SEARCH RESULTS for "Magnesium"

Magnesium Supplements Reviewed By ConsumerLab.com

Magnesium Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Vitamins D & K, and Boron)

Trying to find the best magnesium supplement? ConsumerLab tested popular forms and brands. Find out which ones passed our tests and review, which failed (due to less magnesium claimed, lead contamination, and/or incorrect amounts of vitamins D & K and boron), and which we selected as our Top Picks. Compare amounts of elemental magnesium and other ingredients, learn about dosage and side effects, and the best forms for specific uses.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Multivitamin and Multimineral Supplements Review  *
2.Calcium Supplements Review
3.Vitamin K Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Vitamin D, Magnesium & Boron)  *
4.Vitamin D Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Vitamin K, Magnesium, and Boron)
5.Protein Powders, Shakes, and Drinks Review  *
6.Meal Replacement & Weight Management Powders and Shakes Review  *
7.Boron Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Magnesium, and Vitamins D & K)
8.Inactive Ingredients / Excipients in Supplements  *
9.Potassium Supplements Review
10.Recommended Daily Intakes and Upper Limits for Vitamins and Minerals | Consumerlab.com
11.Oat Cereals Review  *
12.Baobab Dried Fruit Pulp Review Article  *
13.Potassium Iodide (KI) and Potassium Iodate (KIO3) Review Article: Radioprotective Agents
14.Coconut Waters Review
15.Apple Cider Vinegar Review -- Bottled Liquids and Pills  *
16.Greens and Whole Food Powders and Capsules  *
17.Iron Supplements Review  *
18.NAC (N-Acetyl Cysteine) Supplements Review  *
19.Toprol XL vs. Generic Metoprolol Succinate Extended-release (ER) Tablets Review  *
20.Vitamin A Supplements Review, Including Beta-Carotene and Cod Liver Oil  *
21.Chia Seed Review  *
22.Plant-Based Milks (Almond, Cashew, Coconut, Flax, Hemp, Macademia, Oat, Pea, and Soy)  *
23.Ashwagandha Supplements Review  *
24.Astaxanthin Supplements Review  *
25.Black Currant Oil, Borage Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Flaxseed Oil, and Hemp Oil Supplements Review: Sources of ALA and GLA (Omega-3 and -6 Fatty Acids)  *
26.Bone Broth Review  *
27.Dark Chocolates, Cocoa & Cacao Powders, Nibs, and Supplements Review -- Sources of Flavanols  *
28.Garcinia Cambogia (HCA) Supplements Review  *
29.Ginkgo (Ginkgo Biloba) Supplements Review  *
30.Joint Health Supplements Review (Glucosamine, Chondroitin, MSM and Boswellia)  *
31.Kelp Supplements Review  *
32.L-Arginine Supplements Review  *
33.Lycopene Supplements Review  *
34.Menopause Supplements Review (Soy and Red Clover Isoflavones, Black Cohosh) and Progesterone Creams  *
35.Nattokinase Supplements Review  *
36.Taurine Supplements Review for People, Dogs, and Cats  *
37.Valerian Supplements Review  *
38.Vision Supplements Review (with Lutein and Zeaxanthin)  *
39.Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review  *
40.Fish Oil and Omega-3 and -7 Supplements Review (Including Krill, Algae, Calamari, and Sea Buckthorn)  *
41.Green Tea Review: Supplements, Brewable, Matcha, and Bottled  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Magnesium
2.Nitrofurantoin
3.Potassium-Sparing Diuretics
4.Loop Diuretics
5.Thiazide Diuretics
6.Mitral Valve Prolapse
7.Antacids
8.Digoxin
9.Aminoglycosides
10.Angina
... More Results


