SEARCH RESULTS for "Turmeric"

Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Reviewed by ConsumerLab.com

Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review

Trying to find the best turmeric or curcumin supplement or spice? ConsumerLab tested many popular products on the market. Find out which turmeric and curcumin supplements and spices are best and our Top Picks. We found major differences among brands.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Resveratrol Supplements Review (Grape, Red Wine, and Polygonum Sources)  *
2.Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplements Review  *
3.Breast Enhancement Supplements Review Article  *
4.Echinacea Supplements Review  *
5.Ginger Supplements & Ales Review  *
6.Fish Oil and Omega-3 and -7 Supplements Review (Including Krill, Algae, Calamari, and Sea Buckthorn)  *
7.Joint Health Supplements Review (Glucosamine, Chondroitin, MSM and Boswellia)
8.Prostate Supplements Review (Saw Palmetto and Beta-Sitosterol)  *
9.Inactive Ingredients / Excipients in Supplements  *
10.Ashwagandha Supplements Review  *
11.Ginkgo (Ginkgo Biloba) Supplements Review  *
12.Greens and Whole Food Powders and Capsules  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Uveitis
2.Turmeric
3.Leukoplakia
4.Sandalwood
5.Vitiligo
6.Functional Foods Index
7.Functional Foods
8.Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
9.Osteoarthritis
10.Ayurveda
... More Results


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.How does turmeric spice compare to curcumin (turmeric extract) in supplements? I sprinkle it on my foods and wonder if that's equivalent to taking a supplement.
2.What are the effects of curcumin on the liver?
3.I recently read that turmeric is only effective if it is combined with black pepper. Is this true?
4.I take 1000 mg of a high-absorption curcumin extract. It seems to be working, but would it be safe to take a larger dose?
5.How does regular black pepper compare with black pepper extract used in supplements? Will sprinkling it on food with turmeric help increase the bioavailability of curcumin compounds from turmeric?
6.How should curcumin dose be adjusted if using formulations with enhanced bioavailability such as Meriva, BCM-95, CurcuWin, Theracurmin, Bioperine, and C3?
7.What are the side effects of curcumin and turmeric?
8.Are there drug interactions with curcumin or turmeric?
9.I read that turmeric may be a GI irritant. I have GI problems and wonder if I should avoid turmeric and curcumin?
10.What is the best way to take curcumin? Is it better to take it all at once or in divided doses?
11.I use a brand of curcumin and the most recent bottle contained capsules a few shades lighter than what I am accustomed to taking. Is this color change an issue to be concerned about?
12.There are many reports of lead contamination in turmeric spice. How can I make sure I'm not getting lead in my turmeric supplement or spice?
13.Can taking curcumin cause dry eye?
14.Do turmeric and curcumin supplements contain significant amounts of oxalates? Can this increase my risk of kidney stones?
15.Is it safe to take Bioperine (which contains piperine from black pepper)?
16.Can turmeric or curcumin with black pepper extract cause constipation? I had this problem when taking a curcumin formula with piperine, but it resolved when I switched to a curcumin supplement without this added ingredient.
17.Is it safe to take curcumin or turmeric supplements for a long period of time?
18.Is it true that taking turmeric/curcumin with food can reduce iron absorption from food?
19.I heard that Theracurmin, a form of curcumin, was shown to help with memory, but it's expensive. Does Theracurmin really improve memory and is it worth it?
20.What is phytosomal curcumin? Does it have better absorption than other curcumin formulations?
21.Can curcumin help prevent or improve symptoms of Alzheimer's disease?
22.Does turmeric/curcumin help for osteoarthritis in dogs and cats? Is it safe?
23.Does taking curcumin and boswellia together increase their individual anti-inflammatory effects?
24.I take ubiquinol to replenish CoQ10 depleted by my statin. I also take curcumin (from turmeric). Since they both manage free radicals, do I need to take the curcumin?
