SEARCH RESULTS for "Oat-based Cereals"

Oat Cereals Tested by ConsumerLab.com

Oat Cereals Review

Read our review to help you find best oats and oat-based cereals. We tested for ochratoxin A (OTA), gluten and contamination with lead, cadmium, and arsenic. We explain the evidence for the health benefits of oats, including lowering bad LDL cholesterol and reducing the risk of heart disease. Find out which oat cereals passed our tests. We also tested a buckwheat cereal.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Plant-Based Milks (Almond, Cashew, Coconut, Flax, Hemp, Macademia, Oat, Pea, and Soy)  *
2.Nutrition Bars & Cookies Review (For Energy, Fiber, Protein, Meal Replacement, and Whole Foods)
3.Red Yeast Rice Supplements Review  *
4.Chia Seed Review  *
5.Reishi Mushroom Supplements Review  *
6.B Vitamin Supplements Review (B Complexes, B6, B12, Biotin, Folate, Niacin, Riboflavin & More)  *
7.Dark Chocolates, Cocoa & Cacao Powders, Nibs, and Supplements Review -- Sources of Flavanols  *
8.Vitamin K Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Vitamin D, Magnesium & Boron)  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.High Cholesterol


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.I've heard that soaking dried beans for 24 hours reduces the phytate level, allowing for greater access to nutrients. Is this true?  (in Comments)
2.Is it true that oat cereals, like Cheerios, oatmeal, oatflakes and steel-cut oats can be contaminated with a toxin?
3.Should I be concerned about phytic acid in oat cereals? I've heard that it can be harmful, but also that it can have health benefits.
4.Which supplements can help lower cholesterol and keep my heart healthy? Are there any to avoid?
5.How concerned should I be about glyphosate in foods and supplements?
6.I enjoy oat milk in my coffee, but how healthy is it for me?
7.How do I find the best quality olive oil and what are the health benefits?  (in Comments)
8.How can I find supplements that are gluten-free on ConsumerLab.com?
9.Which supplements can cause constipation?
10.I recently read that a gluten-free diet may increase your exposure to arsenic and mercury. Is this true?
11.Does taking a laxative interfere with the absorption of vitamins or minerals?
12.Is it true that most coffee is contaminated with mold?
13.What is lunasin and does it really reduce cholesterol?


Clinical Updates Found:
2020 "Whole Grain" Is Not Enough (05/19/2020)
"Whole Grain" Is Not Enough
Not all "whole grain" products are equal when it comes to minimizing swings in blood sugar, according to a new study. Get the details in the Benefits section of the Oat Cereals Review. Also see our Top Picks among oat cereals.
2019 How Do "Overnight Oats" Affect Blood Sugar? (05/15/2019)
How Do "Overnight Oats" Affect Blood Sugar?
We recently reported on the effects of various types of oats on blood sugar. A study by the same researchers has evaluated overnight oats – rolled oats soaked overnight in milk. Find out how overnight oats compare, see the Oat Cereals Review. Also see our Top Picks among oat cereals.
 Best Oats for Controlling Blood Sugar? (05/11/2019)
Best Oats for Controlling Blood Sugar?
A recent study compared the effects on blood sugar and insulin levels of steel-cut oats, old fashioned rolled oats, instant ("quick") oats, and honey nut oat cereal. The surprising results are found in the Oat Cereals Review. Also see our Top Pick for oat cereals.
 Fiber Benefits (01/12/2019)
Fiber Benefits
Higher fiber intake was associated with a lower risk of many major diseases in a recent study. However, the average American consumes far below the recommended daily intake of fiber. As oats are a good source of fiber, we’ve added details from the new study in the "Benefits" section of the Oat Cereals Review. (Also see our Top Picks oat cereals.)
2017 Cereal Fiber Reduces Risk of Death from Colorectal Cancer (11/04/2017)
Cereal Fiber Reduces Risk of Death from Colorectal Cancer
Higher intakes of dietary fiber are associated with a lower risk of colorectal cancer. A new study suggests that higher intakes of fiber from cereal may reduce the risk of dying among those who have the disease. How much is needed for a benefit? Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Oat Cereals Review >> [Also see our Top Picks for oat cereals in the Review.]
2016 How Much Do Oats Lower Cholesterol? (10/19/2016)
How Much Do Oats Lower Cholesterol?
A new report shows that you can lower bad cholesterol by nearly 5% when eating certain amounts of whole oats or oat bran. For details, as well as our tests of products, see the Oat Cereals Review >>


Recent Recalls and Warnings Found:

Archived Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Oat Cereal Recalled Due to Listeria Risk (07/18/2017)
2.Soylent Powder Recalled Due to Allergen Risk (04/25/2017)
3.Soylent Recalls Bars As It Investigates Complaints of Gastrointestinal Issues (10/13/2016)
4.Maker of Immune Supplement Warned for Manufacturing Violations (12/05/2014)
5.Seller of Cardio, Immune, Greens Supplements and More Warned For Drug Claims (06/13/2013)


News Releases Found:
2020 Best Alternative Milks? ConsumerLab Tests Reveal What's Really in Plant-Based Milks (05/22/2020)
2019 Some Nutrition Bars Contain More Carbs and Less Fiber Than Listed, ConsumerLab Tests Reveal (09/11/2019)
2016 Surprising Results in Oat Cereals Study by ConsumerLab.com -- Popular Brands Tested for Fungal Toxin, Gluten and Heavy Metals (08/30/2016)
2007 ConsumerLab.com survey shows brands and merchants rated highest by dietary supplement users (02/15/2007)
2005 ConsumerLab.com tests menopause supplements — Alternatives to hormonal therapy — Report available for 38 products including soy and red clover isoflavones, black cohosh, and progesterone creams (07/18/2005)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW

SPECIAL
Coronavirus Information Center
Coronavirus Information Center
Answers to Critical Questions About COVID-19.



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS

VISIT OUR PARTNERS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Reviews
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
Recommended Intakes
Where to Buy Products
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Quality Certification Program
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2020 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.