SEARCH RESULTS for "ALA (alpha-linolenic acid)"

Flaxseed Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Borage Oil, Hemp Oil and Black Currant Oil Supplements Reviewed by ConsumerLab.com

Black Currant Oil, Borage Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Flaxseed Oil, and Hemp Oil Supplements Review: Sources of ALA and GLA (Omega-3 and -6 Fatty Acids)

Find the best flaxseed oil, evening primrose oil, borage oil, hemp oil, and black currant oil supplements (sources of omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids), evidence for use for lowering cholesterol, triglycerides and blood pressure, potential skin benefits and more. Find out which ones passed our tests and why.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Fish Oil and Omega-3 and -7 Supplements Review (Including Krill, Algae, Calamari, and Sea Buckthorn)  *
2.Astaxanthin Supplements Review  *
3.Canned Tuna and Salmon  *
4.Vitamin A Supplements Review, Including Beta-Carotene and Cod Liver Oil  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Flaxseed Oil


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.I'm a vegan but my doctor wants me to take fish oil with EPA and DHA. Is there something I can take that would be as good as fish oil capsules but would satisfy the needs of a vegan?
2.I take levothyroxine (Synthroid), a thyroid hormone to treat hypothyroidism. Are there supplements I should avoid, or be taking, due to this drug?  (in Comments)
3.I heard the S-form of alpha-lipoic acid is bad for me. Why is it in my supplement?  (in Comments)
4.What is berberine? Can it really lower blood sugar? Are there any cautions? Which supplements are best?  (in Comments)
5.Is it better to take fish oil, flaxseed oil -- or both?
6.Can lysine or vitamin B-12 help prevent or reduce canker sores?  (in Comments)
7.Which oils can help lower my cholesterol and risk of heart attack? How are coconut oil, olive oil, and fish oil for example?
8.Is echium oil a good alternative to fish oil? I am allergic to fish.
9.I've tried a number of fish oil supplements, all of which make me nauseous. What is the best non-fish alternative? I am primarily interested in getting EPA.
10.Do any supplements help with nerve pain, like sciatica or diabetic neuropathy?
11.Which is better for lowering triglyceride levels -- fish oil or plant-based oils like flaxseed or echium oil?
12.Is canola oil good or bad for you? I heard it can be toxic.
13.Which supplements can help to lower blood pressure?


Clinical Updates Found:
2018 Flaxseed Oil for High Blood Pressure? (11/06/2018)
2014 Flaxseed Lowers Blood Pressure (08/22/2014)


Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Bones and Packaged "Bone Treats" Dangerous for Dogs (11/21/2017)
2.Seller of "Cancer Kits," Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (01/21/2017)
3.Maker of Cholesterol and Workout Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims and Unapproved Ingredient (02/13/2014)
4.Seller of Immune, Cholesterol, Liver and Blood Sugar Products Warned For Drug Claims (04/26/2013)


News Releases Found:
2017 Flaxseed and Other Popular Omega 3 & 6 Oil Supplements Tested, But Not All Brands Pass -- Tests of Black Currant Oil, Borage Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Flaxseed Oil, and Hemp Oil Supplements (11/27/2017)
2014 Flaxseed and Other Popular Seed Oil Supplements Tested by ConsumerLab.com, But Not All Brands Pass -- Flaxseed, Black Currant, Borage and Evening Primrose Oils Reviewed (05/07/2014)
2011 Spoilage and labeling errors found with some omega-3 and -6 supplements; Review of evening primrose, flaxseed, borage, and black currant oil supplements (01/11/2011)
2007 ConsumerLab.com finds improvement in quality of omega-3 and -6 supplements — Results for 22 products made from evening primrose, flaxseed, borage and black currant oils (12/10/2007)
2005 ConsumerLab.com finds some supplements lower in omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids than claimed — Report available for 23 products made from oils of black currant, borage, evening primrose and flax (07/12/2005)
 Two magnesium supplements fail testing due to lead contamination. Nineteen others pass. Report now available. (06/15/2005)
 ConsumerLab.com finds quality of most nutrition powders and drinks high, but identifies five protein powders with excess sodium or cholesterol — Report Now Available Online (04/27/2005)
 ConsumerLab.com finds most B-vitamins of high quality but three lacking in ingredients — Test Results for 41 Products Reported Along with Information on Use (03/30/2005)
2002 ConsumerLab.com finds some spoilage and inaccuracy among omega-3 and 6 supplements — List released of evening primrose, flaxseed and other GLA/ALA products that passed testing  (08/07/2002)
 ConsumerLab.com finds nutrition powders & drinks more accurately labeled than nutrition bars, but unapproved food ingredient seen in some (03/05/2002)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Tests
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
RDAs
Where to Buy Products
Raw Materials Tests
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2019 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.