CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements

Ubiquinol & Heart Surgery

8/03/2020
Ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) can have a beneficial effect on ailing hearts, but can taking it protect the heart around the time of aortic valve replacement? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for Ubiquinol and CoQ10.

Ubiquinol for Fatigue?

6/01/2020
Does taking ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) help men and women who are experiencing fatigue in daily life? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.

CoQ10 Bioavailability

3/20/2020
CoQ10 is not well absorbed unless taken with fats or oils, such as with a meal. Bioavailability-enhanced formulations allow CoQ10 to be taken without a meal, but how good are they? We’ve added new information about one such formula and how it compares to taking regular CoQ10 in the Absorption and Bioavailability Enhancers section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.

Does CoQ10 Help With Statins?

3/09/2020
Many studies have looked at whether or not CoQ10 helps people with statin-associated muscle pain. Read the latest in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.

CoQ10 for Statin-Intolerance

11/08/2019
Many people experience muscle pain from taking cholesterol-lowering statin drugs. CoQ10 can help reduce this pain, according to a new study. Get the details in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 supplements.

CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia?

8/09/2019
A recent study evaluated whether CoQ10 improved symptoms in patients with fibromyalgia when added to standard prescription treatment with pregabalin (Lyrica). See the results, and learn more about what CoQ10 can and cannot do in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol.

Reaction to CoQ10 and Alpha-Lipoic Acid

6/11/2019
An autoimmune syndrome possibly caused by CoQ10 was recently reported. It is similar to rare cases caused by alpha-lipoic acid. For details see the updates to the Concerns and Cautions sections of the CoQ10 and Alpha Lipoic Acid Reviews.

Can CoQ10 Boost Cholesterol-Lowering of Statins?

11/05/2018
Can taking CoQ10 further lower cholesterol levels in people already taking a statin drug? See what a new study found in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)

CoQ10 & Statin Muscle Symptoms

10/29/2018
Can taking CoQ10 reduce muscle symptoms that can occur when taking cholesterol-lowering statin drugs? Find out in the recent update to the What It Does section of the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and Ubiquinol.)

CoQ10 vs. Ubiquinol

10/15/2018
Which form of CoQ10 raises total blood levels of CoQ10 more? Find out in the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)

CoQ10 for Migraine

7/09/2018
CoQ10 and its active form, ubiquinol, have been studied in several clinical trials to treat migraine headache. Find out what the research is showing in the Migraine section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)

Ubiquinol for Blood Sugar Control?

6/25/2018
Does giving ubiquinol (the active form of CoQ10) to people with type 2 diabetes help with blood sugar control? Find out in the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CoQ10 and ubiquinol supplements.)

MitoQ Trial

4/20/2018
A recent study assessed the effect of MitoQ, a compound related to CoQ10, on the functioning of arteries in older adults. Get the results and learn more about MitoQ in the ConsumerTips section of the CoQ10 Supplements Review.

CoQ10 for Nerve Pain

2/16/2018
Taking CoQ10 along with standard medication may decrease trigeminal (facial) nerve pain more than medication alone, according to a new study. For details, including dosage, see the What It Does section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among products).

Can CoQ10 Lower Cholesterol?

1/05/2018
A recent study looked at whether CoQ10 can lower cholesterol in people with elevated levels. Find out what the study found and details about dosage in the "What it Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> (Also see our Top Picks among products.)

CoQ10 for Orthostatic Hypotension

10/30/2017
CoQ10 may help reduce the fall in blood pressure that occurs in orthostatic hypotension (low blood pressure upon standing) according to a recent report. See the details in the "What It Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> [Also see our Top Picks for CoQ10 supplements in the Review.]

CoQ10 for Fibromyalgia

1/09/2017
CoQ10 reduced symptoms of anxiety and depression in people with fibromyalgia, according to a preliminary study. Get the details, including dosage, in the "What It Does" section of the CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>

CoQ10 for Wrinkles

9/10/2016
Taking a daily dose of CoQ10 may help to reduce facial wrinkles in older women, according to a preliminary study. Get the details and learn more about CoQ10 supplements in the "What It Does" section of the CoQ10 Supplements Review >>

CoQ10 Reduces Statin-Related Muscle Pain

11/25/2014
Taking a moderate dose of CoQ10 reduced statin-related muscle symptoms in 75% of patients in a recent study. More details, as well as our tests of CoQ10 and ubiquinol products, are found in the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 

CoQ10 Improves Symptoms in War Veterans

11/11/2014
A new study found that a moderate dose of CoQ10 improved symptoms of Gulf War illness (such as word recall, fatigue, and irritability) in veterans. A larger dose did not show this effect. Details, as well as results of our product tests, are found in the CoQ10 & Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 

CoQ10 Benefit Takes Time

10/09/2014
A large study found that a daily dose of CoQ10 reduced the chances of hospitalization or death by almost 50% in people with moderate to severe heart failure -- but only after being taken for an extended period of time. Find out how much CoQ10 was taken and for how long, and get our quality ratings and comparisons of CoQ10 supplements, in the updated CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>

CoQ10 Not Helpful in Parkinson Disease

3/26/2014
A study among people with early Parkinson Disease found that high-dose CoQ10 was not effective in slowing progression of the disease. For details about the study, information about other uses of CoQ10, as well as our tests of supplements, see the updated CoQ10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >> 

Does CoQ10 Help the Heart?

6/01/2013
It can for people with congestive heart failure, says a new study. Find out more about CoQ10, plus get ratings for 48 supplements in the updated Coenzyme Q10 and Ubiquinol Supplements Review >>