ConsumerLab.com uses JavaScript to provide the best possible experience for our content, but your browser has it disabled. Learn how to enable it here.

About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Zinc Supplements and Lozenges

Symptoms of Zinc Deficiency

11/03/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Zinc deficiency can cause a wide range of problems involving the skin, hair, mouth, and immune system. A recent report showed that it can also cause an eczema-like rash. Get the details and learn about the symptoms of zinc deficiency in the What It Is section of our Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review. Also see our Top Picks for zinc supplements and lozenges.

Zinc and Risk of COVID Death

10/12/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent study found low blood levels of zinc to be associated with a greater chance of severe symptoms and death in COVID-19 patients. Does this mean that people should supplement with zinc or use zinc lozenges? Find out in the COVID-19 section of our Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review. Also see our Top Picks for zinc supplements and lozenges.

Zinc for Lowering Blood Sugar and Cholesterol?

8/17/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Zinc may help lower blood sugar as well as cholesterol levels, according to a recent analysis, but the dose and duration of zinc supplementation made a big difference. Get the details in the What It Does section of the Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review. Also see our Top Picks for zinc.

Do Zinc Lozenges Help?

6/13/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Several individuals diagnosed with COVID-19 began using zinc lozenges after they became sick. Find out if this was reported to help or not in the COVID-19 section of the Zinc Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks for zinc supplements and lozenges.

Zinc Concern

4/13/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Zinc is a popular supplement right now due to COVID-19, but be aware that taking large doses of zinc for a long period of time can suppress the immune system by causing or exacerbating copper deficiency. Certain people may be more at risk for this. Get the details in the Cautions and Concerns section of the Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review.

How to Use Zinc Lozenges for Colds

1/27/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Zinc lozenges have been shown to reduce cold symptoms, but effectiveness appears to depend on the lozenge formulation and how it is used. Learn more in the What It Does section of the Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review. Also see our Top Picks for zinc lozenges and pills.

Zinc and Folate for Infertility?

1/06/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
Did supplementing with zinc and folate improve semen quality and fertility for men in a recent study? Find out in the What It Does section of the Zinc Supplements Review. Also see our Top Picks among zinc supplements.

Denture Adhesive Concern

10/23/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Copper deficiency can result from continued use of zinc-containing denture adhesives, according to a new report. Get the details in the "Concerns and Cautions" section of the Zinc Supplements Review >>

Zinc for Shortening Colds

5/03/2017
Favorited Not Favorited
Two different forms of zinc were found to work equally as well for reducing the duration of colds -- by as much as three days. For details, see the "What It Does" section of the Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review >>

Zinc Lozenges for Colds

3/16/2015
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent review of placebo-controlled studies of zinc lozenges given at the start of a cold shows that they not only shorten the duration of symptoms in the throat, but in the nose and muscles as well. It is critical, however, that the right type of zinc, dose, and dosing schedule be used. Get the details, as well as our reviews of zinc lozenges and supplements, in the Zinc Supplements and Lozenges Review >>

Zinc for Colds -- Be Careful

2/26/2011
Favorited Not Favorited
The use of zinc for colds has been in the news lately due to a study indicating benefit. Some of the coverage, however, might suggest the wrong conclusion. Be aware that taking zinc pills won't help with a cold; only forms that allow zinc to act directly in the throat or nose can help — and only when taken appropriately. See the Zinc Product Review for details on formulations and dosing that can help with colds. More >>