25.I've heard that curcumin is a MAO inhibitor. Is this true, and does that mean it is not safe to take if you eat amine-rich foods like cheese and dark chocolate?
26.Is Theracurmin better absorbed than other curcumin formulas - and can it really help lower my blood pressure?
27.Which dietary supplements and health foods contain high levels of lead?
28.What supplements should I stop taking before surgery?
29.Do any supplements help with gum disease or periodontitis?  (in Comments)
30.Have you evaluated a multivitamin by Vita Logic called Daily Extra?
31.After taking a curcumin supplement, I started getting chronic diarrhea which went away when I stopped taking it. Can curcumin supplements cause diarrhea?
32.Are there supplements I should avoid when taking apixaban (Eliquis) or similar blood thinner drugs?
33.Which supplements should be taken with food?
34.Are there any supplements I should avoid when taking aspirin or ibuprofen?  (in Comments)
35.Do any supplements help for irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)?
36.I was surprised when my doctor told me to stop taking supplements because my kidney function was low. But after stopping the supplements, my kidney function returned to normal. Can taking a lot of supplements really damage the kidneys?
37.I take warfarin (Coumadin), an anticoagulant drug. Are there supplements I should avoid, or be taking, due to this drug?
38.I've heard that grapefruit juice can interact with medications because it inhibits an enzyme that breaks down drugs in the body. Do any supplements interact the same way with drugs?
39.I've heard that soaking dried beans for 24 hours reduces the phytate level, allowing for greater access to nutrients. Is this true?
40.Is Rhodiola rosea effective for depression and does it have other uses? Will ConsumerLab.com be testing these supplements?
41.Which supplements can help with indigestion and/or heartburn?
42.Which supplements can help lower or control my blood sugar?
43.Can cocoa and chocolate cause kidney stones?
44.I've heard it's best to take fat-soluble supplements, like CoQ10, curcumin, and vitamin D, with fats or oils to increase absorption. Would taking them with a fish oil capsule be enough?
45.What is Protandim and does it really work?
46.With herbal supplements, what is the difference between root powder and root extract? Does it matter?
47.How are you staying healthy during the coronavirus pandemic?  (in Comments)
48.I do moderate exercise for about an hour a few times a week. Which supplements might help me?
49.To lower my cholesterol, I am taking a phytosterol supplement. Will taking other supplements, like red yeast rice or fish oil, help lower my cholesterol even further?
50.What are natural remedies for coronavirus (COVID-19)? Do supplements like zinc, vitamin C, or herbals work?  (in Comments)
51.Do magnesium creams, sprays and oils help with muscle pain and cramps? How about supplements?
52.Are supplements which claim increased absorption or improved bioavailability telling the truth? Is it worth paying more for these? Are there concerns?
53.Which supplements are best for seasonal allergies?
54.Do any supplements help for ulcerative colitis?
55.Do any supplements really help with brain function, like memory and cognition?
56.I take a number of supplements and I think they are making my acid reflux worse. Which supplements could be causing my stomach irritation, and what can I do about it?
57.What are the health benefits of tart cherry juice?  (in Comments)
58.Which supplements can cause diarrhea?
59.Do any supplements help with nerve pain, like sciatica or diabetic neuropathy?
60.What are the best supplements for depression and anxiety?
61.Which supplements help for osteoarthritis of the hip?
62.Which supplements help reduce the risk of colorectal cancer?
63.Is it true that some vitamins or supplements can cause cancer?
64.Which supplements can help lower cholesterol and keep my heart healthy? Are there any to avoid?
65.Which supplements help to improve energy and decrease fatigue?
66.Which supplements can help to lower blood pressure?
67.Which supplements can help with arthritis?
68.How much should I expect to pay for supplements? Are higher-priced supplements any better than low-priced brands?
69.Can drinking coffee can prevent gallstones? Can supplements help?
70.Can I take cholesterol-lowering statin medication with green tea?
71.What is serrapeptase and does it work?