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.How do I choose the best magnesium supplement?
2.What are the side effects of magnesium supplements?
3.How much magnesium from supplements is too much?
4.Which is the best form of magnesium to take - one that contains the most magnesium and is best absorbed?
5.What is the benefit of magnesium orotate compared to other forms of magnesium?
6.Help! How do I know how much magnesium I am actually getting from my supplement? The label says it contains 500 mg of magnesium "as magnesium citrate" -- but how much of that is magnesium and how much is citrate?
7.Is it true that magnesium bisglycinate from BioSchwartz is less likely to cause a laxative effect than other forms of magnesium?
8.Is there an accurate test for magnesium deficiency?
9.I started taking a magnesium supplement (400 mg from magnesium oxide) and developed diarrhea. Might there a problem with the supplement?
10.Will an Epsom salt bath increase magnesium levels in my body like a supplement?
11.Does magnesium help with depression?
12.Can magnesium supplements reduce heart palpitations or PVCs?
13.Do magnesium supplements, like Magtein, help memory or protect against Alzheimer's disease?
14.Do magnesium creams, sprays and oils help with muscle pain and cramps? How about supplements?
15.Are there drug interactions with magnesium supplements?
16.I've read that magnesium deficiency is rare but also that most people don't get enough magnesium. How can these both be true?
17.Some websites are highly critical of magnesium stearate, which is in many supplements. Is this substance toxic and should I avoid it?
18.Is it true that I should not keep magnesium supplements in a daily pill pack mixed with other supplements and medicines?
19.Which supplements can help with arthritis?  (in Comments)
20.How can the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) for magnesium be higher than the Upper Tolerable Intake Level (UL)? That is, how can an amount which is healthful also put you at risk for harm?
21.Are supplements with amino acid chelated minerals better than those with other forms of minerals?
22.Which supplements can cause diarrhea?
23.Does taking a laxative interfere with the absorption of vitamins or minerals?
24.How can I easily compare the ingredients in supplements?
25.Is it important to take calcium and magnesium together?
26.Which supplements can help lower cholesterol and keep my heart healthy? Are there any to avoid?
27.Are liquid vitamins better than pills?
28.Which vitamins and minerals should be taken together or separately?
29.When is the best time of day to take a multivitamin?
30.I am having trouble sleeping. I regularly take a multivitamin, fish oil, magnesium, calcium, vitamins D and K, and a protein supplement. I also take a low-dose blood pressure medication. Could any of these supplements be causing my insomnia?
31.Are there any supplements I should avoid when taking an antibiotic? Are there any that may be helpful?
32.I've read that the best form of vitamin E is d-alpha tocopheryl succinate (it's recommended in the paleo diet, for example), but I don't see that listed on product labels. How can I find it?  (in Comments)
33.Tablets I purchased are becoming "crumbly" after a few weeks and are easy to break. Is there a problem with this supplement?
34.I take omeprazole (Prilosec), a proton pump inhibitor, to reduce stomach acid. Are there supplements I should avoid, or be taking, due to this drug?
35.Do any supplements help prevent or treat osteoporosis?
36.Can vitamin supplements strengthen brittle nails?
37.Do any supplements help for restless legs syndrome?
38.I've read that fish oil supplements may help with gout, but I've also been told to avoid oily fish because it can increase my uric acid levels. Are fish oil supplements safe for me to take and do they really help with gout?  (in Comments)
39.Is it safer to get calcium from foods than from supplements? How about from calcium-fortified orange juice and non-dairy milks?  (in Comments)
40.I'm interested in using Himalayan salt. What are the health benefits with it and other specialty salts? Are there contaminants in these salts?
41.Which supplements reduce the risk of stroke? Which increase the risk of stroke?
42.A blood test showed my vitamin D level is low. How do I know how much vitamin D to take?  (in Comments)
43.A few weeks after starting acetyl-L-carnitine, I became so sluggish I could hardly function. Could this be due to the supplement?  (in Comments)
44.A representative in a store selling vitamins and supplements advised me that it was better to use a powdered product that you mix with liquid than to take a pill, because the vitamins will be more completely absorbed. Is that true?  (in Comments)
