SEARCH RESULTS for "Extra Virgin Olive Oil"

Extra virgin olive oils reviewed by ConsumerLab.com

Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review

Trying to find a good extra virgin olive oil? Read our reviews showing amounts of polyphenols found in popular brands, purity and sensory testing. Review evidence found for heart health, blood sugar and insulin, weight loss, cancer and more. Find out which ones passed our tests and why.

Other Related Product Reviews Found:
* = Search term may appear only in full report available to members. Sign in or Join now.
1.Fish Oil and Omega-3 and -7 Supplements Review (Including Krill, Algae, Calamari, and Sea Buckthorn)  *
2.Tuna, Salmon & Sardines Review (Canned and Packaged)
3.CLA (Conjugated Linoleic Acid) Supplements Review (for Slimming)  *
4.Coconut Oil and Medium Chain Triglycerides (MCT Oil) Review  *
5.CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements, Lotions, and Balms Review  *
6.Lycopene Supplements Review  *
7.Astaxanthin Supplements Review  *
8.Inactive Ingredients / Excipients in Supplements  *
9.Black Currant Oil, Borage Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Flaxseed Oil, and Hemp Oil Supplements Review: Sources of ALA and GLA (Omega-3 and -6 Fatty Acids)  *
10.Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review  *


Encyclopedia Articles Found: (Articles do not mention brands)
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.Tropical Oils


ConsumerLab.com Answers to Questions Found:
Membership required for some Answers. Sign in or Join now.
1.What are the health benefits of olive oil?
2.How do I find the best quality olive oil and what are the health benefits?
3.What are the health benefits of avocado oil? Is it healthier than olive oil? Which avocado oils are best?
4.How can I get the equivalent of 20 ml of extra virgin olive oil (4 teaspoons) as oleic acid capsules?
5.Does cooking or frying with olive oil make it less healthy?
6.Which oils can help lower my cholesterol and risk of heart attack? How are coconut oil, olive oil, and fish oil for example?
7.Which supplements can help lower cholesterol and keep my heart healthy? Are there any to avoid?
8.Are there vitamins or supplements that can reduce my risk of breast cancer? Do any increase cancer risk?
9.Is canola oil good or bad for you? I heard it can be toxic.
10.Do any supplements help prevent or improve cataracts?  (in Comments)
11.Is it true that some vitamins or supplements can cause cancer?
12.Which supplements can help to lower blood pressure?
13.Can I use a home test for mercury to check for mercury in fish, like canned tuna, fresh fish, and sushi?  (in Comments)
14.I've tried a number of fish oil supplements, all of which make me nauseous. What is the best non-fish alternative? I am primarily interested in getting EPA.  (in Comments)
15.Is it true that fish oil may help protect the body against air pollution?
16.What are the health benefits of black cumin seed (black seed) oil?
17.Which supplements can help lower my triglycerides?
18.Which supplements can help lower or control my blood sugar?
19.Which supplements reduce the risk of stroke? Which increase the risk of stroke?
20.Are there any supplements I should avoid when taking aspirin or ibuprofen?  (in Comments)
21.What are phytoceramides? Do phytoceramide supplements really work to improve aging skin?  (in Comments)
22.What is the best way to take curcumin? Is it better to take it all at once or in divided doses?  (in Comments)
23.Which supplements help reduce the risk of colorectal cancer?
24.Do any supplements really help with brain function, like memory and cognition?
25.Do any supplements help for flu?  (in Comments)
26.I read that turmeric may be a GI irritant. I have GI problems and wonder if I should avoid turmeric and curcumin?  (in Comments)
27.What are omega-7 fatty acids? Do I need to take these if I already take fish oil?
28.Which supplements can help with arthritis?
29.Is it best to take probiotic supplements with or without food? It seems like everyone has a different recommendation.  (in Comments)
30.How are you staying healthy during the coronavirus pandemic?  (in Comments)
31.Someone told me that one Brazil nut can provide your entire recommended daily intake for vitamin E. Is that true?
32.What are the health benefits of coconut oil and medium chain triglycerides, such as those used in Bulletproof Coffee?
33.Which supplements help for osteoarthritis of the hip?
34.Is it true that low-carb or Mediterranean diets help for gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD)?