Clinical Updates Found:
2020 Does Fish Oil or Curcumin Increase Brain Blood Flow? (05/02/2020)
Does Fish Oil or Curcumin Increase Brain Blood Flow?
A study among people ages 50 to 80 evaluated the effects of fish oil and curcumin on blood flow to the brain and on other aspects of cardiovascular function. See the results in the "What It Does" section of the Fish Oil Supplements Review and the Curcumin Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for fish oil and curcumin.
 Curcumin, Insulin & Alzheimer's? (04/18/2020)
Curcumin, Insulin & Alzheimer's?
Curcumin (from turmeric) may provide a modest benefit in people with insulin resistance and a new study suggests this may also reduce biomarkers of Alzheimer's disease. For details, see the What It Does section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review. Also see our Top Picks for curcumin.
 Another Case of Liver Injury With Turmeric (03/25/2020)
Another Case of Liver Injury With Turmeric
Although believed to be rare, we’ve been reporting a steady stream of cases of liver injury (hepatitis) with turmeric supplements. Learn the symptoms and read the latest in the Concerns and Cautions section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review.
 Curcumin for Blood Sugar Control? (01/04/2020)
Curcumin for Blood Sugar Control?
Preliminary research suggests that curcumin (from turmeric) taken with meals can reduce the increases in blood sugar and insulin levels that occur after eating. But does curcumin help people with pre-existing type 2 diabetes? See what a recent study found in the What It Does section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements & Spices Review. Also see our Top Picks among turmeric and curcumin products.
2019 Liver Toxicity With Turmeric/Curcumin (10/30/2019)
Liver Toxicity With Turmeric/Curcumin
Several cases of liver toxicity from turmeric and curcumin supplements have been reported. For details, and the latest case, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review.
 Lead in Turmeric (09/24/2019)
Lead in Turmeric
A new report reveals that in some parts of the world where turmeric is grown, lead is being intentionally added. Find out where and why in the Quality Concerns section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Review. ConsumerLab tests all turmeric root powder products for lead and other heavy metals.
 Curcumin and Crohn's Disease (09/03/2019)
Curcumin and Crohn's Disease
Can curcumin help prevent recurrence in people with Crohn's disease? See what a recent study found, plus the evidence for curcumin in other conditions, in the What It Does section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review. Also see our Top Picks for turmeric and curcumin supplements and spices.
 Turmeric for Knee Pain (08/20/2019)
Turmeric for Knee Pain
Several short-term studies have shown moderate benefit with turmeric extracts. Get the details, including results of a recent study, in the What It Does section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
 Fresh vs. Powdered Turmeric (07/31/2019)
Fresh vs. Powdered Turmeric
When adding turmeric to your meal, do you absorb more curcumin from freshly grated turmeric or turmeric powder? And how do these compare to curcumin powder? Learn the surprising answer in the What to Consider When Buying and Using section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Review. Also see our Top Picks for turmeric and curcumin.
 Liver Toxicity With Turmeric (07/13/2019)
Liver Toxicity With Turmeric
Although uncommon, there are now several recent reports of liver toxicity associated with turmeric or curcumin supplements. Get the details in the Concerns and Cautions section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for turmeric and curcumin.
 Turmeric (Curcumin) and Fatty Liver Disease (06/08/2019)
Turmeric (Curcumin) and Fatty Liver Disease
Several studies suggest that curcumin supplements (from turmeric) may be helpful to people with non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. For details, see the What It Does section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
 Liver Injury With Turmeric (06/08/2019)
Liver Injury With Turmeric
Another case of liver injury from a turmeric/curcumin supplement was recently reported. Although not common, it is important to be aware of this potential risk. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review.
 Curcumin for Asthma? (04/20/2019)
Curcumin for Asthma?
Find out if curcumin (from turmeric powder) decreased asthma symptoms in a recent study, as described in the What It Does section of the Curcumin and Turmeric Supplements & Spices Review. Also see our Top Picks for curcumin and turmeric supplements.