45.Do any supplements really help with brain function, like memory and cognition?
46.I have low blood pressure. Are there any supplements I should avoid?
47.I take a number of supplements and I think they are making my acid reflux worse. Which supplements could be causing my stomach irritation, and what can I do about it?
48.If I buy NAC as a loose powder in a large bag, as opposed to in tablet form, will it spoil? I've heard it can spoil or degrade into a harmful by-product.  (in Comments)
49.Which supplements can help treat constipation?
50.Which supplements help with Raynaud's phenomenon?  (in Comments)
51.Can drinking coffee can prevent gallstones? Can supplements help?
52.Do any supplements help for ulcerative colitis?
53.Do any supplements help reduce the symptoms of premenstrual syndrome (PMS)?
54.Do any supplements help with migraines?
55.When taking a statin drug like Lipitor or Crestor, are there supplements I should avoid or take?
56.Which supplements can help lower or control my blood sugar?
57.Which supplements should be taken with food?
58.Which supplements help to improve energy and decrease fatigue?
59.Are plant-based calcium supplements, like AlgaeCal, better than regular calcium supplements?
60.Do any supplements help for irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)?
61.I was surprised when my doctor told me to stop taking supplements because my kidney function was low. But after stopping the supplements, my kidney function returned to normal. Can taking a lot of supplements really damage the kidneys?
62.Do any supplements help with gum disease or periodontitis?  (in Comments)
63.How do the Beyond Burger, the Impossible Burger, and a beef burger compare in terms of vitamins and minerals, and which is best?
64.I take levothyroxine (Synthroid), a thyroid hormone to treat hypothyroidism. Are there supplements I should avoid, or be taking, due to this drug?
65.Sometimes my powdered supplements get clumpy. Should I be concerned?
66.Which dietary supplements and health foods contain high levels of lead?
67.Which supplements can help with indigestion and/or heartburn?
68.Is it better to get vitamins from foods or supplements, and are natural vitamins better than synthetic vitamins?
69.What are natural remedies for coronavirus (COVID-19)? Do supplements like zinc, vitamin C, or herbals work?
70.Which supplements can help me sleep?
71.Is there a multivitamin that contains only the recommended daily vitamins and minerals? Most that I have looked at contain more.
72.I read that turmeric may be a GI irritant. I have GI problems and wonder if I should avoid turmeric and curcumin?  (in Comments)
73.Is it possible to take too much vitamin C?  (in Comments)
74.What are the side effects of melatonin supplements?  (in Comments)
75.Are enteric coated supplements better than non-enteric coated ones?
76.Which supplements are important after bariatric surgery (i.e., weight loss or stomach-reducing surgery)? Are there any I should avoid?
77.Are there any supplements I should avoid when taking aspirin or ibuprofen?  (in Comments)
78.Does Restore (Bionic Sciences LLC) really improve gut health? What is in Restore?
79.What is shilajit? Does it have any proven health benefits, and is heavy metal contamination a concern?
80.Can taking CoQ10 affect my thyroid levels or interact with my thyroid medication?
81.I asked the distributor of my cacao powder how it checks for metals. They say they do "foreign material detection" to capture "metal fragments." Is this adequate for checking cacao and cocoa for heavy metals, like cadmium, which you've found in other products?  (in Comments)
82.How much should I expect to pay for supplements? Are higher-priced supplements any better than low-priced brands?
83.Are there negative interactions between the following supplements I take twice each day, as well as 60 mg of beta-sitosterol with dinner: Vitamin C (500 mg), CoQ10 (100 mg), grape seed extract (100 mg), fish oil (500 mg), vitamin D3/calcium/magnesium/zinc (200 IU/333 mg/113 mg/5mg)?
84.Does Carditone work to lower blood pressure?
85.Can beta-sitosterol cause erectile dysfunction or low libido? Are there any other side effects?
86.Can lemon juice, lemonade, or other juices reduce my chances of getting kidney stones?
87.Can beetroot juice or supplements help lower my blood pressure?
88.Do vitamin patches, such as for B12 or multivitamins, really work? How about those from PatchMD?
89.What is Prelief? Does it really help for heartburn and/or bladder pain from acidic foods?
90.What are the health benefits of avocado oil? Is it healthier than olive oil? Which avocado oils are best?


