SEARCH RESULTS for "CoQ10"

CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Reviewed by ConsumerLab.com

CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review

Trying to find the best CoQ10 or ubiquinol supplement? ConsumerLab tested 24 CoQ10 and ubiquinol products. Find out which ones passed or failed tests and which we consider Top Picks.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Red Yeast Rice Supplements Review  *
2.CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements, Lotions, and Balms Review  *
3.Fish Oil and Omega-3 and -7 Supplements Review (Including Krill, Algae, Calamari, and Sea Buckthorn)  *
4.Taurine Supplements Review for People, Dogs, and Cats  *
5.Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplements Review  *
6.Ginger Supplements & Ales Review  *
7.Greens and Whole Food Powders and Capsules  *
8.Multivitamin and Multimineral Supplements Review  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Clonidine
2.Hydralazine
3.Methyldopa
4.Congestive Heart Failure
5.Coenzyme Q10
6.Migraine Headaches
7.Warfarin


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.Is it worth paying more for "pharmaceutical grade" CoQ10? What about "natural" or "live source" CoQ10?
2.Is MitoQ a better form of CoQ10?
3.What are CoQ10 side effects?
4.When taking a water-soluble version of CoQ10, do I still need to take it with food?
5.Can I take CoQ10 at the same time as my statin, or should I take them separately?
6.Does taking natural versus synthetic CoQ10 make a difference? How do you know which product is natural or synthetic?
7.What is "nano" CoQ10? Is it better than other CoQ10 formulations?
8.Do CoQ10 levels really decrease with age?
9.Do I need to divide my daily 300 mg dose of CoQ10 into smaller doses, or can I take it all at once?
10.How do I choose the best CoQ10 supplement?
11.Are CoQ10 and ubiquinol safe to take for a long period of time? Should I give it a rest period?
12.I have been having dizziness for the past few months and am wondering if it could be a side effect of supplements I take. Which supplements cause dizziness?  (in Comments)
13.Could my CoQ10 supplement be making me nauseous?
14.I have been hearing a lot about the ingredient kaneka QH and that it must be in CoQ10, in order to work better. What is kaneka?
15.Is there a lab test that can measure CoQ10 in the blood? Can it help to determine the dosage I should take for a certain condition, like heart failure?
16.What is the difference between CoQ10 and ubiquinol?
17.I take ubiquinol to replenish CoQ10 depleted by my statin. I also take curcumin (from turmeric). Since they both manage free radicals, do I need to take the curcumin?
18.Is it safe to take CoQ10 while taking blood thinners like warfarin or Plavix (clopidogrel)?
19.I recently bought a CoQ10 supplement on Amazon. The manufacture date was hidden under a sticker, but was 13 months ago. No "Best By" date is listed. Is this product still good to use?
20.What is PQQ? Does it help with aging and memory? Is it similar to CoQ10?
21.What supplements should I stop taking before surgery?
22.Can taking CoQ10 affect my thyroid levels or interact with my thyroid medication?
23.Which supplements can help to lower blood pressure?  (in Comments)
24.Can CoQ10 help lower homocysteine levels?
25.Could my CoQ10 supplement be causing my insomnia?
26.I started taking red yeast rice and soon after developed insomnia. Could my red yeast rice supplement be the problem?
27.Are supplements which claim increased absorption or improved bioavailability telling the truth? Is it worth paying more for these? Are there concerns?
28.Can CoQ10 or ubiquinol be ruined by heat? I recently purchased several bottles of Qunol Plus from Costco.com and they arrived hot. The soft gels are not melted, but I am concerned.
29.Can magnesium supplements reduce heart palpitations or PVCs?  (in Comments)
30.I take VitaPulse dietary supplements from the Princeton Nutrients. Once the bottle is open for a week or so, the contents begin to smell. Should I be concerned?
31.Which supplements should be taken with food?
32.Which supplements have been shown to be helpful for autism?
33.I've heard it's best to take fat-soluble supplements, like CoQ10, curcumin, and vitamin D, with fats or oils to increase absorption. Would taking them with a fish oil capsule be enough?