 Curcumin Interactions (03/30/2019)
Curcumin Interactions
Curcumin (from turmeric) can interact with a variety of medications, requiring discontinuation of curcumin or adjustment in medication dosage. The most recently reported interaction is with tamoxifen. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
 Curcumin Caution: May Lower Iron (03/27/2019)
Curcumin Caution: May Lower Iron
If you’re low in iron, be careful with high doses of curcumin (turmeric extract). See the Concerns and Cautions section of the Curcumin and Turmeric Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
2018 Curcumin for Muscle Soreness (12/22/2018)
Curcumin for Muscle Soreness
Does curcumin reduce muscle inflammation or soreness from intense exercise? Find out what recent studies have shown in the Muscle Soreness and Recovery After Exercise section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements & Spices Review. (Also see our Top Picks among products.)
 Curcumin for Weight? (11/04/2018)
Curcumin for Weight?
Can curcumin help you lose body weight? Find out what a new review concluded in the What It Does section of the Curcumin and Turmeric Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for curcumin and turmeric supplements.)
 Curcumin Effect on Liver (09/18/2018)
Curcumin Effect on Liver
Long-term use of curcumin may negatively affect the liver in a small percentage of people, according to a new report. Get the details in the Concerns and Cautions section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for turmeric and curcumin.)
 Curcumin for Blood Sugar Control (09/14/2018)
Curcumin for Blood Sugar Control
Does taking curcumin with a meal help control blood sugar levels? See what a study found in the What It Does section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among curcumin and turmeric supplements and spices.)
 Curcumin Helps Ulcerative Colitis (08/25/2018)
Curcumin Helps Ulcerative Colitis
Curcumin has been shown to reduce ulcerative colitis symptoms and maintain remission. Get the details, including dosage and forms, in the What It Does section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for curcumin supplements.)
 Which Curcumin Formulation Is Best? (08/08/2018)
Which Curcumin Formulation Is Best?
Curcumin (which comes from turmeric) is not well absorbed unless taken with a fatty (oily) meal, so many formulations have been developed that enhance its absorption. Which of these is best absorbed? Find out in the Which form is best section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among tested turmeric and curcumin supplements.)
 Cooking With Turmeric (07/04/2018)
Cooking With Turmeric
Is cooking with turmeric a good way to get curcumin? How does it compare with taking a supplement? Find out what studies are showing in the ConsumerTips section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements & Spices Review. (Also see our Top Picks for turmeric spices and turmeric/curcumin supplements.)
 Curcumin for Polyps? (06/09/2018)
Curcumin for Polyps?
Two studies tested whether or not curcumin can reduce polyps in the colons of people predisposed to getting them. See the results in the What It Does section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among curcumin supplements.
 Curcumin for Cognition? (04/06/2018)
Curcumin for Cognition?
Did high-dose curcumin (derived from turmeric) improve cognition or reduce fatigue in healthy middle-aged and older people in a recent study? Find out what curcumin can and can’t do in the What It Does section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among curcumin and turmeric products.)
 Curcumin for Depression (01/16/2018)
Curcumin for Depression
Can curcumin reduce symptoms of major depression in people who are already taking an antidepressant? See what a new study found in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review >> (Also see our Top Picks among products.)
 Curcumin for Knee Osteoarthritis (01/09/2018)
Curcumin for Knee Osteoarthritis
A type of curcumin that has been Approved for Quality by ConsumerLab.com was found to be modestly effective in treating symptoms of knee osteoarthritis in a recently published study. For details see the Osteoarthritis section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review.  

The same study found that combining curcumin with boswellia may be advantageous. Learn more about this and other popular supplements for joint health in the Joint Supplements Review >>
 Does Curcumin Lower Cholesterol? (01/02/2018)
Does Curcumin Lower Cholesterol?
A recent study evaluated whether curcumin can help lower cholesterol levels, as well as further reduce levels in people using a phytosterol spread. Get the results and details about the type and dose of curcumin used, in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review >> (Also see our Top Picks among products.)  

