Joint Health Supplements

Glucosamine & Chondroitin – How They May Work

12/06/2019
A recent study suggests that one way glucosamine and chondroitin may work is through the gut. For details, see the What It Does section of the Joint Health Supplements Review (Glucosamine, Chondroitin, MSM and Boswellia). Also see our Top Picks among products.

Glucosamine & Eye Pressure

5/27/2019
Glucosamine may increase eye pressure in people with glaucoma or intraocular hypertension. But does it have this effect in people who don't have these conditions? See what a new study found in the Concerns and Cautions section of the Joint Health Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for glucosamine and chondroitin.

Glucosamine and Heart Disease

5/14/2019
Does taking glucosamine affect your risk of developing cardiovascular disease? See what a large study recently found in the What It Does section of the Joint Health Supplements Review (Glucosamine, Chondroitin, MSM and Boswellia). Also see our Top Picks among joint health supplements.

Knee Supplements Studied

4/25/2016
A recent clinical trial evaluated glucosamine with chondroitin versus placebo for reducing pain and improving function in people with osteoarthritis of the knee. See the details, along with results of our tests of popular supplements, see our Review of Glucosamine, Chondroitin, MSM and Boswellia Supplements for Joint Health >>

Glucosamine & Chondroitin Help Maintain Knee Joint

3/07/2014
A 2-year study in people with osteoarthritis of the knee found that those who took a combination of glucosamine and chondroitin had only half the amount of narrowing of the knee joint space as those who took placebo. This beneficial finding differs from that of another large study published several years ago which did not find a benefit on joint space. The new study used a different form of glucosamine than the previous study. Get the details, as well as our tests of supplements with these ingredients, in the updated Joint Health Supplements Review (Glucosamine, Chondroitin, MSM and Boswellia) >>   

Glucosamine May Increase Eye Pressure

6/01/2013
New research suggests that people with glaucoma or intraocular hypertension could have worsening eye pressure if they take a glucosamine supplement. Get the details (along with our tests of glucosamine and other joint health supplements) in the updated Glucosamine/Joint Health Supplements Review >>

Vitamin D and Knee Arthritis?

1/12/2013
Can taking vitamin D reduce the pain and progression of osteoarthritis of the knee? A new study found no benefit for people who already had sufficient levels of vitamin D. In fact, these people needed more anti-inflammatory medication during the study than those given placebo. However, as seen in many other studies of vitamin D, people who entered the study deficient in vitamin D appeared to benefit from being given vitamin D, experiencing reduced pain. For more details, see the update in the Vitamin D Supplements Review, which includes our tests of vitamin D supplements. If you suffer from osteoarthritis of the knee or other joints, also read about glucosamine and chondroitin, as supplements with these ingredients may help. We have tested many of these products.

Chondroitin Improves Hand Arthritis

9/24/2011
Do you or someone you know have osteoarthritis of the hand? A new study found that highly purified chondroitin can reduce pain and stiffness and increase function. You need to give it some time, though. Get the details in the update in the Joint Health Supplements ReviewMore >>