34.I find labels of some supplement bottles misleading. For example, an L-theanine label says 200 mg on the front but the back says each pill contains just 100 mg, noting that a serving is 2 capsules. Is this legal?
35.Does CoQ10 reduce wrinkles, increase skin elasticity, or tighten the skin? Are there any other supplements that can help?
36.What is shilajit? Does it have any proven health benefits, and is heavy metal contamination a concern?
37.I take warfarin (Coumadin), an anticoagulant drug. Are there supplements I should avoid, or be taking, due to this drug?
38.I'm considering taking vitamin K for my bones, but I take blood thinner (anti-coagulant) medication. Is there a problem taking both?
39.Which supplements can help lower cholesterol and keep my heart healthy? Are there any to avoid?
40.Are there negative interactions between the following supplements I take twice each day, as well as 60 mg of beta-sitosterol with dinner: Vitamin C (500 mg), CoQ10 (100 mg), grape seed extract (100 mg), fish oil (500 mg), vitamin D3/calcium/magnesium/zinc (200 IU/333 mg/113 mg/5mg)?
41.I take insulin (Humalog) for diabetes. Are there supplements that could affect my blood sugar levels and how much insulin I need to take?
42.I take a supplement containing a "proprietary formula" which lists many ingredients. Can ConsumerLab test the contents so I'll know the amounts of each ingredient?
43.Do any supplements help with gum disease or periodontitis?
44.Which supplements help to improve energy and decrease fatigue?
45.A few weeks after starting acetyl-L-carnitine, I became so sluggish I could hardly function. Could this be due to the supplement?  (in Comments)
46.How does regular black pepper compare with black pepper extract used in supplements? Will sprinkling it on food with turmeric help increase the bioavailability of curcumin compounds from turmeric?
47.I take a number of supplements and I think they are making my acid reflux worse. Which supplements could be causing my stomach irritation, and what can I do about it?
48.Do any supplements help with migraines?
49.Do magnesium creams, sprays and oils help with muscle pain and cramps? How about supplements?
50.Which supplements can help lower my triglycerides?
51.Which supplements can help me sleep?
52.Is there evidence that d-limonene can help fight cancer?
53.Do any supplements help prevent sunburn or skin damage from sun exposure?  (in Comments)
54.Do any supplements really help with brain function, like memory and cognition?
55.I've heard that grapefruit juice can interact with medications because it inhibits an enzyme that breaks down drugs in the body. Do any supplements interact the same way with drugs?
56.Which supplements can help with indigestion and/or heartburn?
57.Which vitamins and minerals should be taken together or separately?  (in Comments)
58.Is it true that drinking a small amount of hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) with water can kill bacteria in the urinary tract or help in other ways? Is this safe -- or is it dangerous?  (in Comments)
59.When taking a statin drug like Lipitor or Crestor, are there supplements I should avoid or take?
60.How much should I expect to pay for supplements? Are higher-priced supplements any better than low-priced brands?
61.How can I find out if my supplement has been tested by ConsumerLab.com?
62.Do any supplements help for tinnitus? Is it true that some supplements can cause tinnitus?
63.Can beta-sitosterol cause erectile dysfunction or low libido? Are there any other side effects?
64.Can I take cholesterol-lowering statin medication with green tea?
65.Do any supplements reduce side of effects of chemotherapy?


Clinical Updates Found:
2020 Ubiquinol & Heart Surgery (08/04/2020)
Ubiquinol & Heart Surgery
Ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) can have a beneficial effect on ailing hearts, but can taking it protect the heart around the time of aortic valve replacement? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for Ubiquinol and CoQ10.
 Ubiquinol for Fatigue? (06/02/2020)
Ubiquinol for Fatigue?
Does taking ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) help men and women who are experiencing fatigue in daily life? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.
 CoQ10 Bioavailability (03/21/2020)
CoQ10 Bioavailability
CoQ10 is not well absorbed unless taken with fats or oils, such as with a meal. Bioavailability-enhanced formulations allow CoQ10 to be taken without a meal, but how good are they? We’ve added new information about one such formula and how it compares to taking regular CoQ10 in the Absorption and Bioavailability Enhancers section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.