For more about cholesterol-lowering, also see our Phytosterol Supplements Review >>
2017 Curcumin for Muscle Soreness (11/28/2017)
Curcumin for Muscle Soreness
Another study was published recently suggesting that curcumin can reduce muscle soreness after exercise. However, the efficacy of curcumin for this use is questionable. For details, see the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review >> (Also see our Top Picks for turmeric and curcumin supplements.)
 Curcumin for Memory (11/10/2017)
Curcumin for Memory
There is mixed evidence on whether or not curcumin helps improve memory. A recently published study found that a proprietary formula helped, although, last year, a study using a different formula failed to help. In both cases, certain side effects were more common among those taking curcumin than placebo. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review >> [Also see our Top Picks for dark chocolate bars in the Review.]
 Curcumin Drug Interaction (11/09/2017)
Curcumin Drug Interaction
Curcumin, from turmeric, can affect many prescription drugs. The most recent report involves an immunosuppressive drug also used in cancer treatment. For details about this interaction and other drug interactions of curcumin and turmeric, see the "Concerns and Cautions" section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review >>
 Turmeric (Curcumin) and Cholesterol (10/14/2017)
Turmeric (Curcumin) and Cholesterol
Turmeric and curcumin (from turmeric) can help lower levels of LDL "bad" cholesterol and triglycerides, according to a recent review of studies. Certain formulations may be better than others. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review >>
 Turmeric for Arthritis? (09/06/2017)
Turmeric for Arthritis?
Curcumin (from turmeric) has shown promise in reducing the pain and inflammation of rheumatoid arthritis in several small studies, including one that was recently published. However, larger studies are needed to prove this benefit. Details are found in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review (which includes our Top Picks among products).
 Curcumin for Cancer? (08/23/2017)
Curcumin for Cancer?
Curcumin (from turmeric) has shown potentially beneficial biological effects with regard to cancer, although it has not been shown to cause clinical improvements. Nevertheless, a case was recently reported of a woman with myeloma who was stabilized with curcumin treatment. For details, see the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric/Curcumin Review >>
 Curcumin for Ulcerative Colitis? (06/02/2017)
Curcumin for Ulcerative Colitis?
Some studies have found curcumin helpful when added to medical treatment for ulcerative colitis, but a recent study found no benefit. Find out how this study was different and learn more about other uses of curcumin in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric & Curcumin Supplements Review, which includes CL's tests and comparisons of popular brands.
 Curcumin and Muscle Soreness (05/09/2017)
Curcumin and Muscle Soreness
A recent study found a particular curcumin formula helped reduce soreness after exercise – although this has not been the case in other studies with different formulas. Find out what might help you in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements Review >>
 Curcumin for Muscle Soreness? (04/04/2017)
Curcumin for Muscle Soreness?
Several studies have evaluated curcumin to reduce muscle soreness, pain, and loss of power after exercise. The most recent study showed little benefit. For details, see the "What It Does" section of the new Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements & Spices Review >>
 Caution: Turmeric Drug Interaction (02/04/2017)
Caution: Turmeric Drug Interaction
It was recently reported that a man consuming large daily amounts of turmeric experienced kidney toxicity, likely due to an interaction between turmeric and the drug he was taking. Get more details about this and other drug interactions with turmeric, curcumin, and piperine (a black pepper extract often added to curcumin supplements) in the "Concerns and Cautions" section of the Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements Review (which includes our tests of products) >>
 Questioning Curcumin (01/24/2017)
Questioning Curcumin
A critical analysis of curcumin by several experts indicates that it may not be as useful as many believe. For more, see the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements Review (which includes our tests of products) >>
2016 Taking Curcumin With an NSAID? (11/07/2016)
Taking Curcumin With an NSAID?
