ConsumerLab.com uses JavaScript to provide the best possible experience for our content, but your browser has it disabled. Learn how to enable it here.

About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Vitamin K Supplements

Vitamin K and Heart Valve Calcification

4/29/2022
Favorited Not Favorited

Can supplementation with the MK-7 form of vitamin K2 slow the progression of aortic valve calcification, a risk factor for cardiovascular disease? See what a new study found in the Heart Disease section of our Vitamin K Supplements Review.

Also see our answer to the question: Which supplements or foods can help lower cholesterol and keep my heart healthy? Are there any to avoid?

Vitamin K and Sleep

3/11/2022
Favorited Not Favorited

Can taking vitamin K make it more difficult to sleep? Find out what research suggests in the Concerns and Cautions section of our Vitamin K Supplements Review.

Also see our answer to the question: What are the best supplements for insomnia? Are there any supplements that interfere with sleep?

Vitamin K and Coronary Artery Calcification

10/22/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Can supplementing with vitamin K1 slow coronary artery calcification? See what a new study among people with diabetes found in the What It Does section of our Vitamin K Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among vitamin K supplements.

Vitamin K & Risk of COVID Death

1/14/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
A marker of low vitamin K levels has been linked to a higher risk of death in people with COVID-19, according to a new study. Get the details in the COVID-19 section of our Vitamin K Supplements Review.

Vitamin K and Breast Cancer Risk

11/17/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Can eating foods high in vitamin K affect the risk of breast cancer? Learn what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of our Vitamin K Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for vitamin K supplements.

Warfarin and Low-Dose Vitamin K

10/30/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Should people on warfarin (Coumadin) take low-dose vitamin K to help stabilize fluctuations in INR? Learn what experts say in the What It Does section of our Vitamin K Supplements Review. Also, learn if other blood thinning drugs are affected by vitamin K in the Concerns and Cautions section of our review.

Vitamin K for Weak Bones?

10/12/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Does supplementing with vitamin K2 as MK-7 along with vitamin D and calcium improve bone density in postmenopausal women with weak bones (osteopenia)? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of Vitamin K Supplements Review. Also, learn about other forms of vitamin K used for increasing bone density and see our Top Picks for vitamin K.

Vitamin K & Heart Health

8/25/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Can taking vitamin K supplements improve vascular stiffness or lower blood pressure in people with kidney disease? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of our Vitamin K Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for vitamin K.

A Role for Vitamin K in COVID-19?

4/27/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
A new study showed a link between vitamin K and the development of COVID-19. Learn what this means in the What It Does section of our Vitamin K Supplements Review. Also see our Top Pick among vitamin K supplements.

Vitamin K for Bone Density?

2/17/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Vitamin K (as MK-7) was given daily for one year to older men and women to see if it would improve bone mineral density. Some also received vitamin D and calcium. Find out if it helped, as well as the results of related studies, in the What It Does section of the Vitamin K Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among vitamin K supplements.

How To Get Vitamin K From Food

6/07/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Many of the benefits of vitamin K - such as proper blood clotting and calcium utilization for bone and heart health - are associated with getting adequate vitamin K from foods. The good news? Brand new research has found much higher amounts of vitamin K2 (the form associated with cardiovascular benefits) in dairy foods than previously known. However, the amounts vary tremendously depending on whether these foods are full-fat, or reduced-fat or fat-free. Get the details in the "Vitamin K from food" section of the Vitamin K Supplements Review. If you're interested in a vitamin K supplement, see our Top Picks among brands.

Low Dose of Vitamin K Helps Bone

3/30/2013
Favorited Not Favorited
Using a much lower dose of vitamin K than in previous studies, a new study found that intake of a particular form of vitamin K decreased age-related decline in bone mineral content and density in certain bones in postmenopausal women. Get the details, as well as our ratings of these supplements, in the updated Vitamin K Supplements Review >>