ConsumerLab.com uses JavaScript to provide the best possible experience for our content, but your browser has it disabled. Learn how to enable it here.

About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Ginger Supplements

Fresh Ginger vs. Ginger Supplements

4/22/2022
Favorited Not Favorited

How much fresh ginger is equivalent to what is in a ginger supplement? Find out in the ConsumerTips section of our Ginger Supplements Review. Also see which ginger supplements passed or failed our tests, and what's in ginger spices and ginger ale, based on our tests.

Contaminated Ginger

11/25/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
We have added information to our Ginger reviews to include recent tests of spices for toxic heavy metals, such as lead, expanding the number of brands tested.

Ginger for Stomach Flu?

5/24/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Can ginger extract reduce vomiting due to stomach flu? See what a new study found in the What It Does section of the Ginger Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among ginger supplements, chews, and spices.

Ginger for Indigestion?

12/15/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Can taking ginger extract help reduce symptoms of indigestion? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the Ginger Supplements Review. Also, see our Top Picks for ginger supplements.

Ginger for Weight Management?

10/09/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Can ginger help burn calories and reduce weight? Find out what recent studies show in the What It Does section of our Ginger Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for ginger.

Ginger for Migraine?

9/09/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
Can ginger reduce the frequency or severity of migraines? See what a new study found in the Migraine section of the Ginger Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for ginger supplements.

Ginger's Blood-Thinning Effect

7/12/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
If you supplement with ginger, be aware of its blood-thinning effect, as exemplified in a recent case report. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the Ginger Supplements & Ales Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

Caution with Ginger

2/05/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
Some evidence suggests that ginger may help alleviate nausea during chemotherapy, but it was recently shown that it can interact with some chemotherapeutic drugs, which can be dangerous. See the Concerns and Cautions section of the Ginger Supplements & Ales Review.

Ginger for Nausea During Chemo?

10/10/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Ginger and ginger extracts help reduce nausea in certain situations. A recent placebo-controlled study evaluated its effect on people undergoing chemotherapy and the results suggest it may be more useful in some people than in others. For details, see the "What It Does" section of the Ginger Supplements Review, which includes our Top Picks for ginger root powders and extracts.