 Does CoQ10 Help With Statins? (03/10/2020)
Does CoQ10 Help With Statins?
Many studies have looked at whether or not CoQ10 helps people with statin-associated muscle pain. Read the latest in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.
 PQQ for Athletic Endurance? (01/18/2020)
PQQ for Athletic Endurance?
We've added information from a recent study of PQQ for athletic endurance to our answer to the question: What is PQQ? Does it help with aging and memory? Is it similar to CoQ10?
2019 CoQ10 for Statin-Intolerance (11/09/2019)
CoQ10 for Statin-Intolerance
Many people experience muscle pain from taking cholesterol-lowering statin drugs. CoQ10 can help reduce this pain, according to a new study. Get the details in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 supplements.
 CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia? (08/10/2019)
CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia?
A recent study evaluated whether CoQ10 improved symptoms in patients with fibromyalgia when added to standard prescription treatment with pregabalin (Lyrica). See the results, and learn more about what CoQ10 can and cannot do in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.
 Reaction to CoQ10 and Alpha-Lipoic Acid (06/12/2019)
Reaction to CoQ10 and Alpha-Lipoic Acid
An autoimmune syndrome possibly caused by CoQ10 was recently reported. It is similar to rare cases caused by alpha-lipoic acid. For details see the updates to the Concerns and Cautions sections of the CoQ10 and Alpha Lipoic Acid Reviews.
2018 Can CoQ10 Boost Cholesterol-Lowering of Statins? (11/06/2018)
Can CoQ10 Boost Cholesterol-Lowering of Statins?
Can taking CoQ10 further lower cholesterol levels in people already taking a statin drug? See what a new study found in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)
 CoQ10 & Statin Muscle Symptoms (10/30/2018)
CoQ10 & Statin Muscle Symptoms
Can taking CoQ10 reduce muscle symptoms that can occur when taking cholesterol-lowering statin drugs? Find out in the recent update to the What It Does section of the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and Ubiquinol.)
 CoQ10 vs. Ubiquinol (10/16/2018)
CoQ10 vs. Ubiquinol
Which form of CoQ10 raises total blood levels of CoQ10 more? Find out in the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)
 CoQ10 for Migraine (07/10/2018)
CoQ10 for Migraine
CoQ10 and its active form, ubiquinol, have been studied in several clinical trials to treat migraine headache. Find out what the research is showing in the Migraine section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)
 Ubiquinol for Blood Sugar Control? (06/26/2018)
Ubiquinol for Blood Sugar Control?
Does giving ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) to people with type 2 diabetes help with blood sugar control? Find out in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)
 MitoQ Trial (04/21/2018)
MitoQ Trial
A recent study assessed the effect of MitoQ, a compound related to CoQ10, on the functioning of arteries in older adults. Get the results and learn more about MitoQ in the ConsumerTips section of the CoQ10 Supplements Review.
 CoQ10 for Nerve Pain (02/17/2018)
CoQ10 for Nerve Pain
Taking CoQ10 along with standard medication may decrease trigeminal (facial) nerve pain more than medication alone, according to a new study. For details, including dosage, see the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among products).
 Can CoQ10 Lower Cholesterol? (01/06/2018)
Can CoQ10 Lower Cholesterol?
A recent study looked at whether CoQ10 can lower cholesterol in people with elevated levels. Find out what the study found and details about dosage in the "What it Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> (Also see our Top Picks among products.)
2017 CoQ10 for Orthostatic Hypotension (10/31/2017)
CoQ10 for Orthostatic Hypotension
CoQ10 may help reduce the fall in blood pressure that occurs in orthostatic hypotension (low blood pressure upon standing) according to a recent report. See the details in the "What It Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> [Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 supplements in the Review.]
 CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia (01/10/2017)
CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia
CoQ10 reduced symptoms of anxiety and depression in people with fibromyalgia, according to a preliminary study. Get the details, including dosage, in the "What It Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>
2016 CoQ10 for Wrinkles (09/11/2016)
CoQ10 for Wrinkles
Taking a daily dose of CoQ10 may help to reduce facial wrinkles in older women, according to a preliminary study. Get the details and learn more about CoQ10 supplements in the "What It Does" section of the CoQ10 Supplements Review >>
2014 CoQ10 Reduces Statin-Related Muscle Pain (11/26/2014)
CoQ10 Reduces Statin-Related Muscle Pain
Taking a moderate dose of CoQ10 reduced statin-related muscle symptoms in 75% of patients in a recent study. More details, as well as our tests of CoQ10 and ubiquinol products, are found in the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 
 CoQ10 Improves Symptoms in War Veterans (11/12/2014)
CoQ10 Improves Symptoms in War Veterans
A new study found that a moderate dose of CoQ10 improved symptoms of Gulf War illness (such as word recall, fatigue, and irritability) in veterans. A larger dose did not show this effect. Details, as well as results of our product tests, are found in the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 
 CoQ10 Benefit Takes Time (10/10/2014)
CoQ10 Benefit Takes Time
A large study found that a daily dose of CoQ10 reduced the chances of hospitalization or death by almost 50% in people with moderate to severe heart failure -- but only after being taken for an extended period of time. Find out how much CoQ10 was taken and for how long, and get our quality ratings and comparisons of CoQ10 supplements, in the updated CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>
 CoQ10 Not Helpful in Parkinson Disease (03/27/2014)
CoQ10 Not Helpful in Parkinson Disease
A study among people with early Parkinson Disease found that high-dose CoQ10 was not effective in slowing progression of the disease. For details about the study, information about other uses of CoQ10, as well as our tests of supplements, see the updated CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 
 Green Tea "Blocks" Beta-Blocker (01/18/2014)
Green Tea "Blocks" Beta-Blocker
A new study shows that drinking green tea can drastically reduce the amount of a beta-blocker (nadolol, Corgard) absorbed into the bloodstream. Beta-blockers are typically taken to lower blood pressure, raising concern for people using green tea along with this beta-blocker and, possibly, related medications. Get the details, along with our tests of green tea drinks and supplements, in the update to the Green Tea Review >>   

If you take a beta-blocker (which includes the popular drugs metoprolol (Lopressor, Toprol) and propranolol (Inderal)), be aware that chromium and CoQ10 may offer benefits. These interactions are explained in the Beta Blockers article, which is part of the extensive Drug Interactions section of our website (where you can look up interaction for other drugs you may be taking). 
2013 Does CoQ10 Help the Heart? (06/02/2013)
Does CoQ10 Help the Heart?
It can for people with congestive heart failure, says a new study. Find out more about CoQ10, plus get ratings for 48 supplements in the updated Coenzyme Q10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>


Recent Recalls and Warnings Found:
1.Seller of CoQ10, Resveratrol and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations (02/18/2020)

Archived Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Life Extension Warned for Drug Claims (02/14/2017)
2.Seller of CoQ10, Anxiety Supplements and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (06/26/2015)
3.Seller of Prostate, Heart Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
4.Seller of Cholesterol, Arthritis Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
5.Seller of Weight Loss, Saw Palmetto Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (10/21/2014)
6.Seller of B Vitamins, CoQ10, Amino Acids and Other Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (04/29/2014)
7.Metagenics Warned For Misbranding of Medical Foods and Drug Claims (09/13/2013)
8.CoQ10 and Carnitine Supplement Company Warned For Manufacturing Violations (09/10/2013)
9.Seller of Vision Supplement Warned For Drug Claims (07/05/2013)
10.Seller of Red Rice Yeast With CoQ10, Respiratory Supplement And More Warned For Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (06/07/2013)
11.Probiotic Recalled Due To Undeclared Soy (03/21/2013)