Clinical Updates Found:
2020 Magnesium Helps Vitamin D (08/02/2020)
Magnesium Helps Vitamin D
Magnesium can boost blood levels of an important form of vitamin D, according to a recent study. For details on how much magnesium to take and when, see the Magnesium affects vitamin D levels section of the Vitamin D Supplements Review. To find a good magnesium supplement, see our Top Picks for magnesium.
 Vitamin D for COVID-19 Patients (06/02/2020)
Vitamin D for COVID-19 Patients
A study evaluated the effects of giving vitamin D, magnesium, and vitamin B12 to COVID-19 patients. See the results in the COVID-19 section of the Vitamin D Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for vitamin D.
 Magnesium Can Boost Cognition (04/19/2020)
Magnesium Can Boost Cognition
A clinical study has shown that cognitive function can be improved by as much as 9% in some people just by supplementing with magnesium. Get the details and find out if magnesium might help you in the What It Does section of the Magnesium Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for magnesium.
 When Magnesium Doesn't Seem to Help (01/28/2020)
When Magnesium Doesn't Seem to Help
Getting the recommended amount of magnesium has been associated with bone benefits. However, there was an increased risk of hip fracture among people who used a particular form of magnesium, according to a recent analysis. Get the details in the What It Does section of the Magnesium Supplements Review. Also see our Top Pick for magnesium.
 Magnesium for Leg Cramps? (01/14/2020)
Magnesium for Leg Cramps?
Magnesium if often touted for treating leg cramps. Does it really work? See what studies have shown, including a recent study among pregnant women, in the What It Does section of the Magnesium Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for magnesium.
2019 Heart Disease & Magnesium (12/14/2019)
Heart Disease & Magnesium
Women with the lowest daily intakes of magnesium were found to have the highest risk of fatal coronary heart disease in a recent study, which is consistent with other studies of magnesium and heart health. See the What It Does section of the Magnesium Supplements Review for details about this association. Also see our Top Picks among magnesium supplements.
 Magnesium-L-Threonate for Memory? (11/23/2019)
Magnesium-L-Threonate for Memory?
What is the evidence that a special form of magnesium helps people with memory and concentration impairment? Find out in the Dementia and cognition section of the Magnesium Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among magnesium supplements.
 Magnesium for Memory (11/19/2019)
Magnesium for Memory
There is growing evidence that getting the right amount of magnesium reduces the risk of developing cognitive decline and dementia. For details, including results of a new study, see the Dementia and cognition section of the Magnesium Supplements Review. Also see our Top Pick among magnesium supplements.
 Does Magnesium Reduce Exercise Soreness? (10/22/2019)
Does Magnesium Reduce Exercise Soreness?
Can taking magnesium reduce muscle soreness after exercise? See what a new study found in the What It Does section of the Magnesium Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for magnesium supplements.
 Don't Take Minerals With Certain Supplements (01/15/2019)
Don't Take Minerals With Certain Supplements
Taking minerals like calcium and magnesium can dramatically reduce the absorption of carotenoids like lycopene, beta carotene, and astaxanthin. Get the details in the Concerns and Cautions section of the Lycopene Supplements Review.
2018 Magnesium for Optimal Vitamin D Level (12/15/2018)
Magnesium for Optimal Vitamin D Level
Magnesium intake significantly affects levels of active vitamin D in the blood, according to a new study. This helps keep vitamin D in an optimal range and is another reason to get sufficient magnesium – which many people don't. For details, see the new information in the Vitamin D Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for vitamin D and magnesium supplements).
 Magnesium & Metabolic Syndrome (06/09/2018)
Magnesium & Metabolic Syndrome
A study shows that magnesium can significantly help some people suffering from metabolic syndrome (i.e., high blood sugar, high blood pressure, and related symptoms). Get the details in the What It Does section of the Magnesium Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among magnesium supplements.
 Magnesium for Depression? (06/02/2018)
Magnesium for Depression?
Magnesium may help some people with depression according to a recent placebo-controlled study. Learn more in the What It Does section of the Magnesium Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for magnesium.
2017 Reducing Dementia With Magnesium? (10/14/2017)
Reducing Dementia With Magnesium?
In a recently published study, investigators looked to see if taking a magnesium supplement reduces the risk of dementia. See what they found in the "What It Does" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review >>
 Caution When Taking Epsom Salt (10/03/2017)
Caution When Taking Epsom Salt
A case of liver injury was recently reported in a man taking a large daily dose of Epsom salt (magnesium sulfate). Get the details, plus more about safety issues with magnesium supplements in the "Concerns and Cautions" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review >>
 Magnesium and Dementia (09/23/2017)
Magnesium and Dementia
A recent study found an association between magnesium levels in the blood and the risk of developing dementia. See the details in the "What It Does" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review >>
 Magnesium Cream? (08/06/2017)
Magnesium Cream?
