Clinical Updates
Filter:   By Product Type  |  By Date   

CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements
CBD Missing in Some Products -- (9/7/2019) A class action lawsuit was filed against a popular brand after independent tests showed its products to contain much less CBD than listed. See the Quality Concerns section of the Review for details.
CBD Questioned for Epilepsy -- (8/27/2019) Although CBD has been approved in the U.S. for treating seizures associated with rare forms of epilepsy, a review in Europe raised concerns. For details see the What It Does section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
A Better CBD? -- (8/22/2019) A formulation of CBD was shown to increase CBD levels in the blood significantly more than the same amount of CBD in oil. But is this any better than simply taking regular CBD with a meal? Find out in the How to Take section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
CBD Interactions -- (7/20/2019) CBD can interact with many medications, and we've just added more to the list based on a recently published review of CBD safety. Learn more in the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
Best Way to Take CBD -- (7/2/2019) If you use CBD, it's important that you take it in a way that maximizes its absorption. To learn more, see the What to Consider When Using section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review, where you'll also see results of a new study showing that how you take CBD may dramatically affect how long it remains in your body. Also see our Top Picks among products.
CBD Interaction -- (6/22/2019) Taking CBD along with anti-seizure medication was recently reported to raise blood levels of the medication by as much as 280%. CBD can interact with many medications. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
Dangerous Compound Found in CBD Oil -- (6/4/2019) A "CBD oil" was found to contain a dangerous, synthetic cannabinoid. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
Reducing Drug Craving -- (5/22/2019) High-dose CBD may help reduce drug cravings in people with heroin use disorder according to a recent study. For details, see the What It Does section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.
CBD for Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)? -- (4/19/2019) Can moderate doses of CBD help people with post-traumatic stress disorder? See the latest clinical findings in the What It Does section of the CBD Oil and Hemp Extract Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for formulations of CBD.
CBD & Cancer -- (3/8/2019) Preliminary evidence suggests that CBD (cannabidiol) may have anti-cancer properties, and a dramatic reduction in tumor size was recently reported in a person taking low-dose CBD. For details, see the What It Does section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review.
Does CBD Cream Help? -- (2/26/2019) Does CBD cream decrease muscle soreness following exercise? Does CBD gel help with knee pain from osteoarthritis? Learn what recent studies have found in the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extract Review. Also see our Top Picks for CBD oils and topical products.
Anxiety Treatment -- Low-Dose CBD? -- (1/15/2019) Does low-dose CBD (cannabidiol) help with anxiety and sleep disorders? See the results of a recently published case series in the What It Does section of the CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements Review. Also see our Top Pick for CBD.
Side Effects of CBD -- (11/27/2018) High-dose CBD (cannabidiol) often causes side effects. In fact, adverse events were reported in 81% of participants in a recently reported CBD study. Get the details in the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oil and Hemp Extract Review. (Also see our Top Pick for CBD.)
Rash From CBD Supplement -- (11/17/2018) CBD (cannabidiol) may have caused a serious rash in an individual. For details, see the Cautions and Concerns section of the CBD and Hemp Extract Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Pick for CBD.)
CBD for Anxiety -- (10/23/2018) CBD taken 90 minutes before public speaking reduced anxiety without side effects in a recent clinical trial — although it only worked at one of the three doses studied. For details, see the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extract Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among products.)
Best Way to Take CBD -- (10/12/2018) We've added important information to the Dosage section of our CBD Oil and Hemp Extract Review about how to significantly boost the amount of CBD that is absorbed from a dose — which can otherwise be quite small. (Also see our Top Picks among CBD and hemp extracts.)
Pain and Cannabinoids -- (9/19/2018) Many people use CBD to alleviate pain. This benefit has yet to be proven, but a recent analysis of clinical studies with cannabinoids may explain this effect, as discussed in the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extracts Review. (Also see our Top Picks among these products.)
CBD & Psychosis -- (8/31/2018) Can giving CBD to people at risk of psychosis help normalize their brain function? Learn what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among recently tested CBD supplements.)
CBD for Dogs -- (8/11/2018) Can CBD help dogs with osteoarthritis (worn joints)? Learn what a recent study found (as well as the dose used and a potential side effect) in the CBD for Pets section of the CBD & Hemp Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CBD for pets — as well as for people).
CBD Approved as Drug -- (6/26/2018) The first drug containing CBD was approved this week by the FDA. The dosage, however, is quite different from that being used by many as a supplement. Get the details in the CBD and Hemp Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CBD products.)
Cannabidiol (CBD) Side Effects -- (6/19/2018) A CL Member recently reported developing "dry mouth" after using CBD oil. Dry mouth is among the potential side effects of CBD. Learn more about this and other CBD side effects in the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD & Hemp Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CBD products.)
Danger With Fake CBD Oil -- (6/9/2018) A synthetic form of cannabidiol appears to be responsible for dozens of reports of adverse effects occurring shortly after taking certain CBD oil products. For details, see the Quality Concerns section of our Review. Also see our Top Picks among CBD and hemp extract products.
CBD for Schizophrenia? -- (4/10/2018) People with schizophrenia were given CBD (cannabidiol) twice daily in the hope that it would improve symptoms and cognitive performance. Find out if it helped in the What It Does section of the CBD Supplements Review. (Also see our test results for CBD products.)
Cannabidiol (CBD) for Epilepsy Treatment -- (2/27/2018) Commercially available CBD (cannabidiol) preparations were found to be as effective as a prescription anticonvulsant as an add-on therapy for children with epilepsy in a recent study. CBD was less likely to cause side effects than the drug. Get the details, including dosage, in the What It Does section of the CBD & Hemp Supplements Review (which includes our Top Picks).




 
 
 


 

   BECOME A MEMBER
JOIN NOW



Product Reviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA
In addition to our product reviews our encyclopedia covers the following:

Herbs & Supplements

Conditions

Drug Interactions

Alternative Therapies

MEMBER TESTIMONIALS


Follow us on...
facebook twitter
 
 
Join |  Sign In
   
Join Us on Facebook! Join Us on Instagram! Join Us on Twitter! Join Us on YouTube! Join Us on YouTube!
Product Tests
Brands Tested
Health Conditions
Encyclopedia
CL Answers
Clinical Updates
News
Recalls & Warnings
RDAs
Where to Buy Products
Raw Materials Tests
Testing Program
How Products Were Tested
Join CL Today
Testimonials
Join Free Newsletter
Group Subscriptions
Gift Membership
About Us
The CL Seal
CL Survey
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Contact Us/Help

©2019 ConsumerLab.com, LLC. All rights reserved. A single copy of a report may be printed for personal use by the subscriber. It is otherwise unlawful to print, download, store or distribute content from this site without permission.
ConsumerLab.com name and flask logo are both registered trademarks of ConsumerLab.com, LLC. This site is intended for informational purposes only and not to provide medical advice.