12.Maker of Liquid Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (03/15/2013)
13.Manufacturer of Heart, Multivitamin, Cranberry, and Longevity Supplements Warned For Adulteration and Drug Claims (02/13/2013)
14.FDA Warns Maker of Weight Loss and Whey Protein Supplements For Manufacturing Violations and Misbranding (02/13/2013)
15.Court Injunction Halts Sale of Cholesterol, CoQ10, Progesterone, Prostate Supplements and More (11/26/2012)
16.Manufacturer of Green Tea, Vitamin E, Omega-3 and Cranberry Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations, Misbranding and Drug Claims (10/24/2012)
17.Warning Issued to Memory Supplement Maker For Unapproved Drug Ingredient, Drug Claims and Unreported Adverse Events (10/24/2012)
18.Supplement Company Warned For Medical Claims and Misbranding Of Omega-3, CoQ10, Noni Juice And More (08/30/2012)
19.FDA Warns Doctor Promoting Own Supplements Online as Treatments (05/07/2012)
20.FDA Sends Warning Letters to Seven Online Supplement Sellers For Therapeutic Claims (09/07/2002)


News Releases Found:
2020 Collagen and Magnesium Rise in Popularity, as Fish Oil and Curcumin Dip in Latest ConsumerLab Survey of Supplement Users (02/29/2020)
 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2020 Based on Consumer Satisfaction -- Results of the ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/25/2020)
2019 ConsumerLab Tests Reveal Best CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements (07/31/2019)
 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2019 Based on Consumer Satisfaction -- Results of the ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/25/2019)
 CBD and Collagen Rise in Popularity, as Probiotics and Coconut Oil Dip in Latest ConsumerLab Survey of Supplement Users (02/24/2019)
2018 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2018 Based on Consumer Satisfaction (02/25/2018)
 Magnesium, Curcumin, and Apple Cider Vinegar Rise in Popularity, While Probiotics Dip and Calcium Continues to Decline in Latest ConsumerLab.com Survey of Supplement Users (02/24/2018)
2017 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2017 Based on Consumer Satisfaction (02/25/2017)
 Vitamin D Supplements Maintain Top Spot in Popularity, as Probiotics Surpass Multivitamins to #4 Behind Fish Oil and CoQ10 in Latest ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/24/2017)
2016 Best CoQ10? ConsumerLab.com Tests Popular CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements and Reveals Its Top Picks (12/21/2016)
 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2016 Based on Consumer Satisfaction (02/25/2016)
 Vitamin D Supplements Jump to Top Spot in Popularity, Surpassing Fish Oil, as Probiotics Rise to #5 Spot Behind CoQ10 and Multivitamins in ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/24/2016)
2015 Best Supplements for Bone Health? ConsumerLab.com Finds Products with Multiple Ingredients More Likely to Contain Wrong Amounts (04/28/2015)
 CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Vary in Quality, as Well as Dose, Absorption, and Price According to ConsumerLab.com (03/17/2015)
 ConsumerLab.com Shows Chinese Consumers What's Really in Foods and Supplements -- U.S. Testing Company Expands to China, Launches cn.ConsumerLab.com (03/05/2015)
 Use of Magnesium and Probiotics Rise, Multivitamins and Weight Loss Supplements Fall, According to ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/28/2015)
 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2015 Based on Consumer Satisfaction -- Results of the ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/25/2015)
2014 Calcium, Vitamin C, and Fish Oil Supplements Drop in Use, Probiotics Rise According to ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/13/2014)
 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2014 Based on Consumer Satisfaction -- Results of the ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/12/2014)
2013 CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Should Be Chosen Carefully, Cautions ConsumerLab.com -- Less Than 4% of Listed Ingredient Found in Widely-Sold Product (03/05/2013)
 ConsumerLab.com Reports Problems with Some Vitamin D and Calcium Supplements -- Wrong Amounts of Vitamin D, Pills Which Don’t Break Apart, and Lead Contamination Found (02/11/2013)
 Top-rated Vitamin and Supplement Brands and Merchants for 2013 Based on Consumer Satisfaction
(02/01/2013)
 Use of CoQ10, Digestive Enzymes, Probiotics and B Vitamins on the Rise According to ConsumerLab.com Survey (01/31/2013)
2012 Fish oil and multivitamins most popular supplements in ConsumerLab.com survey -- Internet most popular place to shop (02/05/2012)
