ConsumerLab.com uses JavaScript to provide the best possible experience for our content, but your browser has it disabled. Learn how to enable it here.

About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Choline Supplements

Citicoline Bad for Arteries?

7/29/2022
Favorited Not Favorited

A CL member asked us if citicoline, a form of choline in supplements, can raise TMAO levels, which has associated with atherosclerosis (hardening of the arteries). Find out in the Concerns and Cautions section of or Choline Supplements Review.

Eggs and Heart Risk

1/24/2022
Favorited Not Favorited
Does eating one or two eggs daily increase the risk of heart attack? Find out what recent studies suggest in the Concerns and Cautions section of our Choline Supplements Review (eggs contain choline). Also see our Top Picks among choline supplements.

Prenatal Choline Improves Attention in Children

12/30/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Mothers who took higher doses of choline during pregnancy were found to have children with improved attention, according to a recent study. See the details in the During Pregnancy and Lactation section of our Choline Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among choline supplements.

Choline for Memory?

5/14/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
Can choline supplementation improve cognitive function in older men and women? See what a recent study found in the Memory and Cognition section of our Choline Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among choline supplements as well as Concerns and Cautions with choline supplements.

Eggs, Choline, & Heart Risk

5/07/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
The choline in eggs can raise levels of TMAO, a compound associated with higher risk of heart attack. A recent study compared the effects of eating eggs versus taking choline supplements on TMAO levels. Find out which increased TMAO levels the most. Also, see our Top Pick among choline supplements.

Eggs and Heart Disease Risk

12/22/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Do women who eat eggs every day have a higher risk of heart disease or death? See what a new study found in the ConsumerTips section of the Choline Supplements Review.

Choline to Avoid?

12/02/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent study found that a particular form of choline is not well absorbed. It may also have detrimental effects. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the Choline Supplements Review. Also see our Top Pick among choline supplements.

Choline Concern

11/08/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
A large study found that people with higher intakes of choline from their diets had a higher risk of death, specifically cardiovascular death, than people with lower choline intakes. Should you be concerned? See the Concerns and Cautions section of the Choline Supplements Review.

Kidney Stones Due to Supplement?

2/18/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
An unusual type of kidney stone has been reported in several people who regularly consumed large amounts of a vitamin and amino acid supplement containing a particular form of choline and vitamin C. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the Choline Supplements Review.

Getting Choline

6/05/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
Is it better to get choline naturally from foods or from supplements? A recent study addressed this question. Find out the answer in the ConsumerTips section of the Choline Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among products in this category.

Take Choline When Pregnant

1/12/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
It was recommended last year that women take a choline supplement when pregnant. Adding momentum to this recommendation is a recent study showing that giving pregnant women a larger amount of choline than normally considered adequate resulted in improved information processing speeds in their infants. Currently, choline is not found in most prenatal vitamins. For more information, see the During Pregnancy and Lactation section of the Choline Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among products.)

Choline Missing From Prenatals

6/28/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
The American Medical Association recently voted to recommend that all prenatal vitamins include appropriate amounts of choline. Getting adequate choline may reduce the risk of birth defects in children, but most women don't get enough and prenatal vitamins typically provide little to none. Find out how to get adequate choline from supplements and/or foods in the Choline Supplements Review, which includes our Top Picks. Also see the "Prenatal Vitamin" section of the Multivitamin Supplements Review.

Choline May Increase Heart Risk

4/24/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent study found that taking choline supplements increased the tendency for platelets to aggregate, a risk factor for heart disease, suggesting that choline supplements should be avoided. For details see the Concerns and Cautions section of the Choline Supplements Review >>