CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements

CBD Reduces Cannabis Use

8/10/2020
CBD can reduce cannabis use, but only when taken at the right dose, according to a recent study. Find out what dose of CBD helped most in the What It Does section of the CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for CBD.

CBD for Sleep?

6/29/2020
The ability of CBD to improve sleep may depend on the dose given and whether there are underlying conditions causing a sleep problem. See the results of the latest study and learn more in the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks for CBD.

Is CBD Safe?

5/29/2020
Find out the most common adverse events reported for a popular line of CBD products in the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

CBD Label Inaccuracies

5/22/2020
Tests of CBD products purchased at local stores showed that many provided much less CBD than claimed. Get the details in the Products on the Market section of the CBD and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks for CBD products.

CBD for Osteoarthritis Pain

5/04/2020
A recent study, conducted in dogs, showed promise for CBD in reducing pain and inflammation due to osteoarthritis (pain due to worn joints). See the details in the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks for CBD for people and for pets.

Help for Substance Abuse?

2/14/2020
There is preliminary evidence that high-dose CBD may help people with substance abuse disorder. For details, see the What It Does section of the Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

CBD Cream for Pain?

1/02/2020
People suffering peripheral neuropathy in their legs and feet applied CBD cream or placebo for one month. Did it help? Find out in the Topical CBD section of our CBD Review. Also see our Top Picks among creams, oils, and other CBD products.

Supplement for Pain?

11/15/2019
A recent study gave a modest daily dose of CBD to people with chronic pain who were taking opioid medication to see if it reduced their pain and need for medication. See the results in the What It Does section of the Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

Help for Jaw Pain?

11/11/2019
Can CBD ointment relax and reduce pain in the jaw muscles of people who grind their teeth? See what a recent clinical study found in the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extract Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

Supplement for Social Anxiety?

11/08/2019
High-dose CBD was given to teenagers with social anxiety. Learn what happened in the Anxiety, PTSD, and Sleep section of the CBD and Hemp Extract Review. Also see our Top Pick among products.

CBD Safe for Pets?

10/25/2019
A recent study evaluated the safety of giving CBD to dogs and cats. See the results in the Pets section of our CBD and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products for pets as well as for people.

Does CBD Convert to THC in the Body?

10/07/2019
Laboratory studies have raised concerns that CBD could convert to THC (a psychoactive compound in cannabis) after ingestion. A recent study put this to the test in people. See what happened in the What To Consider When Buying and Using section of the CBD Oil and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

CBD Missing in Some Products

9/06/2019
A class action lawsuit was filed against a popular brand after independent tests showed its products to contain much less CBD than listed. See the Quality Concerns section of the Review for details.

CBD Questioned for Epilepsy

8/26/2019
Although CBD has been approved in the U.S. for treating seizures associated with rare forms of epilepsy, a review in Europe raised concerns. For details see the What It Does section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

A Better CBD?

8/21/2019
A formulation of CBD was shown to increase CBD levels in the blood significantly more than the same amount of CBD in oil. But is this any better than simply taking regular CBD with a meal? Find out in the How to Take section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

CBD Interactions

7/19/2019
CBD can interact with many medications, and we've just added more to the list based on a recently published review of CBD safety. Learn more in the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

Best Way to Take CBD

7/01/2019
If you use CBD, it's important that you take it in a way that maximizes its absorption. To learn more, see the What to Consider When Using section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review, where you'll also see results of a new study showing that how you take CBD may dramatically affect how long it remains in your body. Also see our Top Picks among products.

CBD Interaction

6/21/2019
Taking CBD along with anti-seizure medication was recently reported to raise blood levels of the medication by as much as 280%. CBD can interact with many medications. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

Dangerous Compound Found in CBD Oil

6/03/2019
A "CBD oil" was found to contain a dangerous, synthetic cannabinoid. For details, see the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

Reducing Drug Craving

5/21/2019
High-dose CBD may help reduce drug cravings in people with heroin use disorder according to a recent study. For details, see the What It Does section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review. Also see our Top Picks among products.

CBD for Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)?

