ConsumerLab.com uses JavaScript to provide the best possible experience for our content, but your browser has it disabled. Learn how to enable it here.

About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Vision Supplements with Lutein and Zeaxanthin

Goji Berries for the Eyes?

1/24/2022
Favorited Not Favorited
Goji berries are a good source of zeaxanthin, an anti-oxidant compound that, like lutein, may help protect the retina of eye. But does eating goji berries improve a measure of macular health (macular optical density) or improve vision? See what recent research showed in the Getting Lutein and Zeaxanthin from Food section of our Vision Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among vision supplements.

Caution With Vitamin Supplements

11/29/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
A woman who, for years, had taken a popular vision supplement developed anemia and low white blood cell and platelet counts. What was the connection? Find out in the Concerns and Cautions section of our Vision Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among vision supplements.

Fish Oil & Vitamin D for Macular Degeneration?

10/30/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Can taking fish oil and vitamin D reduce the risk of age-related macular degeneration (AMD)? See what a large study found in the Eye Disease section of the Fish Oil Supplements Review. Also see the Vision Supplements Review for our tests of vision supplements, including those that most closely resemble the AREDS2 formula and our Top Picks among products.

Better Memory With Lutein?

10/04/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
Lutein is often taken as a supplement to slow the progression of age-related macular degeneration. However, a study in college students suggests that supplementation with lutein may also improve aspects of memory and cognitive functioning. For details, see the What It Does section of our Vision Supplements Review.

Saffron for Vision

4/29/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
Saffron, which contains carotenoids, may improve visual acuity in people with age-related macular degeneration (AMD) according to a recent study. For details, see the ConsumerTips section of the Vision Supplements Review. Also see which vision supplements most closely resemble the ideal formula to slow the progression of AMD.

Fruit for the Eyes

7/12/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
Can consuming certain foods or beverages reduce the risk of developing age-related macular degeneration (AMD) — a common eye disease? Yes, according to a recent study. Get the details in the food section of the Vision Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Rated vision supplements.)

Lutein and Zeaxanthin Improve Memory

1/15/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
Lutein and zeaxanthin may help to slow the progression of age-related macular degeneration in people with low blood levels of lutein. A new study suggests these compounds may have another benefit -- improving memory in some people. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Vision Supplements Review >> (Also see our top choices among products.)

Does Lutein Help?

9/30/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Lutein is an antioxidant that helps protect the retina of the eye and can slow the progression of macular degeneration. But does taking lutein help if you already have normal macular density? Two studies have "looked" at this question (including one published this week) and, you can "see" the answer in the "What It Does" section of Vision Supplements (Lutein & Zeaxanthin) Review >>

Lutein May Reduce Eye Strain and Headaches

7/14/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Taking a combination of lutein and other carotenoids may help reduce eye strain, fatigue, headaches and sleep problems associated with extended time spent in front of computer screens. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of our Vision Supplements Review. The Review includes our tests and quality comparisons of popular vision supplements.

Lutein for Stress?

2/24/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Supplementing with lutein can help some people protect against macular degeneration of the eye. A new study suggests it may also reduce stress. For details, see the "What It Does" section of the Review of Vision Supplements with Lutein and Zeaxanthin (which includes our tests of products) >>

When to Use Lutein

11/07/2015
Favorited Not Favorited
Lutein and zeaxanthin can help people who have macular degeneration of the eye. However, a recent study found that taking lutein and zeaxanthin may only help those with existing low levels of these compounds. Get more details, including dosage, in the Lutein and Zeaxanthin Review >>

Lutein, Zeaxanthin & Meso-Zeaxanthin for Macular Degeneration

8/11/2015
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent study comparing three different lutein and zeaxanthin formulas found each significantly increased macular pigmentation in men and women with early age-related macular degeneration. Get the details, including dosage, and our tests of popular lutein and zeaxanthin products, in the Vision Supplements Review »

Lutein and Visual Processing

6/20/2015
Favorited Not Favorited
Lutein and zeaxanthin are known to help certain people who suffer from macular degeneration, an eye disease. A new study suggests that they may also improve visual processing, perhaps through effects outside the eye. For more details of the study, including dosage, as well as our tests of supplements, see the Review of Vision Supplements with Lutein and Zeaxanthin Review >>

Best Supplements for Vision (Macular Degeneration)

5/11/2013
Favorited Not Favorited
A major new study revealed what combination of supplements is best for slowing progression of macular degeneration -- and which don't seem to help. Get the details, plus quality ratings on over 20 vision supplements in the updated Vision Supplements Review >>