ConsumerLab.com uses JavaScript to provide the best possible experience for our content, but your browser has it disabled. Learn how to enable it here.

About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Olive Oil & Cognition

10/15/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Does consuming extra olive oil improve cognitive function in people with mild cognitive impairment? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of our Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. Also see our Top Picks for olive oil.

Olive Oil & Breast Cancer Risk

9/14/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Is olive oil consumption associated with a lower risk of breast cancer in women? See what a recent analysis found in the What It Does section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. Also see our Top Picks for olive oil.

Olive Oil and Heart Disease

3/06/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Does consuming olive oil instead of butter or margarine reduce the risk of heart disease? Find out what studies are showing, and the amounts of olive oil being used, in the What It Does section of the Olive Oil Review. Also see our Top Picks for olive oil.

Best Way to Cook With Olive Oil

1/24/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Cooking can reduce levels of heart-healthy polyphenols in extra virgin olive oil (EVOO), but a new study showed how to minimize this loss. Get the details in the ConsumerTips section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Fatty Liver Disease

8/12/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
Can consuming a Mediterranean diet enriched with extra-virgin olive oil decrease the incidence of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease? See what a new study found in the What It Does section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. Also see our tests and Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Diabetes

7/22/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
Several studies have looked at the effects of consuming extra virgin olive oil on improving blood sugar control. The most recent study looked at whether it could delay the need for glucose-lowering medication in people with type 2 diabetes. Get the results in the What It Does section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

Plastic Bottles Okay for Olive Oil?

2/11/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent study compared the effects of storing extra virgin olive oil in plastic versus glass bottles, as well as the effects of light. Find out which bottle and setting fared best in the ConsumerTips section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review. Also see our latest Top Picks for extra virgin olive oil.

Best Olive Oil for Heart?

11/19/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
This week, the FDA agreed that oils that are at least 70% oleic acid may claim to reduce the risk of coronary heart disease when substituted for saturated fats. Oleic acid is the dominant fatty acid in olive oil. However, our tests of popular extra virgin olive oils show that only some reach the 70% level. Get the details in the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. (Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.)

Mediterranean Diet Study Retracted

6/14/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
A landmark study about the benefits of the Mediterranean Diet was retracted and republished this week. Does this change what we know about the benefits of extra virgin olive oil? Find out in the Cardiovascular Disease section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. (Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.)

Choosing Olive Oil for Cholesterol Benefit

5/01/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
Certain types of olive oil may be more effective at improving cholesterol levels according to a recent analysis. Find out more in the What It Does section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review. (Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils).

Lower Heart Risk With Olive Oil

12/09/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Using olive oil was associated with a dramatic reduction in the risk of cardiovascular disease in a recent study. But what about using olive oil along with other oils? Get the results and learn more in the "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review. Also see our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.

Olive Oil and Prostate Cancer

9/09/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Another possible benefit of olive oil within a Mediterranean diet is a reduced risk of aggressive prostate cancer, according to a new study. For details about this and other benefits of olive oil, see the updated "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review, which includes our Top Picks among products.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil Aids Fat Loss

9/01/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
A study among overweight women found that substituting extra virgin olive oil for another plant oil led to greater losses of body fat during dieting. See the details in the "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review -- which includes our Top Picks among extra virgin olive oils.

Olive Oil Helps in Pre-Diabetes

5/29/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Adding extra virgin olive oil to a meal decreased the rise in blood sugar and increased insulin levels after the meal, according to a new study in people with pre-diabetes. Similar benefits with olive oil have been shown in people with type 1 and type 2 diabetes. For details, see the "Insulin Control and Blood Sugar" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review, which includes our tests and comparisons of popular olive oils on the market.

Olive Oil Lowers Diabetes Risk

4/22/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Consuming a certain amount of olive oil daily reduces the risk of developing type 2 diabetes by 13%, according to a new study. Consuming more than this amount did not reduce the risk further. Get the details, and see our tests of popular oils, in the "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oils Review >>

Mediterranean Diet with Olive Oil Improves Depression

2/20/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent study found that men and women with major depression who consumed a Mediterranean diet with olive oil had significant improvement in symptoms compared to those who maintained their typical diet. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Olive Oil Review (which includes our tests of products) >>

Reason for Olive Oil Defects?

1/19/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
We recently noticed that all three of the extra virgin olive oils which failed to be Approved in our recent review share something in common. For details, see the "What CL Found" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review (which includes our tests of products) >>

Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Bone Fracture Risk

1/16/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent study found that higher consumption of extra virgin olive oil was associated with a 51% reduction in the risk of osteoporosis-related bone fractures. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil Review (which includes our tests of products) >>