Clinical Updates Found:
2020 Olive Oil and Heart Disease (03/07/2020)
Olive Oil and Heart Disease
Does consuming olive oil instead of butter or margarine reduce the risk of heart disease? Find out what studies are showing, and the amounts of olive oil being used, in the What It Does section of the Olive Oil Review. Also see our Top Picks for olive oil.
 Best Way to Cook With Olive Oil (01/25/2020)
Best Way to Cook With Olive Oil
Cooking can reduce levels of heart-healthy polyphenols in extra virgin olive oil (EVOO), but a new study showed how to minimize this loss. Get the details in the ConsumerTips section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.
2019 Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Fatty Liver Disease (08/13/2019)
Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Fatty Liver Disease
Can consuming a Mediterranean diet enriched with extra-virgin olive oil decrease the incidence of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease? See what a new study found in the What It Does section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. Also see our tests and Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.
 Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Diabetes (07/23/2019)
Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Diabetes
Several studies have looked at the effects of consuming extra virgin olive oil on improving blood sugar control. The most recent study looked at whether it could delay the need for glucose-lowering medication in people with type 2 diabetes. Get the results in the What It Does section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
 Plastic Bottles Okay for Olive Oil? (02/12/2019)
Plastic Bottles Okay for Olive Oil?
A recent study compared the effects of storing extra virgin olive oil in plastic versus glass bottles, as well as the effects of light. Find out which bottle and setting fared best in the ConsumerTips section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review. Also see our latest Top Picks for extra virgin olive oil.
2018 Best Olive Oil for Heart? (11/20/2018)
Best Olive Oil for Heart?
This week, the FDA agreed that oils that are at least 70% oleic acid may claim to reduce the risk of coronary heart disease when substituted for saturated fats. Oleic acid is the dominant fatty acid in olive oil. However, our tests of popular extra virgin olive oils show that only some reach the 70% level. Get the details in the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. (Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.)
 Mediterranean Diet Study Retracted (06/15/2018)
Mediterranean Diet Study Retracted
A landmark study about the benefits of the Mediterranean Diet was retracted and republished this week. Does this change what we know about the benefits of extra virgin olive oil? Find out in the Cardiovascular Disease section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. (Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.)
 Choosing Olive Oil for Cholesterol Benefit (05/02/2018)
Choosing Olive Oil for Cholesterol Benefit
Certain types of olive oil may be more effective at improving cholesterol levels according to a recent analysis. Find out more in the What It Does section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. (Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils).
2017 Lower Heart Risk With Olive Oil (12/10/2017)
Lower Heart Risk With Olive Oil
Using olive oil was associated with a dramatic reduction in the risk of cardiovascular disease in a recent study. But what about using olive oil along with other oils? Get the results and learn more in the "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review. Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.
 Olive Oil and Prostate Cancer (09/10/2017)
Olive Oil and Prostate Cancer
Another possible benefit of olive oil within a Mediterranean diet is a reduced risk of aggressive prostate cancer, according to a new study. For details about this and other benefits of olive oil, see the updated "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review, which includes our Top Picks among products.
 Extra Virgin Olive Oil Aids Fat Loss (09/02/2017)
Extra Virgin Olive Oil Aids Fat Loss
A study among overweight women found that substituting extra virgin olive oil for another plant oil led to greater losses of body fat during dieting. See the details in the "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review -- which includes our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.
 Olive Oil Helps in Pre-Diabetes (05/30/2017)
Olive Oil Helps in Pre-Diabetes
Adding extra virgin olive oil to a meal decreased the rise in blood sugar and increased insulin levels after the meal, according to a new study in people with pre-diabetes. Similar benefits with olive oil have been shown in people with type 1 and type 2 diabetes. For details, see the "Insulin Control and Blood Sugar" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review, which includes our tests and comparisons of popular olive oils on the market.
 Olive Oil Lowers Diabetes Risk (04/23/2017)
Olive Oil Lowers Diabetes Risk
Consuming a certain amount of olive oil daily reduces the risk of developing type 2 diabetes by 13%, according to a new study. Consuming more than this amount did not reduce the risk further. Get the details, and see our tests of popular oils, in the "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review >>
 Mediterranean Diet with Olive Oil Improves Depression (02/21/2017)
Mediterranean Diet with Olive Oil Improves Depression
A recent study found that men and women with major depression who consumed a Mediterranean diet with olive oil had significant improvement in symptoms compared to those who maintained their typical diet. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Olive Oil Review (which includes our tests of products) >>
 Reason for Olive Oil Defects? (01/20/2017)
Reason for Olive Oil Defects?
We recently noticed that all three of the extra virgin olive oils which failed to be Approved in our recent review share something in common. For details, see the "What CL Found" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review (which includes our tests of products) >>
 Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Bone Fracture Risk (01/17/2017)
Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Bone Fracture Risk
A recent study found that higher consumption of extra virgin olive oil was associated with a 51% reduction in the risk of osteoporosis-related bone fractures. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review (which includes our tests of products) >>


Recent Recalls and Warnings Found:
1.Extra Virgin Olive Oil That Isn't (08/08/2018)
2.Seven Arrested for Selling Fake Olive Oil in Greece (11/28/2017)

Archived Recalls and Warnings Found:
Membership required for all articles. Sign in or Join now.
1.FDA Warns Seller of "Quick Slim with pure Hoodia Gardonii" and "Diabalance Herbal Blood Sugar Balance" (07/18/2017)
2.Seller of 5-HTP, Chromium, Curcumin and More Warned for Drug Claims (12/21/2016)
3.Maker of Cholesterol and Workout Supplements Warned For Manufacturing Violations, Drug Claims and Unapproved Ingredient (02/13/2014)
4.FDA Sends Warning Letters to Seven Online Supplement Sellers For Therapeutic Claims (09/07/2002)


News Releases Found:
2018 Little Omega-3 and High Mercury Found In Some Canned Tuna -- Better Choices Selected for Tuna and Salmon (09/12/2018)
2017 Your Extra Virgin Olive Oil May Not Be, According to Review By ConsumerLab.com -- Top Picks Noted for Best Quality and Value (01/10/2017)
2006 ConsumerLab.com finds most prostate supplements have correct ingredients, but three fail testing — Results posted for 22 supplements containing saw palmetto and beta-sitosterol (02/06/2006)


SEARCH THIS SITE

This search engine specifically searches for information in the Product Reviews, The Natural and Alternative Treatments Encyclopedia, Recalls and Warnings, and Press Releases on the ConsumerLab.com Web site. It can be used, for example, to find all references to products from a specific manufacturer listed on the site or references to specific medical conditions or other terms.

Enter your query:
  
 Free Text Search (Recommended for general terms. Uncheck for brand names.)
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW

SPECIAL
Coronavirus Information Center
Coronavirus Information Center
Answers to Critical Questions About COVID-19.



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS

VISIT OUR PARTNERS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Reviews
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
Recommended Intakes
Where to Buy Products
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Quality Certification Program
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2020 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.