 Top-rated vitamin and supplement brands and merchants on consumer satisfaction for 2012 -- Based on ConsumerLab.com Survey of Vitamin & Supplement Users (02/01/2012)
 Do African mango supplements help with weight loss? ConsumerLab.com investigates the evidence (01/17/2012)
2011 ConsumerLab.com reviews CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements -- Tests show quality to be high, but large differences found in dosage, formulation, and cost (03/08/2011)
 Vitamin D use increased 52% in past two years according to ConsumerLab.com survey of supplement users -- Fish oil continued to surpass multivitamins as most popular supplement and Internet was most common place to buy supplements (01/31/2011)
2010 Fish oil becomes most popular dietary supplement in ConsumerLab.com survey; Vitamin D and resveratrol use surge (01/31/2010)
2009 Survey shows fish oil nearly as popular as multivitamins among supplement users.  Most also take calcium and CoQ10 -- ConsumerLab.com publishes 2009 Report on Vitamin & Supplement Users, including top-rated brands and merchants.  (02/03/2009)
 ConsumerLab.com reports largest test of CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements -- Most supplements provide claimed ingredient, but large variation in dosage and forms may confuse consumers.  ConsumerLab.com provides guidance. (01/13/2009)
2008 Tests of zinc supplements by ConsumerLab.com show only some provide dosage proven to shorten colds, reduce eye disease.  Lead contamination found in one product. (12/09/2008)
 Adulteration Suspected with Some "Memory" Supplements -- Few Ginkgo and Huperzine Supplements Pass ConsumerLab.com Tests; Quality High for Acetyl-L-Carnitine (11/18/2008)
 Tests reveal quality problems with vitamin A supplements -- New ConsumerLab.com report focuses on vitamin A, including beta-carotene and cod liver oil (10/28/2008)
 ConsumerLab.com finds melatonin supplements range in strength but ingredient quality is high (10/02/2008)
 ConsumerLab.com's tests of menopause supplements reveal wide range in strength and quality; mislabeling and contamination discovered -- Soy and red clover isoflavones, black cohosh, and progesterone products tested (09/17/2008)
 ConsumerLab.com finds improvements in labeling of nutrition bars but potential pitfalls exist -- New report compares 20 bars, including those for protein, fiber, energy and whole food (08/12/2008)
2006 ConsumerLab.com responds to vitamin industry claim to be "vindicated" in defamation case (11/17/2006)
 ConsumerLab.com report on CoQ10 supplements finds quality high but large range in suggested dosage (10/20/2006)
 Care advised with natural cold remedies: ConsumerLab.com finds few products with proper quality and directions — ConsumerLab.com offers advice from tests of echinacea, garlic, ginseng, vitamin C, and zinc supplements (10/10/2006)
 DHEA supplements, touted for anti-aging and strength, reviewed by ConsumerLab.com — Testing finds one brand with 215% of the labeled amount (09/19/2006)
 Over 70% of herbal sleep supplements fail tests for quality by ConsumerLab.com — Results for 16 valerian products released today (08/15/2006)
 ConsumerLab.com evaluates cholesterol-lowering supplements — Test results available for over 90 products; Review of nine popular ingredients (08/01/2006)
 What's in a garlic supplement? Consumerlab finds few brands have it right and many mislead (06/22/2006)
 Problems persist with ginseng supplements — ConsumerLab.com finds nearly half of products lack ingredient or contaminated (05/24/2006)
 ConsumerLab.com tests cancer-prevention supplements; several contaminated with lead or low in ingredient
— Report available for green tea, selenium, and lycopene supplements
(04/26/2006)
2005 ConsumerLab.com testing of alpha lipoic acid supplements from Japan finds no ingredient in one product; Most others meet claims — Japanese consumers urged to research product quality (08/31/2005)
 Quality problems widespread among ginseng products sold in Japan. — Nearly two-thirds of products fail ConsumerLab.com testing due to pesticide contamination and missing or substandard ingredients (06/20/2005)
 ConsumerLab.com begins publishing test reports on Japanese vitamins and supplements — Review of CoQ10 products Now Available Online in Japanese at ConsumerLab.jp. More Reports Scheduled (05/10/2005)
2004 ConsumerLab.com finds Omega-3 fish oil supplements safer than fish but quality varies among brands — Test of 41 Supplements Finds No Mercury or PCB Contamination, But Some Spoiled or Lacking Claimed Oils (12/14/2004)
 ConsumerLab.com expands testing to Japan — Testing Organization Expands to Help Japanese Consumers Determine Quality of Health and Nutrition Products (12/14/2004)