Studies have shown that curcumin (an extract of turmeric) can improve symptoms of knee arthritis as well as a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug. But is there benefit in taking them together? A new study provides an answer, as discussed in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements Review >>
 Curcumin for Allergy (11/02/2016)
Curcumin for Allergy
A recent pilot study suggests that curcumin can significantly reduce symptoms of seasonal allergy. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements Review >>
 Curcumin for Depression & Anxiety (10/04/2016)
Curcumin for Depression & Anxiety
Curcumin reduced symptoms of depression and anxiety in people with major depression, at a lower dose than previously used, according to a new study. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review >>
 Curcumin for Arthritis (09/20/2016)
Curcumin for Arthritis
An analysis of several clinical studies showed compelling evidence that curcumin (extracted from turmeric) can be effective in treating symptoms of osteoarthritis as well as rheumatoid arthritis. For details, including dosage, see the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review >>
 Curcumin and Cognition (04/23/2016)
Curcumin and Cognition
Curcumin (from turmeric) has been shown to provide anti-inflammatory effects, helpful in osteoarthritis and gastrointestinal conditions, and even an anti-depressant effect. A recent long-term study evaluated its effects on cognition and memory in older people. See the results in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements Review (which includes our tests of popular products) >>
 Curcumin for Muscle Soreness? (03/22/2016)
Curcumin for Muscle Soreness?
Some studies show that curcumin (from turmeric) can reduce muscle soreness after exercise. However, a more recent study failed to show this benefit. Get the details, including the dose and brand of curcumin used, in the "What It Does" section of the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements & Spices Review >>
2015 Curcumin May Reduce Muscle Pain After Exercise (08/12/2015)
Curcumin May Reduce Muscle Pain After Exercise
A small study has reported that curcumin reduced muscle pain after exercise in young, healthy men. Get the details, including dosage, plus more about curcumin for other types pain and our tests of popular products, in the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review >>
  Impressive Results with Curcumin in Colitis (03/03/2015)
Impressive Results with Curcumin in Colitis
A recent study in people with ulcerative colitis not responsive to traditional therapy found that the addition of curcumin to the regimen led to remission in more than 50% of patients. For details about the treatment, as well as our reviews of curcumin products, see the Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements Review >> 
2014 Turmeric for Memory (11/22/2014)
Turmeric for Memory
A new study shows a modest benefit of turmeric on short-term memory among older individuals with pre-diabetes. Details about the study and dosage used, as well as results of our tests of popular products, are found in the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review >> 
 Curcumin for Cognition and Fatigue (10/18/2014)
Curcumin for Cognition and Fatigue
A study found that taking curcumin daily improved certain measures of cognitive function and fatigue in healthy men and women ages 60 to 85. Get the details, as well as our reviews of curcumin products, in the updated Curcumin Supplements Review >> 
 Curcumin for Major Depression (07/27/2014)
Curcumin for Major Depression
A new study found that curcumin may provide some benefit in treating major depression, particularly for people with atypical depression. Details about the type and amount of curcumin used, other uses for curcumin, as well as our tests of products, are found in the updated Turmeric and Curcumin Supplement Review >>   
 Curcumin Reduces Soreness After Exercise (07/05/2014)
Curcumin Reduces Soreness After Exercise
Taking curcumin before and after intense exercise significantly reduced muscle soreness in young, healthy men, according to a new study. Get the details, including the brand and dose of curcumin used, plus our tests of curcumin supplements, in the updated Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review >> 
 Curcumin for Knee Osteoarthritis (06/03/2014)
