ConsumerLab.com uses JavaScript to provide the best possible experience for our content, but your browser has it disabled. Learn how to enable it here.

About ConsumerLab.com

Search

Tuna, Salmon & Sardines

Vitamin D in Fish

3/22/2022
Favorited Not Favorited

Which fish contain the highest levels of vitamin D, and how does cooking effect these levels? Find out what a recent study showed in the What to Consider When Buying section of our Vitamin D Supplements Review.

Also see our Review of Canned Fish for information about levels of vitamin D in canned fish.

Less Mercury in Some Tuna?

3/04/2022
Favorited Not Favorited

Do pole & line or troll-caught tuna contain lower concentrations of mercury than traditional-catch tuna? Find out in the ConsumerTips section of our Tuna, Salmon & Sardines Review. Also see our Top Picks among tuna products.

Mercury Levels in Tuna

2/25/2022
Favorited Not Favorited
A CL member asked Wild Planet to comment on the mercury levels ConsumerLab found in its tuna products. See the response in the Update to our Tuna, Salmon & Sardines Review. Also see our Top Picks among canned tuna, salmon, and sardines.

Diabetes & Sardines

4/03/2021
Favorited Not Favorited

Can eating sardines reduce the risk of type 2 diabetes? See what a new study found in the What It Does section of our Tuna, Salmon & Sardines Review. Also see our Top Picks for sardines, canned salmon and tuna.

Learn about the effects of fish oil supplements on blood sugar and insulin sensitivity in our Fish Oil Supplements Review.

More Fish, Less Death for Some

3/09/2021
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent analysis found that regular consumption of fish was associated with an 18% lower risk of death over a 9-year period. Get the details in the What It Does section of our Canned Fish Review. Also see our Top Picks among canned and packaged tuna, salmon and sardines.

Microplastics in Seafood?

10/12/2020
Favorited Not Favorited
A recent study found unexpectedly high levels of microplastic particles in certain seafoods. Get the details and see which had the highest concentration in the Concerns and Cautions section of section of our Tuna, Salmon and Sardines Review. Also see our Top Picks for tuna, salmon and sardines.

Fish Oil Heart Claim

6/28/2019
Favorited Not Favorited
You'll start seeing a new heart health claim on fish oil supplements as well as foods that provide the omega-3's EPA and DHA. While legal, the claim is a bit fishy. Get the details in the Fish Oil Supplements Review as well as the Canned Tuna and Salmon Review. Also see our Top Picks for fish oil supplements and canned fish.

DPA -- The Other Omega-3

10/22/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
Studies are showing that higher blood levels of DPA (an omega-3 fatty acid obtained from fish) are associated with healthier aging and reduced cardiovascular disease. Although a cause-and-effect relationship has not been established, if you're interested in increasing DPA in your diet, we just published the amounts of DPA that we found in popular brands of canned tuna and salmon. Some had virtually no DPA, while others provided nearly 100 mg per serving. (Also see our Top Picks for Canned Tuna & Salmon.)

Omega-3s & Healthy Aging

10/19/2018
Favorited Not Favorited
Do higher blood levels of omega-3 fatty acids (as obtained from fish and/or fish oil) correlate with healthier aging? See what a new study found in our updates to the Fish Oil Supplements Review and the Canned Tuna and Salmon Review.