Is rubbing a cream into your skin a good way to get magnesium? We reviewed several studies of magnesium creams or sprays, including one just recently published. See what we found in the "What It Does" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review -- which includes our Top Picks among magnesium supplements.
 Magnesium Lowers Risk of Fracture (07/08/2017)
Magnesium Lowers Risk of Fracture
Higher intake of magnesium from the diet and supplements was found to significantly reduce the risk of fractures in a study of older men and women. Details are in the "What It Does" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review, which includes our Top Picks among products.
 Magnesium for Leg Cramps? (02/28/2017)
Magnesium for Leg Cramps?
Magnesium supplements are sometimes promoted for leg cramps. However, a recent study among older men and women found that taking a particular form of magnesium at bedtime did not reduce nighttime leg cramps. Get the details about the study, plus other uses of magnesium, in the "What It Does" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review (which includes our tests of products) >>
 Many Benefits of Magnesium (02/04/2017)
Many Benefits of Magnesium
An analysis of studies involving more than one million people found that rates of stroke, heart failure, type 2 diabetes, and death were lower when intakes of magnesium were higher. For details see the "What It Does" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review (which includes our tests of products) >>
2016 Magnesium and Heart Disease (07/16/2016)
Magnesium and Heart Disease
People with lower blood levels of magnesium were 36% more likely to die from heart disease than those with moderate levels according to a new, long-term study. For more details, see the "What It Does" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review >>
 Magnesium Lowers Blood Pressure (07/13/2016)
Magnesium Lowers Blood Pressure
Magnesium supplementation may help to lower blood pressure, but only in those who are deficient in the mineral, according to a new analysis. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Magnesium Supplements Review >>
2015 Magnesium Helps in Prediabetes (07/29/2015)
Magnesium Helps in Prediabetes
A recent study in people with prediabetes who were deficient in magnesium showed that a daily dose of magnesium significantly improved their glucose status. Details, along with our recent tests of magnesium supplements, are found in the Magnesium Supplements Review »
2014 Magnesium Improves Women's Physical Performance (07/23/2014)
Magnesium Improves Women's Physical Performance
A new study found that daily intake of a magnesium supplement significantly improved physical performance among older women compared to those given a placebo. Interestingly, none of the women in the study were deficient in magnesium based on blood tests. Get the details, including the dose and type of magnesium supplement used, as well as our quality ratings of magnesium supplements, in the updated Magnesium Supplements Review >> 
 Vitamin D & Calcium for Diabetes Due to Pregnancy (07/12/2014)
Vitamin D & Calcium for Diabetes Due to Pregnancy
A new study found supplementation with a combination of vitamin D and calcium improved fasting blood sugar levels, serum insulin levels, and insulin sensitivity in women with gestational (pregnancy-related) diabetes. For more details, including dosage, as well as our tests and comparisons of vitamin D and calcium supplements, see the update to the Vitamin D Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Vitamin K, Magnesium) >>   
 Vitamin D May Help Lower Blood Pressure (06/24/2014)
Vitamin D May Help Lower Blood Pressure
A recent study in people with mild to moderate high blood pressure showed that taking a vitamin D supplement helped lower blood pressure. Subjects in the study were already taking a calcium channel blocker (nifedipine), but taking vitamin D reduced blood pressure by several additional points. For details, including the dose of vitamin D used, as well as our tests of vitamin D supplements which can provide this dose, see the updated Vitamin D Supplements Review (Including Calcium, Vitamin K, and Magnesium) >>    
 Too Much Calcium for Some? (06/20/2014)
Too Much Calcium for Some?
A new study found that supplementing with even moderate amounts of calcium may cause abnormally high calcium levels in the urine (a risk factor for kidney stones) of some postmenopausal women, even when total calcium intake doesn't exceed the recommended daily allowance. Get the details in the update to the Calcium Supplements Review (Including Vitamin D, Vitamin K, and Magnesium) >>   
2013 Magnesium and Bone Health (05/12/2013)
Magnesium and Bone Health
New research shows why getting adequate magnesium is important for bones -- but this doesn't mean that you must take a magnesium-containing supplement. Get more information in our updated Magnesium and Calcium-Magnesium Supplements Review >>
2012 Less Stroke With More Magnesium (02/26/2012)
Less Stroke With More Magnesium
Slightly higher intake of magnesium from the diet was associated with an 8% lower risk of stroke, based on an analysis of several studies. This doesn’t necessarily mean you should get more magnesium from supplements, though. For details, see the updated information in the Magnesium Supplement ReviewMore >>
2011 Women-Vitamin Study - Key Points (10/12/2011)
Women-Vitamin Study - Key Points
You may have heard this week about a new study which found a higher risk of death among women who used certain supplements. It’s a complicated study, but we've summarized some key findings. Bear in mind that only white women ages 55 to 69 were enrolled in the study and they were followed for 22 years.

