About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Resveratrol (Red Wine, Knotweed and Other Sources)

Resveratrol and Insulin Sensitivity

10/15/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Can resveratrol improve insulin sensitivity or lower blood sugar levels in people who are overweight? See what a new study showed in the What It Does section of our Resveratrol Supplements Review. Also, see our Top Picks for resveratrol.

Resveratrol for Menopause?

9/07/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Can resveratrol decrease menopausal symptoms in women? Find out what a recent study showed in the What It Does section of the Resveratrol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for resveratrol.

Resveratrol for Memory?

4/10/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
A new study evaluated the effects of resveratrol on cognitive functioning in postmenopausal women. Find out if it helped in the What It Does section of the Resveratrol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for resveratrol.

Resveratrol for Memory?

6/08/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
Does taking resveratrol improve memory in older men and women? See the results of the most recent study in the What It Does section of the Resveratrol Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among resveratrol supplements.

High-Dose Resveratrol Increases "Bad" Cholesterol

2/09/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
A study of middle-aged men with metabolic syndrome found that high doses of resveratrol increased levels of "bad" LDL cholesterol. Get the details in the "What It Does" section of the Resveratrol Supplements Review (which includes our tests of products) >>

Resveratrol for Blood Sugar?

8/29/2016
Favorited Not Favorited
Despite preliminary studies which found resveratrol to help lower blood sugar in people with type 2 diabetes, a larger long-term study found no benefit. Find out more in the "What It Does" section of the Resveratrol Supplements Review >>

Resveratrol for Alzheimer's Disease?

9/11/2015
Favorited Not Favorited
High doses of a synthetic resveratrol stabilized a marker of disease progression in people with mild to moderate Alzheimer's, a recent study reports. However, more research is required to determine if resveratrol is effective for Alzheimer's. Get the details about this and other studies with resveratrol, and our tests and comparisons of products, in the Resveratrol Supplements Review >>

Resveratrol Blunts Benefits of Exercise

11/04/2014
Favorited Not Favorited
A new, small study adds to the evidence that resveratrol may interfere with the positive effects of exercise. Get the details, plus evidence regarding other uses for resveratrol and our tests of products, in the updated Resveratrol Supplements Review >> 

Resveratrol for Memory?

6/10/2014
Favorited Not Favorited
A new study suggests that resveratrol may improve aspects of memory, as well as glucose control, in overweight individuals. For more information about the study and dosage, as well as our tests and comparisons of resveratrol supplements, see the update to the Resveratrol Supplements Review >>   

Resveratrol for Glucose Control

4/12/2014
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent review of clinical studies shows that resveratrol can help with glucose control in people with type 2 diabetes. However, it is not the general fountain of youth originally hoped. For more information about resveratrol, including our tests of resveratrol supplements, see the updated Resveratrol Supplements Review >> 

Resveratrol May Blunt Positive Effects of Exercise

7/27/2013
Favorited Not Favorited
Although experiments in animals suggest that resveratrol improves athletic endurance, a new, placebo-controlled study in men found it to blunt some of the positive effects of exercise. Get the details plus test results for 20 resveratrol supplements and more information about resveratrol's effects in the updated Resveratrol Supplements Review >>  

Can Resveratrol Help Control Blood Sugar?

8/18/2012
Favorited Not Favorited
A new clinical study suggests potential benefits for people with type 2 diabetes taking one of the resveratrol products evaluated by ConsumerLab.com. Get the details in the latest update to ConsumerLab.com's Resveratrol Supplements ReviewMore >>

Resveratrol Improves Health Measures

11/12/2011
Favorited Not Favorited
A recently published study of obese men given resveratrol (sometimes referred to as "red wine extract") showed improvement in certain parameters of health. The study used a lower dose than often suggested. For details, see the What It Does and What to Consider When Buying and Using sections of the Resveratrol Supplements Review.