ConsumerLab.com uses JavaScript to provide the best possible experience for our content, but your browser has it disabled. Learn how to enable it here.

About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Collagen Supplements

Collagen Concern?

9/07/2022
Favorited Not Favorited
Can taking too much collagen cause too much calcium in the blood? Find out in the Concerns and Cautions section of our Collagen Supplements Review.

Eggshell Membrane for Osteoarthritis?

6/07/2022
Favorited Not Favorited

Eggshell membrane – a source of collagen – may reduce pain in people with osteoarthritis if taken at a certain dose, according to a recent study. Get the details in the Joint Pain section of our Collagen Supplements Review.

Collagen for Joint Discomfort?

3/29/2022
Favorited Not Favorited

Can supplementing with low-dose collagen reduce joint pain in healthy older adults? Find out what a recent study showed in the Joint Pain section of our Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen.

Does Collagen Increase Kidney Stone Risk?

12/23/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
A member asked whether supplementing with collagen increases the risk of kidney stones, since collagen can produce oxalates. Find out in the Concerns and Cautions section of our Collagen Supplements Review. Also, see our Top Picks for collagen supplements.

Can Collagen Lower Blood Sugar?

9/16/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Can taking collagen supplements lower blood sugar levels? Find out what research suggests in the What It Does section of our Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among collagen supplements.

Collagen for Wrinkles

9/06/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Can taking hydrolyzed collagen in low daily doses reduce wrinkles and improve skin hydration in older women? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of our Collagen Supplements Review. Also, see our Top Picks among collagen supplements for skin wrinkles.

Collagen for Joint Pain?

7/23/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Can collagen supplementation reduce joint pain or stiffness in the knee, hip or wrist? See what a new study found in the Joint Pain section of our Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among collagen supplements for joints and for skin.

Hyaluronic Acid for Wrinkles?

6/27/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Does supplementing with hyaluronic acid reduce wrinkles or improve skin elasticity in middle-aged men and women? See what a new study found in the Aging Skin and Wrinkles section of our Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen supplements for skin and for joints.

Collagen and Breast Cancer?

4/22/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Does supplementing with collagen increase the risk of breast cancer recurrence? Learn what the evidence shows in the Concerns and Cautions section of our Collagen Supplements Review.

Collagen for Wound Healing?

12/12/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Can collagen supplements improve the healing of skin and tendon injuries? Find out in the What It Does section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen.

Eggshell Membrane + Fish Oil for Joint Pain?

8/13/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Both eggshell membrane and fish oil have been shown to bring modest reduction in joint pain, but does taking these ingredients together have greater benefit? Find out what a new study showed in the What It Does section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Pick among collagen supplements for joints and for skin.

Fish Collagen Allergy

6/26/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Be aware that some people may be allergic to fish collagen even if they don't respond to common fish allergy tests, according to a recent study. Get the details in the Concerns and Cautions section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen supplements for skin and for joints.

Collagen for the Skin

3/27/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Supplementing with collagen to improve aging skin is popular, but does it work? The latest study with collagen used a higher dose than other studies, but is a higher dose better? Find out in the What It Does section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen for wrinkles and for osteoarthritis.

Collagen for Sun Damaged Skin?

2/14/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
A study suggests that fish-derived collagen can improve sun-damaged skin. For details, including dosage, see the What It Does section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen.

Collagen for Knees?

1/31/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Collagen supplements have been tested in many studies to reduce pain and/or improve function in osteoarthritic knees. A recent study focused on collagen peptides. Find out if they worked (and see the results for other collagen products) in the Joint Pain section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen supplements for joint pain and for wrinkles.

Collagen vs. Whey for Muscle

1/11/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Does taking collagen protein increase muscle as well as whey protein? Find out what a recent study showed in the "Building Muscle" sections of both the Protein Powders Review and the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for protein powders and Top Picks for collagen.

Eggshell Membrane for Hair, Skin, Nails?

1/06/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Does supplementing with eggshell membrane (which contains collagen and elastin) improve hair, skin, or nails? See what a recent study found in the What It Does section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among collagen supplements.

Eggshell Membrane for Joints?

12/06/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
Eggshell membrane hydrolysates, which naturally contain collagen, have been used in clinical studies to treat joint pain. Find out if they work in the Joint section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen.

Collagen Peptides vs. Gelatin

10/14/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
It has been generally believed that amino acids are more bioavailable from hydrolyzed collagen (collagen peptides) than from gelatin (which is partially hydrolyzed collagen). A new study put this to the test. See what the researchers found in the What It Is section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among collagen supplements.

Eggshell Membrane for Bad Knees?

10/10/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
Eggshell membrane, which naturally contains collagen, was tested as a supplement to improve knee pain, stiffness, and function. Find out if it worked in the Joint Pain section of the Collagen Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for collagen.