Those taking calcium supplements had a 3.8% reduced risk of death. The calcium benefit ended, however, when taking more than 900 mg per day from supplements. It's worth noting that experts suggest many older women who take calcium supplements may not need to -- see the Calcium Supplement Review for more.

The mineral most strongly associated with an increased risk of death was iron, which showed a risk increase of 3.9% -- and the risk increased as the dose increased, particularly over 50 mg per day. However, the study grouped dosages of under 50 mg together, making it hard to determine the risk of low dosages of iron, such as those in many multivitamins. However, there is very little reason why a postmenopausal woman should be taking iron -- see the Iron Supplement Review for more.

Although not as statistically meaningful, other supplements were associated with the following increases in the risk of death during the study: multivitamins (2.4%), vitamin B6 (4.1%), folic acid (5.9%), magnesium (3.6%), zinc (3.0%), and copper (18.0%). An abstract of the study is online.

The bottom line: Don't take a supplement you don't need. If you want to know how much of each vitamin and mineral you need from your total diet and how much is too much, see our chart at www.consumerlab.com/RDAs.
 Antacids and Magnesium -- Be Careful! (03/09/2011)
Antacids and Magnesium -- Be Careful!
There is a new alert that long-term use (over a year) of proton pump inhibitors can cause low magnesium levels. Magnesium supplements can usually help. See the Magnesium Product Review for details including symptoms of magnesium deficiency and a list of affected products. More >>
 Insulin Sensitivity and Magnesium (01/11/2011)
Insulin Sensitivity and Magnesium
A recent study found that magnesium supplementation improved fasting glucose levels in insulin insensitive, obese people. While a similar effect has been seen in magnesium deficient people, the new study found benefit in people who had normal magnesium levels. The research suggests that magnesium may help prevent the onset of type 2 diabetes in some people. See the Magnesium Supplements Review for the type and dose of magnesium used and more >>


Recent Recalls and Warnings Found:
1.FTC Warns 50 More Companies for Coronavirus Claims (05/23/2020)
2.FDA Warns Sellers of CBD, Kratom, Vitamin C, and More for Coronavirus Claims (05/19/2020)
3.Massive Recall of Supplements Sold by Over 800 Brands (01/23/2020)
4.Brain Supplement Claims to Treat Brain Injuries, Alzheimer's Are Deceptive, Says FTC (11/02/2019)
5.Publisher Sued for Promoting "Phony Diabetes Cure" (10/29/2019)
6.FDA Warns Seller of Magnesium and CBD (07/16/2019)
7.Dangerous Levels of Lead and Nickel Found in Kratom Products (04/09/2019)
8.Maker of Vitamin B12 and Multimineral Supplements Warned by FDA (07/18/2018)
9.FDA Warns Seller of Milk Thistle, Chromium, Joint Supplements & More for Manufacturing Violations (03/13/2018)
10.Weight Loss and Cleanse Supplements Contain Adulterated and Improperly Labeled Ingredients, FDA Warns (11/12/2017)

Archived Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.FDA Warns Dr. Carolyn Dean of Drug Claims Made for Magnesium, Calcium & Other Mineral Supplements (07/11/2017)
2.Life Extension Warned for Drug Claims (02/14/2017)
3.Maker of Prescription Multi to Pay $15.5 Million to Settle Lawsuit Over Ingredient Claim (09/02/2016)
4.Vitacost Settles Magnesium Supplement Lawsuit (06/11/2016)
5.FDA Warns Maker of Fruit Energy Drinks for Drug Claims (06/11/2015)
6.Seller of Magnesium, Calcium, Silver and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (05/23/2015)
7.Maker of Magnesium, Calcium, Zinc, B Vitamins and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (03/10/2015)
8.Maker of Magnesium and Potassium Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations (01/17/2015)
9.Seller of Diabetes, Prostate Supplements and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (11/21/2014)
10.Seller of Cholesterol, Arthritis Supplements and More Warned for Drug Claims (11/06/2014)
11.Seller of Vitamin C, Iron and Detox Supplements Warned for Violations, Drug Claims (10/30/2014)
12.Seller of Multivitamin Warned for Drug Claims (10/10/2014)
13.Maker of Joint and Weight Products Warned for Hidden Drugs, Manufacturing Violations (09/23/2014)
14.Seller of "Nerve", "Cleanse" and Probiotic Supplements Warned for Drug Claims (09/05/2014)
15.Seller of Mineral and Joint Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (08/06/2014)
16.Maker of Mood, Smoking Cessation Supplements and More Warned for Violations, Drug Claims (05/14/2014)
17.Seller of Aloe, Thyroid and Other Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (04/16/2014)
18.Seller of Aloe and Vitamin C Supplements Warned for Manufacturing Violations (03/05/2014)
19.Seller of Sexual Enhancement Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations (02/19/2014)
20."Diuretic" Weight Loss Supplement Recalled (11/30/2013)
21.Seller of Vision Supplement Warned For Drug Claims (07/05/2013)
22.FDA Warns Consumers Of Three More Sexual Enhancement Supplements Containing Undeclared Drugs (05/07/2013)
23.Cardio, Energy and Sexual Enhancement Supplement Distributor Warned For Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (04/18/2013)
24.Probiotic Recalled Due To Undeclared Soy (03/21/2013)
25.Maker of Liquid Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (03/15/2013)
26.FDA Warns Maker of Weight Loss and Whey Protein Supplements For Manufacturing Violations and Misbranding (02/13/2013)
27.Manufacturer of Heart, Multivitamin, Cranberry, and Longevity Supplements Warned For Adulteration and Drug Claims (02/13/2013)
28.Seller of Blood Sugar, Depression and Sleep Supplements Warned For Making Drug Claims (12/26/2012)
29.Maker of Vitamin C, Aloe and Sexual Enhancement Supplements Warned for Drug Claims and Misbranding (11/14/2012)
30.Manufacturer of Prostate, Inflammation and Cholesterol Supplements Warned For Drug Claims (11/02/2012)
31.Maker of Eye Health Supplements Warned for Drug Claims (09/26/2012)
32.Men’s Sexual Enhancement Supplement Containing Prescription Drug Recalled (09/18/2012)
33.Supplement Company Warned For Medical Claims and Misbranding Of Omega-3, CoQ10, Noni Juice And More (08/30/2012)
34.Makers of Mineral Water Containing Lithium Warned (08/09/2012)
35.FDA Warns Doctor Promoting Own Supplements Online as Treatments (05/07/2012)
36.FDA Warns Several Supplement Manufacturers Not Following Good Manufacturing Practices (09/08/2011)
37.Recall of Calcium & Magnesium Softgels Containing Excessive and Potentially Toxic Amounts of Vitamin D (06/22/2011)