4/18/2019
Can moderate doses of CBD help people with post-traumatic stress disorder? See the latest clinical findings in the What It Does section of the CBD Oil and Hemp Extract Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for formulations of CBD.

CBD & Cancer

3/07/2019
Preliminary evidence suggests that CBD (cannabidiol) may have anti-cancer properties, and a dramatic reduction in tumor size was recently reported in a person taking low-dose CBD. For details, see the What It Does section of the CBD Oils and Hemp Extracts Review.

Does CBD Cream Help?

2/25/2019
Does CBD cream decrease muscle soreness following exercise? Does CBD gel help with knee pain from osteoarthritis? Learn what recent studies have found in the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extract Review. Also see our Top Picks for CBD oils and topical products.

Anxiety Treatment -- Low-Dose CBD?

1/14/2019
Does low-dose CBD (cannabidiol) help with anxiety and sleep disorders? See the results of a recently published case series in the What It Does section of the CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements Review. Also see our Top Pick for CBD.

Side Effects of CBD

11/26/2018
High-dose CBD (cannabidiol) often causes side effects. In fact, adverse events were reported in 81% of participants in a recently reported CBD study. Get the details in the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD Oil and Hemp Extract Review. (Also see our Top Pick for CBD.)

Rash From CBD Supplement

11/16/2018
CBD (cannabidiol) may have caused a serious rash in an individual. For details, see the Cautions and Concerns section of the CBD and Hemp Extract Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Pick for CBD.)

CBD for Anxiety

10/22/2018
CBD taken 90 minutes before public speaking reduced anxiety without side effects in a recent clinical trial – although it only worked at one of the three doses studied. For details, see the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extract Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among products.)

Best Way to Take CBD

10/11/2018
We've added important information to the Dosage section of our CBD Oil and Hemp Extract Review about how to significantly boost the amount of CBD that is absorbed from a dose – which can otherwise be quite small. (Also see our Top Picks among CBD and hemp extracts.)

Pain and Cannabinoids

9/18/2018
Many people use CBD to alleviate pain. This benefit has yet to be proven, but a recent analysis of clinical studies with cannabinoids may explain this effect, as discussed in the What It Does section of the CBD and Hemp Extracts Review. (Also see our Top Picks among these products.)

CBD & Psychosis

8/30/2018
Can giving CBD to people at risk of psychosis help normalize their brain function? Learn what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the CBD & Hemp Extract Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among recently tested CBD supplements.)

CBD for Dogs

8/10/2018
Can CBD help dogs with osteoarthritis (worn joints)? Learn what a recent study found (as well as the dose used and a potential side effect) in the CBD for Pets section of the CBD & Hemp Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks for CBD for pets – as well as for people).

CBD Approved as Drug

6/25/2018
The first drug containing CBD was approved this week by the FDA. The dosage, however, is quite different from that being used by many as a supplement. Get the details in the CBD and Hemp Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CBD products.)

Cannabidiol (CBD) Side Effects

6/18/2018
A CL Member recently reported developing "dry mouth" after using CBD oil. Dry mouth is among the potential side effects of CBD. Learn more about this and other CBD side effects in the Concerns and Cautions section of the CBD & Hemp Supplements Review. (Also see our Top Picks among CBD products.)

Danger With Fake CBD Oil

6/08/2018
A synthetic form of cannabidiol appears to be responsible for dozens of reports of adverse effects occurring shortly after taking certain CBD oil products. For details, see the Quality Concerns section of our Review. Also see our Top Picks among CBD and hemp extract products.

CBD for Schizophrenia?

4/09/2018
People with schizophrenia were given CBD (cannabidiol) twice daily in the hope that it would improve symptoms and cognitive performance. Find out if it helped in the What It Does section of the CBD Supplements Review. (Also see our test results for CBD products.)

Cannabidiol (CBD) for Epilepsy Treatment

2/26/2018
Commercially available CBD (cannabidiol) preparations were found to be as effective as a prescription anticonvulsant as an add-on therapy for children with epilepsy in a recent study. CBD was less likely to cause side effects than the drug. Get the details, including dosage, in the What It Does section of the CBD & Hemp Supplements Review (which includes our Top Picks).