 ConsumerLab.com finds discrepancies in strength of CoQ10 supplements — Increasingly popular supplement, but health professionals and consumers cautioned to check brands (01/13/2004)
 USANA products pass ConsumerLab.com screening for substances banned from Olympics (01/09/2004)
2003 ConsumerLab.com dispels myths about HGH human growth hormone supplements sold widely on Internet (12/08/2003)
 ConsumerLab.com reports improvement in quality of SAM-e supplements used for osteoarthritis and depression — But a high priced product found to contain only 30% of label claim (11/18/2003)
 Key ingredient missing in some arthritis supplements for people and pets according to ConsumerLab.com — Review of glucosamine, chondroitin and MSM supplements published online today (11/02/2003)
 Consumerlab.com finds new forms of creatine prone to problems — Test results of muscular enhancement supplements published online today (09/24/2003)
 Some problems persist with ginseng supplements but overall quality improves according to ConsumerLab.com — Test results published online today (08/28/2003)
2002 Pharmavite dietary supplements receive ConsumerLab.com approval — Vitamin E, SAM-e, St. John's Wort, Ginkgo and others merit approved quality products ranking (07/10/2002)
 Athletic Banned Substances Screening and Certification Program announced by ConsumerLab.com — Tester of supplements to screen for substances banned in Olympics (02/08/2002)
 ConsumerLab.com finds most B vitamin supplements contain what they claim, but often exceed safe levels — Consumers cautioned to be aware of side effects with high dose products (01/08/2002)
2001 ConsumerLab.com finds fish oil supplements free of mercury, but 30% lacking in key ingredient — Test results of omega-3 fatty acid (EPA and DHA) products released today (11/20/2001)
 Sixty percent of nutrition bars fail to meet claims in ConsumerLab.com tests — "Low Carb" bars often loaded with carbohydrates; excess sodium and saturated fat also found (10/30/2001)
 Most iron supplements pass ConsumerLab.com testing — Lead contamination and insufficient iron found in some (10/03/2001)
 Problems and ambiguity among alternative estrogen products reported by ConsumerLab.com — Results of soy and red clover isoflavone product testing released online today (08/15/2001)
 Many herbal sleep products lack key claimed ingredient — Results of ConsumerLab.com's testing of valerian products released on web today (07/09/2001)
 ConsumerLab.com reports test results of arthritis supplement — MSM; Quality found higher than for most supplements, but room for improvement remains (06/04/2001)
 Over forty percent of Echinacea products fail ConsumerLab.com review; Inadequate labeling and missing ingredients found common for popular herbal cold remedy (05/07/2001)
 ConsumerLab.com expands testing of health products; success of dietary supplement evaluations leads company into broader nutrition field, beginning with popular nutrition bars (03/27/2001)
 ConsumerLab.com review of vitamin E supplements finds some insufficiencies and need for clearer labeling; test results released online today (03/13/2001)
 Problems found with multivitamins and multiminerals by ConsumerLab.com (02/14/2001)
 Some supplements for arthritis may exceed newly released safe intake levels for manganese (01/29/2001)
2000 ConsumerLab.com tests popular supplement for heart failure; CoQ10 test results released online today (11/21/2000)
 ConsumerLab.com finds new calcium products of higher quality than many traditional supplements; Test results released online today (09/06/2000)
 ConsumerLab.com finds that not all creatine supplements meet label claims; Popular sports supplement test results released online (08/07/2000)
 Pesticide contamination found in many Ginseng supplements tested by ConsumerLab.com (07/11/2000)
 ConsumerLab.com announces first test-based buyer's guide to dietary supplements; Manufacturers encouraged to have products tested for potential inclusion. (04/24/2000)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW

SPECIAL
Coronavirus Information Center
Coronavirus Information Center
Answers to Critical Questions About COVID-19.



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS

VISIT OUR PARTNERS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Reviews
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
Recommended Intakes
Where to Buy Products
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Quality Certification Program
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2020 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.