News Releases Found:
2020 Collagen and Magnesium Rise in Popularity, as Fish Oil and Curcumin Dip in Latest ConsumerLab Survey of Supplement Users (02/29/2020)
2019 Best Magnesium Supplements Revealed by ConsumerLab (11/12/2019)
 Best Coconut Water? ConsumerLab Tests Popular Products, Reveals Top Pick (04/25/2019)
 CBD and Collagen Rise in Popularity, as Probiotics and Coconut Oil Dip in Latest ConsumerLab Survey of Supplement Users (02/24/2019)
2018 Magnesium, Curcumin, and Apple Cider Vinegar Rise in Popularity, While Probiotics Dip and Calcium Continues to Decline in Latest ConsumerLab.com Survey of Supplement Users (02/24/2018)
2017 Gummies Are Most Likely to Fail Testing in Review of Multivitamins -- Best and Worst Multivitamins Identified by ConsumerLab Testing (11/01/2017)
 Which Magnesium Is Best? ConsumerLab.com Tests Popular Brands and Reveals Its Top Pick (06/21/2017)
 Best Vitamin K Supplement? ConsumerLab.com Tests Popular Products and Reveals Its Top Picks (06/01/2017)
 ConsumerLab.com Tests Reveal the Best Calcium Supplements (05/26/2017)
 Best Vitamin D? ConsumerLab.com Tests Popular Vitamin D Supplements and Reveals Its Top Picks (05/17/2017)
 Vitamin D Supplements Maintain Top Spot in Popularity, as Probiotics Surpass Multivitamins to #4 Behind Fish Oil and CoQ10 in Latest ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/24/2017)
2016 Best CoQ10? ConsumerLab.com Tests Popular CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements and Reveals Its Top Picks (12/21/2016)
 ConsumerLab.com Finds Arsenic in Testing of Potassium Supplements -- Safer Choices Identified. Many Americans May Need More Potassium (11/15/2016)
 ConsumerLab.com Helps Consumers Make Sense of the FDA's Updated Daily Values (DV) for Vitamins and Minerals (07/27/2016)
 Vitamin D Supplements Jump to Top Spot in Popularity, Surpassing Fish Oil, as Probiotics Rise to #5 Spot Behind CoQ10 and Multivitamins in ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/24/2016)
 Problems Found with 32% of Multivitamin/Multimineral Supplements -- ConsumerLab.com Identifies Good Choices for Men, Women, and Children (01/12/2016)
2015 ConsumerLab.com Tests Reveal Best and Worst Magnesium Supplements (06/10/2015)
 ConsumerLab.com's Tests of Digestive Enzyme Supplements Reveal What Labels Don't (05/05/2015)
 Best Supplements for Bone Health? ConsumerLab.com Finds Products with Multiple Ingredients More Likely to Contain Wrong Amounts (04/28/2015)
 CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Vary in Quality, as Well as Dose, Absorption, and Price According to ConsumerLab.com (03/17/2015)
 Use of Magnesium and Probiotics Rise, Multivitamins and Weight Loss Supplements Fall, According to ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/28/2015)
2014 Calcium, Vitamin C, and Fish Oil Supplements Drop in Use, Probiotics Rise According to ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/13/2014)
2013 Labels on Potassium Supplements May Confuse, But Product Quality is High According to ConsumerLab.com (08/21/2013)
 ConsumerLab.com Reports Problems with Some Vitamin D and Calcium Supplements -- Wrong Amounts of Vitamin D, Pills Which Don’t Break Apart, and Lead Contamination Found (02/11/2013)
 Use of CoQ10, Digestive Enzymes, Probiotics and B Vitamins on the Rise According to ConsumerLab.com Survey (01/31/2013)
2012 ConsumerLab.com Identifies Best and Worst Magnesium Supplements Based on Tests and Comparisons (05/30/2012)
2011 Some coconut waters don't deliver on promises according to ConsumerLab.com (08/04/2011)
