingredient — Results for 12 potassium supplements in new review (01/08/2008)
2007 ConsumerLab.com finds improvement in quality of omega-3 and -6 supplements — Results for 22 products made from evening primrose, flaxseed, borage and black currant oils (12/10/2007)
2005 Consumerlab.com reaffirms problems with Trimspa X32 (12/05/2005)
 ConsumerLab.com finds some supplements lower in omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids than claimed — Report available for 23 products made from oils of black currant, borage, evening primrose and flax (07/12/2005)
2004 ConsumerLab.com expands testing to Japan — Testing Organization Expands to Help Japanese Consumers Determine Quality of Health and Nutrition Products (12/14/2004)
 ConsumerLab.com finds Omega-3 fish oil supplements safer than fish but quality varies among brands — Test of 41 Supplements Finds No Mercury or PCB Contamination, But Some Spoiled or Lacking Claimed Oils (12/14/2004)
2002 Athletic Banned Substances Screening and Certification Program announced by ConsumerLab.com — Tester of supplements to screen for substances banned in Olympics (02/08/2002)
 ConsumerLab.com finds most B vitamin supplements contain what they claim, but often exceed safe levels — Consumers cautioned to be aware of side effects with high dose products (01/08/2002)
2001 ConsumerLab.com finds fish oil supplements free of mercury, but 30% lacking in key ingredient — Test results of omega-3 fatty acid (EPA and DHA) products released today (11/20/2001)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Tests
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
RDAs
Where to Buy Products
Raw Materials Tests
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2019 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.