Curcumin for Knee Osteoarthritis
A new study found that curcumin taken for six weeks significantly improved physical functioning and reduced pain among people with osteoarthritis of the knee. For details, as well as our tests of similar curcumin products, see the update to the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Review >>
 New Curcumin Increases Bioavailability (02/28/2014)
New Curcumin Increases Bioavailability
Curcumin (from turmeric) is not well absorbed, so many formulations have been developed to increase its bioavailability. A recent study found a new formulation to be 49 times as bioavailable as standard curcumin, making it, by far, the most available form on the market. Get the details about this and other formulations of curcumin, as well as CL's tests and reviews of turmeric and curcumin products, in the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review >>
2013 Curcumin May Help in Rheumatoid Arthritis (06/09/2013)
Curcumin May Help in Rheumatoid Arthritis
Curcumin (from turmeric) has a range of potential benefits. A recent study suggests it may also help with rheumatoid arthritis. The study used the same curcumin ingredient in some products tested for quality by ConsumerLab.com. Get the details, plus our quality ratings of curcumin supplements, in the updated Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review >>
2012 Curcumin May Help Prevent Diabetes (08/26/2012)
Curcumin May Help Prevent Diabetes
Past research has suggested a potential role for curcumin (from turmeric) in blood sugar control. A recently published placebo-controlled study of curcumin given daily to people with prediabetes (those with blood sugar levels somewhat higher than normal) produced dramatic results in reducing the percentage of such individuals progressing to diabetes. Get the details in the latest update to ConsumerLab.com’s Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review -- which includes quality ratings of products and other potential uses of curcumin. More >>
 Curcumin and Cancer (02/19/2012)
Curcumin and Cancer
Curcumin (from turmeric) can suppress cancer cells in the laboratory, but how about in people? A new study in smokers showed that taking curcumin for a month significantly reduced the number of precancerous lesions that could lead to cancer of the colon. Find out more (including the dose used) in the Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements Review, which includes our recent product tests and reviews. More >>


Recent Recalls and Warnings Found:
1.Sundial Herbal Recalls More Than Sixty Products Including Turmeric, Cinnamon & Tea (07/10/2020)
2.FDA Warns Four Companies for Unsafe "Homeopathic" Injectables (06/16/2020)
3.BIOTA Biosciences Recalls Injectable CBD and Curcumin Products (05/23/2020)
4.Injectable Curcumin, CBD Are Not Safe, Warns FDA (04/25/2020)
5.Bulletproof Warned for Manufacturing Violations (03/31/2020)
6.Seller of Liposomal Curcumin, Vitamin C & Melatonin Warned for Manufacturing Violations (08/20/2019)
7.Seller of Curcumin, Garcinia, Glucosamine and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations (09/19/2018)
8.FDA Reports Prevalence of Salmonella In Retail Spices (02/17/2018)
9.Seller of Meal Replacement, Protein Drinks, Cranberry and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations (12/23/2017)
10.Seller of Supplements for Pain and Allergies Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (12/20/2017)
11.Organic Tarragon Spice Recalled Due to Salmonella Risk (10/17/2017)

Archived Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Woman Dies After Receiving Turmeric Infusion (04/08/2017)
2.Radio "Infomercials" for Cognitive and Joint Health Supplements Deceived Consumers, Says FTC (02/25/2017)
3.Life Extension Warned for Drug Claims (02/14/2017)
4.Seller of 5-HTP, Chromium, Curcumin and More Warned for Drug Claims (12/21/2016)
5.Turmeric Spice Recalled Due to Elevated Lead Levels (10/04/2016)
6.Turmeric Spice Recall Expanded to Include More Brands (08/08/2016)
7.More Turmeric Spice Recalled (08/05/2016)
8.Ground Turmeric Spice Recalled Due to Lead Contamination (07/29/2016)
9.Seller of Joint Health, Omega-3 Supplements & More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (05/24/2016)
10.The Republic of Tea Recalls Turmeric/Ginger Teas Due to Salmonella Risk (05/02/2016)
11.Seller of Turmeric, Milk Thistle and More Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (02/06/2016)