 Problems discovered with eight vitamin D supplements in study by ConsumerLab.com -- Incorrect amounts of vitamins, lead contamination, and labeling infractions identified. (04/26/2011)
 ConsumerLab.com evaluates quality of potassium supplements and identifies those offering best value (01/25/2011)
2009 Review of Magnesium Supplements by ConsumerLab.com Shows One-Quarter Fail Quality Tests (05/19/2009)
 40% of Green Tea and Selenium Products Fail ConsumerLab.com Review of Cancer-Prevention Supplements; Lycopene Supplements Pass (04/28/2009)
 ConsumerLab.com Warns of Problems with Multivitamins and Vitamin Water -- Defects Found in Over 30% of Supplements Selected for Testing; Several Popular Children's Multis Exceed Tolerable Limits (03/31/2009)
2007 Recently tested magnesium supplements free of lead, but one product missing most of its ingredient according to ConsumerLab.com — First Major Product Review of Potential "Life-Extending" Ingredient (10/30/2007)
 ConsumerLab.com finds generic antidepressant behaves differently from original drug. May explain complaints by patients. — Generic drug equality questioned (10/12/2007)
 Tests of B-vitamins by ConsumerLab.com finds several short on folic acid — New report covers B-complexes, thiamin, niacin, B-6, B-12, biotin and folic acid supplements (09/10/2007)
 ConsumerLab tests products in booming nutrition drink market — most deliver what's promised but extra cholesterol found in some — New report covers drinks and powders for endurance/recovery, body building, meal-replacement and dieting (08/20/2007)
 Consumers warned of problems with multivitamins — ConsumerLab.com uncovers defects in over half of products tested (01/19/2007)
2005 Two magnesium supplements fail testing due to lead contamination. Nineteen others pass. Report now available. (06/15/2005)
 ConsumerLab.com finds quality of most nutrition powders and drinks high, but identifies five protein powders with excess sodium or cholesterol — Report Now Available Online (04/27/2005)
 ConsumerLab.com finds most B-vitamins of high quality but three lacking in ingredients — Test Results for 41 Products Reported Along with Information on Use (03/30/2005)
 ConsumerLab.com reports on vitamin C supplements — Test Results for 29 Products Reported Along with Information on Use (03/14/2005)
2002 ConsumerLab.com finds lead contamination remains a problem for certain mineral supplements — Lead found in iron, magnesium and, most recently, potassium pills (07/16/2002)
 Pharmavite dietary supplements receive ConsumerLab.com approval — Vitamin E, SAM-e, St. John's Wort, Ginkgo and others merit approved quality products ranking (07/10/2002)
 ConsumerLab.com lists magnesium products that passed testing — Some products fail due to excess magnesium and lead contamination (05/15/2002)
 ConsumerLab.com finds "Breast Enhancement" pills lack evidence of efficacy (04/16/2002)
 More than one in five weight loss, slimming and/or diabetes supplements fail ConsumerLab.com evaluation — Problems found in chromium and pyruvate products; CLA products fine (04/03/2002)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW

SPECIAL
Coronavirus Information Center
Coronavirus Information Center
Answers to Critical Questions About COVID-19.



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS

VISIT OUR PARTNERS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Reviews
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
Recommended Intakes
Where to Buy Products
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Quality Certification Program
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2020 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.