12.Non-Decolorized Aloe, Goldenseal Root Added to Prop 65 List of Cancer-Causing Chemicals (12/08/2015)
13.Soylent Meal Replacement Powder Reported to Contain Lead and Cadmium (08/19/2015)
14.Seller of Herbal Extracts Warned for Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims (11/28/2014)
15.McCormick Ground Oregano Recalled Due to Salmonella Risk (08/16/2014)
16.Turmeric Spice Powder Recalled Due To High Lead Levels (10/17/2013)
17.Maker of Cardio, Arthritis, Cleanse Supplements and More Warned For Manufacturing Violations and Drug Claims (05/17/2013)
18.Maker of Concentration, Pain, Immune, Cholesterol Supplements Warned For Drug Claims (05/10/2013)
19.Seller of Immune, Cholesterol, Liver and Blood Sugar Products Warned For Drug Claims (04/26/2013)
20.Antioxidant Protandim Supplement Recalled Due To Risk of Metal Fragments (12/07/2012)
21.Manufacturer of Prostate, Inflammation and Cholesterol Supplements Warned For Drug Claims (11/02/2012)
22.Maker of Concussion Recovery Supplement Warned For Making Drug Claims (09/10/2012)
23.Maker of Omega-3, Bone and Brain and Supplements Warned For Drug Claims (09/10/2012)


News Releases Found:
2020 Collagen and Magnesium Rise in Popularity, as Fish Oil and Curcumin Dip in Latest ConsumerLab Survey of Supplement Users (02/29/2020)
2019 Best Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements and Spices Identified by ConsumerLab (09/27/2019)
 CBD and Collagen Rise in Popularity, as Probiotics and Coconut Oil Dip in Latest ConsumerLab Survey of Supplement Users (02/24/2019)
2018 Magnesium, Curcumin, and Apple Cider Vinegar Rise in Popularity, While Probiotics Dip and Calcium Continues to Decline in Latest ConsumerLab.com Survey of Supplement Users (02/24/2018)
2017 ConsumerLab.com Reveals Best and Worst Turmeric and Curcumin Supplements & Spices -- 31% Fail ConsumerLab.com Tests of Quality (04/04/2017)
 Vitamin D Supplements Maintain Top Spot in Popularity, as Probiotics Surpass Multivitamins to #4 Behind Fish Oil and CoQ10 in Latest ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/24/2017)
2016 Vitamin D Supplements Jump to Top Spot in Popularity, Surpassing Fish Oil, as Probiotics Rise to #5 Spot Behind CoQ10 and Multivitamins in ConsumerLab.com Survey (02/24/2016)
 Cinnamon Spices and Supplements Found to Vary Widely in Levels of Potentially Helpful and Harmful Compounds Reports ConsumerLab.com (01/05/2016)
2013 What's Really in Turmeric Supplements and Spices? You May Not Want to Know -- 33% of Turmeric/Curcumin Supplements Fail ConsumerLab.com's Review; Filth Found in Spices (12/16/2013)
2011 Some turmeric and curcumin supplements fail quality review -- ConsumerLab.com finds 20% of turmeric supplements selected for review deliver less than 15% of promised compounds (02/16/2011)
2008 Consumers warned of lead in some turmeric supplements — Highest lead level ever reported by ConsumerLab.com; Lack of active compound also a problem (02/06/2008)
 ConsumerLab.com finds most potassium supplements meet quality standards, but one with only 18% of ingredient — Results for 12 potassium supplements in new review (01/08/2008)
2007 ConsumerLab.com finds improvement in quality of omega-3 and -6 supplements — Results for 22 products made from evening primrose, flaxseed, borage and black currant oils (12/10/2007)
 ConsumerLab.com finds some "red wine" supplements deliver less resveratrol than expected; Wide range in dose and price (11/13/2007)
 Recently tested magnesium supplements free of lead, but one product missing most of its ingredient according to ConsumerLab.com — First Major Product Review of Potential "Life-Extending" Ingredient (10/30/2007)
 ConsumerLab.com finds generic antidepressant behaves differently from original drug. May explain complaints by patients. — Generic drug equality questioned (10/12/2007)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW

SPECIAL
Coronavirus Information Center
Coronavirus Information Center
Answers to Critical Questions About COVID-19.



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS

VISIT OUR PARTNERS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Reviews
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
Recommended Intakes
Where to Buy Products
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Quality Certification Program
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2020 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.